We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find, family atmosphere and quiet location”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake Geneva
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Duffy's Cottages & Suites
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Rochester, NY
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a find, family atmosphere and quiet location”
Reviewed 4 October 2007

Came to the Lake Geneva area with my family this summer to visit a friend and coworker who lives in Walworth. He sugested we get a cottage at Duffys and let me tell you, we probably enjoyed our time there better than with my friend.

The owners are a strange mix of supper model and stand up comic, but they do a wonderful job of making you feel welcome in their cottages. The pub they own next door is also a real treat. We were there at the end of the busy summer season with all the Chicagoan's crowding and driving up prices in the surounding area (Lake Geneva, Williams Bay, and Fontana)but Duffy's was peaceful and reasonable!

Thank-you Duffy's for a great spot for me to call home again next summer (maybe before, but dont tell my friend!) I look forward to another Irish beer and a quiet lounge on your pier!

  • Liked — Location and service
  • Disliked — I had to go home......
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Enoclaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    15
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
27
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
AZ
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2007

I dont normally write reviews on places, however this is a must do ! :) If you are looking for a nice quite cottage on the lake this place is perfect. You are renting a cabin/cottage not a penthouse. The cabin is very clean and cozy !

We had a great time, it is close to town. Across the street from the pub and on the lake. Prices are very affordable. We had a great time. Owners were great !

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank timewilltell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2007

What a disappointment! We were happy to have come across affordable cabins near Lake Geneva, but found our stay to be a huge letdown. First, we arrived and found no one around. We sat outside of the office for more than an hour before the owner finally drove up. He accusingly asked us what we were doing there, as though we were trespassing, until we told him that we had reservations to check in that day. Without apology, he said that he didn't know anyone was checking in, but begrudgingly had us wait another 1/2 hour while we waited for him to ready the cabin. He was rude and arrogant. The bed linens were so thin you could see through them, were dingy and yellowed, and the bath towels were the same. The bathroom shower was such a tiny "container" that you could not turn around in it. The cabins have the feel of a guy's weekend hunting cabin. I didn't want to sit on the sofa or chairs. Everything felt old and very used. There is a pub on the premises and the locals come at night to drink until the bar closes. They take up the very few parking spots, are loud, drive loud trucks, and disturb the peace when they leave after drinking all night. They charge more than they should for what you get, and I understand prices are going up in 2008. Do yourselves a favor with your precious time off....find a nice place in Lake Geneva proper. You will have to pay a little more, but it will be so much more worth your time.

  • Liked — Absolutely nothing. It had a very used, very unclean feel.
  • Disliked — The linens, the towels, the bathroom.....yuk
  • Stayed May 2006, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank Zena111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duffpub, Owner at Duffy's Cottages & Suites, responded to this review, 9 July 2015
I think our other reviews reflect how our place really is ....some people just can't be happy, and make up crazy stories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2006

Great little cabin! The owners were very friendly! I would recommend this property to anyone looking for an inexpensive Lake Geneva get-away! Close to golf, shopping and the beach!!

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank erin_gutsmiedl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
1.4 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#2 of 15 in Lake Geneva
326 reviews
4.1 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
548 reviews
3.6 mi away
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
#11 of 15 in Lake Geneva
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#8 of 15 in Lake Geneva
685 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mill Creek Hotel
Mill Creek Hotel
#5 of 15 in Lake Geneva
422 reviews
3.8 mi away
Maxwell Mansion
Maxwell Mansion
#6 of 15 in Lake Geneva
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duffy's Cottages & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duffy's Cottages & Suites

Property: Duffy's Cottages & Suites
Address: W4086 Lake Shore Dr, Lake Geneva, WI 53147
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family owned business, our Hotel/Inn offers two bedroom kitchenette cottages-cabins and one bedroom suites on the peaceful North shore of Lake Como in Lake Geneva, WI. Centrally located just minutes from downtown Lake Geneva, Williams Bay, Delavan and Elkhorn. Each of the cottages have access to our pier, green space, picnic tables, BBQ and lake views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Duffy`s Cottages Hotel Lake Geneva
Duffy`s Cottages And Suites
Duffys Pub And Cottage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing