We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great room, great view, terrible bed”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Geneva Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Geneva Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Wheaton, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great room, great view, terrible bed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a lake view deluxe room. It was much more modern than the pictures on their website and was really quite nice. The balcony was wonderful and the view was well worth the extra money.

Unfortunately, the bed was extremely uncomfortable - extremely hard. The pillows were awful as well as they provided absolutely no support. We did not sleep well and consequently would be hesitant to return. I did not bring this to management's attention as we were in a bit of a hurry in the morning, but mostly because no one bothered to ask how our stay was.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skiier004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    129
    42
    22
    12
See reviews for
72
304
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Moline, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

This place has it all, location, view, great restaurant and comfortable rooms.......and a friendly staff. My wife and I enjoy the Geneva Inn enough that we'll spend two or three weekends a year visiting there. Winter, summer or fall we enjoy it whenever we're here.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the lake are certainly worth the extra money. In the suites only the bedrooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank doug48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

As always a wonderful experience! I would recommend this to anyone who wishes to stay for more than 3 days! Staff is excellent. Room on the lakeside are spectacular! Call to make your reservations and you will understand why this is a premier place to stay in the Lake Geneva Area!

Room Tip: Lakeside a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROCK FALLS
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

My wife & I have stayed in the suites with a lake view each time. Haven't tried the dinners there but have had breakfast in the dinning room with a beautiful view. We even took a walk along the lake front from the hotel. Excellent A++

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DENNIS H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

This small hotel was very clean and the room was spacious. It was very cozy and not far (about 2 miles) from downtown Lake Geneva. Check in was easy and fast and the continental breakfast had plenty to chose from. The view of Lake Geneva was beautiful!

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor facing the packing lot. It was quiet but not much of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hbierer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

This is a lovely site on Lake Geneva with fabulous views of the lake. Be sure to stay in a lake side room, looking at the parking lot is the other option. There is a free continental breakfast which was certainly more than adequate and there is an option to order eggs if you want. The breakfast prices were certainly moderate, the dinner prices quite high, typical for Lake Geneva. We had appetizers for dinner and that was plenty for us. The hotel is quite expensive but the room was very nice and the deck was generous. There were two comfortable chairs in the room which was also nice (and unusual). The decor in the lobby and halls was a bit dark with too many mirrors. the complimentary coffee in the morning was a bonus!

Room Tip: Be on the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConnieRockford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Geneva Inn for one night celebrating our wedding anniversary. The location and the view of Geneva Lake are great. The hotel needs to be updated. It feels like it is stuck in a country style from 1980. Our room was comfortable, unfortunately there was a large tick in our bed under the comforter. The staff was responsive, sheets were changed, room vacuumed, etc. Unfortunately it led to a very uncomfortable night. The manager gave us a small bottle of champagne. There is a nice whirlpool bath but no bath salts or anything to put into bath. That seemed odd. The balcony was great. Room service, very good.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maia W, Manager at Geneva Inn, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience and we are truly sorry for your discomfort. Guest service and comfort are our highest priorities and we are glad that you appreciated our efforts.

We do have a fabulous view and location, and the Inn was designed and built to reflect the charm and history of this property.

Unfortunately we do not provide bath salts for the whirlpools due to the damage that can be caused to the jets; and, as you can imagine, bubble bath can cause overflows.

We are delighted that you chose to celebrate your anniversary at The Geneva Inn and we look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
1.7 mi away
Maxwell Mansion
Maxwell Mansion
#5 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#3 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#9 of 15 in Lake Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Baker House Hotel
Baker House Hotel
#7 of 15 in Lake Geneva
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
3.1 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
4.8 mi away
Inns Of Geneva National
Inns Of Geneva National
#11 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geneva Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geneva Inn

Property: Geneva Inn
Address: N2009 S Lakeshore Dr, Lake Geneva, WI 53147-4377
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Geneva Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the only Hotel and Restaurant located directly on the breathtaking shores of Geneva Lake, The Geneva Inn and The Geneva Inn Restaurant and Lounge offers unique features such as a private lake view patio for unforgettable outdoor events, two meeting rooms, great accommodations and first class dining. Free Parking, Free WiFi, Full Service Dining Room, and Saturday and Sunday Brunch. Boat Slips are free for diners, and for an additional charge for overnight guests. Bring your Boat and enjoy Geneva Lake! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Geneva Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geneva Hotel Lake Geneva
Geneva Lake
Geneva Inn Lake Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing