We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to beat the Grand”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Geneva Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This is our second trip in the last 5 months, the first was a romantic getaway for our anniversary and our expectations were completely exceeded. So for a Christmas present for one of our sons with his wife and 3 small children we bought them a weekend stay where we joined them. I can't say enough about the Grands' staff and property. From the moment we arrived till we checked out every employee, from the valet to the front desk to the maids, every employee made sure to greet us and make sure that we were happy and in need of nothing. We were very impressed with their guest rooms and all of their facilities. The pool and hot tub were quite clean, and the spa and wellness center were fantastic. The Grand provides an exceptional experience for all, whether it is couples, families with children or singles. Their restaurants are top notch and are priced appropriately. The ski hill there was not the reason we went but the folks we talked with that were there to ski with their family had good things to say about it. I cannot sing their praise high enough, whatever the season the Grand Geneva has you covered. We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: I would definitely ask for a room that has a view of one of the golf courses. The property is high o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack74104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom M, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review regarding your recent experience at the Grand Geneva! It is our goal to exceed our guest's expectations and it brings me great pleasure to hear this was accomplished. I look forward to your many visits with us in the future!

Best regards,


Tom Mason
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,080 - 1,086 of 2,193 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Perfect place to get away for some R and R. My wife and I came up for a two night get away. Easy drive from Chicagoland. The property is beautiful. The Lodge is warm and inviting especially during dreary January. Rooms are modern and quite cozy. We went to the spa which was excellent. Also the Geneva Chophouse which is on site is quite yummy and has a solid wine list. It's one stop shopping for a get away and very relaxing!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Naperville77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

As I mentioned in a previous review, my family is a frequent visitor to the Grand Geneva Resort throughout the year. This is the second time we have spent the Christmas holiday at the resort - and for the second time it was absolutely wonderful! How it can offer all the luxury amenities of a resort, yet still maintain a cozy ambience is beyond me. You never have to leave the property - everything you could want or need is right at your fingertips. My husband and son went snowboarding while I went to the spa. Then we'd spend time cozied up on a leather couch in the sunken lobby, listening to the wonderful singer and pianist Kathy Fry. The entire property was beautifully decorated for the holidays - it was magical and created an incredibly memorable experience not only for my 8 year old son, but our entire family! We had a beautiful suite with a fireplace and wet bar - only adding to our complete state of relaxation. Though each and every employee provided exceptional customer service, I want to recognize several people who went above and beyond to make our experience special: Kathy Fry (mentioned above); Vicki Jacobs; Stephanie Ashley-Hoppe and the wonderful Kristen Vanderwerff. Thank you for helping us create a magical Christmas holiday!

Room Tip: Always reserve a lake view room, ideally one of the suites with a fireplace. It is very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

No matter if you go in the spring, summer, winter or fall there is plenty to do at this hotel. Whether with kids or alone as a couple I love this hotel. The new room remodeling at the grand Geneva are very nice. The food at the hotel is excellent. The town of lake Geneva is a great weekend getaway from Chicago.

Room Tip: We travel often with our 2 girls and the new suites at the hotel are very nice and spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mahalo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We had a great time as a family! we visited the waterpark. The food at Grand Geneva is amazing, Breakfast, lunch and dinner all excellent!!
They are super family friendly. we visited during Christmas and it was so beautifully decorated.
The beds were not as comfy as I would have liked but that is my personal preference.

Everything else was beyond excellent!!
we love Chef Mike

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

If you dont look too close you may miss the imperfections but for the price of our stay I expect perfection. While I appreciated the friendly staff there are some changes that are needed to bring this property to higher standard which would be more in line with the total amount spent for 2 nights.

Here are our combined notes from our stay on January 4 -5th, 2014.

Saturday dinner buffet - the crab was of terrible quality and cold and not drained. The butter was cold as well. We frequent all you can eat crab dinners in the Chicago suburbs which provide hot just out of the pot high quality crab for the same price. For a resort I was very surprised with the poor quality of food.

- The bedroom in our suite was 80 degrees at night. The engineer who came to see us about it identified that there wasn't really anything he could do, and that the thermostats didn't control the temperature.

- The bedroom mattress was worn out. We paid quite a bit for the room and expected a good night sleep, which we did not get. For the price, I expected a bed, at least equivalent to the quality of Renaissance Hotels & Resorts.

- The spa floors were filthy. The "one" time I saw staff cleaning tile the floor he was using a towel under a broom... the same towels used by members to dry off. I know everything is washed... but Yuck! Buy the right equipment for the job, get a mop. The carpets were full of salt and dirt. Members were putting down towels to stand on while getting changed... buy a vacuum. My wife reported the same issues in the women's spa.

- At the front desk of the spa we were told slippers and robes were available in the spa for everyone. However unless you tracked someone down in the spa, they were not available. Even when my wife could locate someone, these items were not available.

- General maintenance: Mold and mildew around the edge of the the pool and hot tub, rust and mold on the steps into the pool, worn out mirror and broken lockers in the women's spa, broken fixtures.

- Hot tub: you have towels on the floors all around the hot tubs collecting germs, mold and mildew. This is an obvious design flaw with the hot tubs that you need to address. It's unsanitary conditions.

- I gave a rating of 3 because the cross country skiing was very enjoyable and even though we came late in the day 3pm, the staff was accommodating, friendly and helped us get some skiing in. The downhill skiing looked pretty good, even though we didn't get a chance to go. The lobby area was quite enjoyable for drinks and socializing... We enjoyed the music. Our waitress for breakfast was fantastic... good service, very friendly and helpful with all of our questions. The house cleaning staff did a good job and were all very friendly. They put up with a lot from the people staying from the race. The check-in staff was great even though they were overwhelmed with people checking in for the race... the free glass of champagne was a nice welcoming tough.

Room Tip: Find a room at the end of the resort to keep from hearing everyone pass your room in the late night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bloomingrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom M, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to Grand Geneva. I am very disappointed to hear about your experience and would love the opportunity to speak to you via phone to discuss.

Best regards,


Tom Mason
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We attended a wedding in December at the Grand Geneva . What a wonderful experience!
We arrived early, and were able to enjoy the festive decorations and holiday cheer that were offered.
We had lunch at the lobby level restaurant, delicious! The staff was wonderful.
Our room accommodations were cozy and perfect. Very clean, and comfortable.
We would love to return as a family next season in order to enjoy all the Christmas festivities!
An outstanding experience. Thank you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarbs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
5.6 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#4 of 15 in Lake Geneva
435 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#6 of 15 in Lake Geneva
900 reviews
3.6 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
#7 of 15 in Lake Geneva
513 reviews
0.6 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
1.9 mi away
Mill Creek Hotel
Mill Creek Hotel
#2 of 15 in Lake Geneva
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Geneva Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Geneva Resort & Spa

Address: 7036 Grand Geneva Way, at Hwys 50 East & 12, Lake Geneva, WI 53147-5105
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lake Geneva
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake Geneva
#3 Spa Hotel in Lake Geneva
Price Range: £115 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Geneva Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Geneva® Resort is the place to meet. Whether a corporate meeting, convention or a gathering with friends and family, the endless range of meeting rooms & space and activities will keep everyone engaged. Conveniently located between Chicago and Milwaukee, there is so much to do at Lake Geneva’s only four diamond resort.Corporate travelers and families alike will find what they need to re-focus, relax or rev-up. With over 62,000 square feet of banquet space, guests have multiple options to choose from for that important business meeting, church retreat, wedding reception or family vacation. Or take time and enjoy a relaxing experience at the newly renovated WELL Spa or one of many dining options, while an indoor waterpark and kid’s program offer the excitement kids crave. Enjoy a group bonfire at the horse stables, a fast plunge down a ski hill, a serene walk through the trails or a drive down a fairway on two championship golf courses – all situated on Grand Geneva’s seemingly endless acres.No matter your reason for meeting….it’s all here in one Grand location in Lake Geneva, Wisconsin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Geneva Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Geneva Resort And Spa
Grand Geneva Hotel Lake Geneva
Grand Geneva Lake
Lake Geneva Illinois

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing