We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top-notch Midwest Year-Round Resort!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Geneva Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Geneva Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Top-notch Midwest Year-Round Resort!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

I will start by admitting that I have some sentimental attachment with this property, having visted many times as a child back when it was the Playboy Club. I was a child in the mid to late 70s, and my family had a 1-week a year vacation pacakge, so lots of wonderful memories. I also made it up a few times when in College when it was the Americana - then it was not quite as nice, but still fun for the memories.

After about a 20 year absence, I have visted twice recently (Summer and Fall) wife my family, and I am quite pleased to advise that this property is awesome!!! It is frankly nicer, though perhaps a bit more congested with the new Water Park and additional hotels, than it ever was -- even during its Playboy heyday (though sans the Bunnies - althought there is a small "shrine" with many Playboy-era Hotel artifacts that really cool!).

- The ROOM ACCOMODATIONS are great, and typically include a balcony - see attached picture, and the Frank Lloyd Wright-inspired architecture is super cool and retro!.
- The GRAND GENEVA CLUB is wonderful, albeit for a modest upcharge. The Club offers all-inclusive breakfast (that changes from day to day), and at night has snacks and alcohol. Nice! It almost keeps you at the Resort 24/7 if you wish.
- The LOCATION is phenomenal - both nearby to Chicago (and Milwaukee and Rockford), and the GROUNDS are immaculate. I am not a golfer, but we did go for a nice nature walk. The is also a great FREE TROLLEY bus tour that tells you "tons of fun stuff" that informs about the history of the property - did you know that Guns n Roses and many other bands actually recorded albums at a studio that used to reside within the main hotel property?. Also there is a Trolley Tour of Downtown Lake Geneva, though that is slight fee.

We went with our family of 3, including our 8-year old son. He LOVED the outdoor swimming pool (nice bar too) during Summer, and when we returned in Fall, the indoor pool is quite nice as well. He also really enjoyed the Water Park. Thus, it's great for family! Having said that, I could easily see a weekend get-a-way with the college buddies as well, so its quite flexible for a wonderful weekend.

The only slight knock is that it's a tiny bit pricey, but this can be alleviated with a multi-night discounted stay, and the RESERVATION people are also very, very friendly and helpful (mine actually lived down the street from me in Chicago for a while).

Bottom line is that for a quick weekend trip from Chicago, this can't be beat. I must also add that we stoped at the Brat Stop on the way. All in all, a wonderful 4-Star Resort in the Midwest. Who'd a thunk it???

We can't wait to go back to see the Winter Holiday lights - which are also supposed to be superb! :)

Room Tip: The WATER PARK at the nearb hotel that is also on premises if GREAT for Kids. The GRAND GENEVA CLUB...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoFamilyKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,063 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,256
    421
    193
    112
    81
See reviews for
521
783
41
300
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (686)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Room was great, very clean and well stocked. The resort staff is so accommodating and friendly, everyone makes a point of greeting you and making you feel welcome. The restaurants are wonderful, food and drink was delicious! We will most definitely return!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mims95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We recently attended a family reunion at the hotel. The hotel and its amenities are outstanding. It was most unfortunate that the hotel did not arrange for our family members to be in a block of rooms in close proximity to each other - in spite of that having been requested by the family members organizing the event.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

The grounds are lovely, breathtaking in the fall. I was initially put in a room that faced the parking lot and they were working on the roof. The smell of tar was really stinking up the room (the vat was right outside the window). The front desk changed me to a room across the hall, it was nice and had a better view. The service and the food in the restaurants was very good. I was in the farthest building in the main resort and it was quite a trip - long halls, up and down stairs to the main entrance and restaurants. Overall it was a very good experience and I would consider staying there again.

Room Tip: If you have trouble physically getting around I would call and let them know. I kept thinking there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brimfield, il
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

We were very impressed with the Lodge accommodations. The lobby felt like walking into a scene from White Christmas, and just need Bing Crosby to break into song. Fireplaces, Xmas trees, a welcome glass of Champagne or Cider. Our receptionist asked if we were celebrating anything, and we advised her it was our anniversary. She instantly upgraded us to a Junior Suite and shortly after arriving to our room; room service brought us Chocolate Covered Strawberries and a bottle of Champagne as a gift from the hotel. The room was very nice, gas fireplace, couch, 2 chairs, small bar area, nice kingsize bed, and an adequate bathroom. We did not stay to use the resort, so the resort fee of $15 was not welcomed, but the room rate and hospitality made up for it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cindy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle River, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

I recently attended the Wisconsin Hotel and Lodging Association Conference at this hotel. This resort/hotel is beautiful and the customer service is outstanding. I found the room temperature in my room to be a little hotter than I would like but could not turn the room temperature down any lower. I called the front desk and was informed that the thermostat that time of year was programmed so I could not turn on the air to make the room cooler. However, they asked if I would like a fan for my room. I said that would be appreciated and within ten minutes, they brought a fan to my room. The food is outstanding and the Lounge was quite comfortable with delicious cocktails. The staff was always very friendly and helpful and the entire experience was delightful. I highly recommend this facility.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerald R, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you very much for your great feedback regarding your recent stay at Grand Geneva! It is great to know our "People Pleasing People" philosphy is in place. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Best regards,


Gerald Rappaport
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed for the weekend of our sons wedding. Everyone was very nice and pleasant. Had breakfast at the Cafe, food was very good. Met family in the lobby lounge and had a great time. Music was a little loud but very enjoyable. Wonderful place, good customer service. Will definetely return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oramay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
2.0 mi away
Maxwell Mansion
Maxwell Mansion
#4 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
3.6 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.6 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#5 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
6.3 mi away
Inns Of Geneva National
Inns Of Geneva National
#12 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#10 of 15 in Lake Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Geneva Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Geneva Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Geneva Resort & Spa
Address: 7036 Grand Geneva Way, at Hwys 50 East & 12, Lake Geneva, WI 53147-5105
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lake Geneva
#2 Spa Hotel in Lake Geneva
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Geneva Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Geneva® Resort is the place to meet. Whether a corporate meeting, convention or a gathering with friends and family, the endless range of meeting rooms & space and activities will keep everyone engaged. Conveniently located between Chicago and Milwaukee, there is so much to do at Lake Geneva’s only four diamond resort.Corporate travelers and families alike will find what they need to re-focus, relax or rev-up. With over 62,000 square feet of banquet space, guests have multiple options to choose from for that important business meeting, church retreat, wedding reception or family vacation. Or take time and enjoy a relaxing experience at the newly renovated WELL Spa or one of many dining options, while an indoor waterpark and kid’s program offer the excitement kids crave. Enjoy a group bonfire at the horse stables, a fast plunge down a ski hill, a serene walk through the trails or a drive down a fairway on two championship golf courses – all situated on Grand Geneva’s seemingly endless acres.No matter your reason for meeting….it’s all here in one Grand location in Lake Geneva, Wisconsin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Geneva Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Geneva Resort And Spa
Grand Geneva Hotel Lake Geneva
Grand Geneva Lake
Lake Geneva Illinois

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing