We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A Refreshing Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Geneva Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Geneva Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Refreshing Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

My sister and I recently stayed at this resort for a "girl's night", and I have to say, everything from the moment you walk in to the time you check out is such a pleasant experience. The staff at the front desk were so friendly and welcoming, and very personable. They offered suggestions for where to go and what to see, and were helpful each time we visited them with questions.
The rooms were wonderful. We had a Groupon for a lake-view room with two double beds. It did not disappoint. The bathroom was lovely (there was a TV in the bathroom mirror!), and the bedding was clean and very comfy. I can confidently say cleanliness was not an issue one bit during our stay. The rooms and the halls weren't noisy at all, which added to the peaceful atmosphere. We weren't able to make use of all of the amenities, because we were only there for one night. They offer a valet service (I believe it is free for all guests), and free WiFi throughout the resort (which is HUGE). We ordered room service (dessert) the night that we stayed - the waitstaff was so friendly, and quite a pleasure to talk to.
The pool is gorgeous at night, and a good temperature, and the whirlpool is great as well. Handicap accessible, even.
The distance to downtown Lake Geneva is minimal - about a 6 minute drive, and the activities offered on resort property are endless.

This is a must-visit place if you're looking for any type of getaway in Lake Geneva. Gorgeous grounds, just a short drive from Chicago.

(Side Note: If you're looking for a spa weekend, you absolutely have to visit the Wellness Spa located on this resort! It was fantastic!)

Room Tip: Some lake-view rooms have partially obstructed views of the lake. That certainly doesn't take aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom M, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your kind compliments. I will be sure to share your compliments to the Front Desk Team and to keep up the good work. I am very pleased to know that you and your sister enjoyed your getaway with us! I'm sorry to hear that you were unable to make use of all of our offered amenities during your stay. We do have quite a bit of ground to cover here on property, 1,300 acres to be exact. I hope you decide to make us your destination for the next "girl's night" and continue your experience with all we have to offer!

Best,
Tom Mason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,031 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,241
    413
    186
    111
    80
See reviews for
510
776
40
295
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (675)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband and I were so excited to have booked a reservation here. We were really looking forward to a beautiful hotel and room. Boy were we wrong, when we arrived in our room I almost cried. I could not believe how much money we were paying to stay here and how underwhelming the room was. It was so beat up and bland. The bed also felt uncomfortable. My husband went to talk to the front desk and they were super nice about everything, they did offer another room but it was the same. They ended up refunding our money and let us go, so I really did appreciate that. What is sad is that we actually ended up going over to the Comfort Suites and I felt that it was on the same par as this hotel. Skip this one, it is not worth the money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lifeadventures2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom M, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent visit. I am sorry the rooms were not what you had expected and what you were looking forward to. I do hope you were able to experience some of the other amenities of the resort that we pride ourselves on like our 1,300 scenic acres, two championship golf courses, full service spa and salon, dining options, beautiful outdoor pool and more. We try to provide a full service experience for all of our guests that stay with us. I am glad you were able to find something else that suited you and were still able to enjoy a night away.

Regards,
Tom Mason
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

I'm so glad we got to stay at this resort for a couple nights. We got an excellent rate and I really had no idea the resort was so nice. We were upgraded to a golf course view and we were in a building close to the pool, so that was very nice. The services and amenities at the pool were great and our kids had a wonderful time playing there. Everything felt like a real resort. I loved the uniqueness of the hotel as well - the architecture and design was very cool.
Our family enjoyed the fire each night, which was fun.
Thanks for a great stay - I hope we can return sometime (it would make a great getaway for a couple!).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madisonsara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Very nice place to go with the family and enjoy the amenities and activities. Very large facility with tons of things for everyone to do. The rooms were large and very clean, we will be back. Check in was fast and every staff member we encountered was helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom M, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful compliments. I am very pleased to know that you and your family enjoyed your time with us during your stay. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Best Regards,
Tom Mason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

After an extremely harsh winter in Wisconsin, this was such a welcome break. The water park was a blast and the staff and management of Timber Ridge Lodge were "first rate". Our room was at the Grand Geneva and taking the trolley to Timber Ridge was fun in itself. The room and bathroom were quite lovely. I would recommend requesting a lakeside room to enjoy the views. We did not do that and our room had a cute patio but the view was facing a wall extension of the building. Food and service was great!

Room Tip: Definitely request a lakeside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom M, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for all of the compliments! I am very glad that you and your family had a chance to experience the Moose Mountain Falls waterpark at Timber Ridge during your stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Best,
Tom Mason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest, IL
Level Contributor
235 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We returned here to enjoy the less crowded time before the summer rush. We added the Geneva Club option which got us breakfast and afternoon treats. As usual the best views are facing the golf course and we are partial to bldg. 4 and 5 since they are closest to the lobby. The registration takes place in the Geneva club room which helps convey the special treatment they offer along with valet parking. Did I say "We like this place?" We do and it is always easy to return to the expansive property with lots of options to keep you busy.
We are a little less certain about the Geneva Club option which now adds 75 bucks a night to your bill! >>(Was 45 per night earlier this year) If you have a room full of people, then maybe it will pay off, but couples are really carrying the load here in the cost department . It was very distracting to have a family in the Geneva Club with two infants all screaming. Not the laid back atmosphere we were hoping for. Yes, we realize this is a family destination and if can happen.
We will return but probably not as a participant in the Geneva Room upgrade.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plainfield, il
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Thank you, Grand Geneva for a perfect getaway for our family. We upgraded to a suite which was awesome. Great views, so much room and very clean. We enjoyed each day at the pool and loved all the little things that were brought around to us - frozen grapes, smoothies, sunglass cleaner, etc. Very thoughtful. We actually won passes to the water park and we loved that experience! My husband very much enjoyed golfing the Brute course. We were so pleased with the service and our stay. We can't wait to come back!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anjills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom M, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
You are very welcome! I am so happy to hear that we were able to make your family getaway perfect! It's great to hear that your family was able to experience a little bit of everything we offer in the summer. Visit us again soon to test out The Highlands golf course!
Best,
Tom Mason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
0.6 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
3.6 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#6 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Maxwell Mansion
Maxwell Mansion
#4 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
6.3 mi away
Inns Of Geneva National
Inns Of Geneva National
#12 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#11 of 15 in Lake Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Geneva Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Geneva Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Geneva Resort & Spa
Address: 7036 Grand Geneva Way, at Hwys 50 East & 12, Lake Geneva, WI 53147-5105
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lake Geneva
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake Geneva
#2 Spa Hotel in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Geneva Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Geneva® Resort is the place to meet. Whether a corporate meeting, convention or a gathering with friends and family, the endless range of meeting rooms & space and activities will keep everyone engaged. Conveniently located between Chicago and Milwaukee, there is so much to do at Lake Geneva’s only four diamond resort.Corporate travelers and families alike will find what they need to re-focus, relax or rev-up. With over 62,000 square feet of banquet space, guests have multiple options to choose from for that important business meeting, church retreat, wedding reception or family vacation. Or take time and enjoy a relaxing experience at the newly renovated WELL Spa or one of many dining options, while an indoor waterpark and kid’s program offer the excitement kids crave. Enjoy a group bonfire at the horse stables, a fast plunge down a ski hill, a serene walk through the trails or a drive down a fairway on two championship golf courses – all situated on Grand Geneva’s seemingly endless acres.No matter your reason for meeting….it’s all here in one Grand location in Lake Geneva, Wisconsin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Grand Geneva Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Geneva Hotel Lake Geneva
Grand Geneva Resort And Spa
Grand Geneva Lake
Lake Geneva Illinois

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing