We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Geneva Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Naperville, Illinois
1 review
“Great”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Loved our room. It was appealing and clean. The blackout curtains were good to have too. Staff was so friendly and I had a difficult time leaving. we stayed three nights. The pool was exceptional and the staff at the bar were great too. The restaurant food is superb...especially the grilled salmon that was new on the menu. We will return again in the fall.

Room Tip: Even though we had a room facing the parking lot, it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ne1827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom M, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
I am thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful experience at out Resort. Thank you for taking the time to write out this review. I hope to see you again soon.
Best,
Tom Mason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,296
    451
    202
    122
    90
See reviews for
552
823
43
312
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (719)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suwanee, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2014

One of the Best Kept Secrets in America - great hotel - We had a wedding there for our family - super extra courteous service, good food, great wine choices, impeccable grounds, an while it is a couple hour drive from Chicago, it is a great place to go.
I went there many years ago when it was the Playboy Club - fabulous improvements

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
455 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

A beautiful location surrounded by fields, woodland and golf courses.

A huge hotel complex (ex playboy manor) laid out and constructed very well, comprising of numerous bars and restaurants

The rooms are massive and well kept and all communal areas were very tidy

An excellent hotel with excellent service

Highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taur033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom M, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for all of the compliments! We hope to see you back again soon.
Best,
Tom Mason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downers Grove, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Excellent can't begin to express the experience our group had currently at our yearly retreat. They make is easy to have a wonderful and successful retreat with all their help and expertise. From Kristine Iverson and Scott DeBerg who work their magic for each group and make you feel you are the only group at the resort if unbelievable. The chop house is a 5 star restaurant as well as the food during the breaks/lunches.
the expereience that I have had for years is why we come back to the Grand.
Outstanding

Room Tip: any room is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom M, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and leave such glowing compliments! Kristine and Scott are both valued members of the team and I will be sure to share you comments with them. Thank you again and hope to see you back soon.
Tom Mason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I checked in at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa for a Wedding last weekend and had a wonderful time! The room, location, and staff were top-notch. I had a very relaxing weekend at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa and it was very hard for me to leave! I highly recommend Grand Geneva Resort & Spa and look forward to staying there again!

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Really enjoyed this hotel. We were in town for work and stayed for two nights. My room was in building #7. I would try and stay closer to the pool area although buildings are split on either side of the main lodge area. Park your car yourself and save on the valet. Staff was extremely friendly. Looks like they have a shuttle you can use. Room was good... nothing special but two double beds and great tv in bathroom that is hidden inside mirror.

I would request a room that has a view of the golf course or pool area. Mine was on the ground level and faced the parking lot. That was fine as I could quickly access my car thru the patio door. Wifi was extremely fast and free!!!

The only downside was the restaurant on site. The food was a little overpriced. ($40 for two lamb chops with no sides) and the service inside the restaurant was terrible. Once we didn't order a bottle of wine and decided to order by the glass we were shunned by our waitress who apparently had 25 years experience. I asked to talk with a manager twice after she basically told us off for telling her to split the check and she/he never came over.

So overall... hotel excellent, room excellent (ask for a golf course view... highest floor if possible) and avoid the restraunt unless you want to overpay for average service.

I would stay at this hotel again for sure.. the rate of $250 per night was high but didn't feel like it was too high based on the amenities. Would be very beautiful in the winter and the views can be quite breathtaking.

Room Tip: High floor facing the pool or golf course (there are only 3) Self park and save money on the vale...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom M, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thanks for sharing feedback on your recent stay. I am happy to hear that your overall experience was enjoyable, but I would like to apologize for the experience you had in the restaurant. We strive to provide excellent customer service in all areas of the resort, but it sounds like we didn't deliver in this case. I have shared your feedback with my restaurant team. Your feedback will help us improve. We hope to see you back to the resort in the winter, so you can see how beautiful the resort is while covered in white.

Regards,
Tom Mason
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My daughter, our girlfriends and I had a wonderful one night trip to the Grand Geneva resort. While typically a very pricey resort, I was able to get a Sunday night rate that was about half the normal rate - a great deal considering the quality of the hotel. Our suite was perfect for 4 people, the beds were incredibly comfortable, the living room portion of the suite was large and nicely furnished, and the bathroom was well kept and beautifully designed - we really enjoyed the use of the jetted tub, extra large shower, and tv in the bathroom mirror (the teenagers loved this). We had a wonderful day at the pool, and quite enjoyed our lunch served poolside - a decent value with good choice of salads, tasty appetizer fare, and great frozen drinks. We also splurged on massages at the spa, which were good, but were actually quite pricey considering the normal massage fees I'm used to in our hometown area/Chicago (plus they automatically charge a large tip onto the massage fee). That being said, I had a lot of muscles knots to be worked out, which the massage therapist handled with great skill and strength. The teens also enjoyed a quick horse trailride at the nearby Dan Patch stable - conveniently located at the entrance of the property. As we had sunny weather and stayed at the pool at the grand, we did not venture next door to the also conveniently locately waterpark resort. Maybe next time...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momibabeChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
5.6 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#2 of 15 in Lake Geneva
357 reviews
0.6 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
3.6 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#6 of 15 in Lake Geneva
774 reviews
2.0 mi away
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
#11 of 15 in Lake Geneva
450 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mill Creek Hotel
Mill Creek Hotel
#5 of 15 in Lake Geneva
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Geneva Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Geneva Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Geneva Resort & Spa
Address: 7036 Grand Geneva Way, at Hwys 50 East & 12, Lake Geneva, WI 53147-5105
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lake Geneva
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake Geneva
#3 Spa Hotel in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Geneva Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Geneva® Resort is the place to meet. Whether a corporate meeting, convention or a gathering with friends and family, the endless range of meeting rooms & space and activities will keep everyone engaged. Conveniently located between Chicago and Milwaukee, there is so much to do at Lake Geneva’s only four diamond resort.Corporate travelers and families alike will find what they need to re-focus, relax or rev-up. With over 62,000 square feet of banquet space, guests have multiple options to choose from for that important business meeting, church retreat, wedding reception or family vacation. Or take time and enjoy a relaxing experience at the newly renovated WELL Spa or one of many dining options, while an indoor waterpark and kid’s program offer the excitement kids crave. Enjoy a group bonfire at the horse stables, a fast plunge down a ski hill, a serene walk through the trails or a drive down a fairway on two championship golf courses – all situated on Grand Geneva’s seemingly endless acres.No matter your reason for meeting….it’s all here in one Grand location in Lake Geneva, Wisconsin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Geneva Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Geneva Resort And Spa
Grand Geneva Hotel Lake Geneva
Grand Geneva Lake
Lake Geneva Illinois

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing