We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely setting on Lke Geneva”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Geneva Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Geneva Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
NY
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Lovely setting on Lke Geneva”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2008

Lovely inn right on Lake Geneva. Nice size rooms with good amenities. Outdoor balcony overlooking the lake. Easy 2 mile walk to town on the lake path, or the hotel offers a complimentary shuttle to and from town. Grandview restaurant on property was the best meal we had.

It would have been nice to have a full breakfast available and room service, although complimentary coffee was available outside our room.

We were looking for a quiet property, right on the lake, and this was it!

  • Liked — Location, view, wonderful staff
  • Disliked — Lack of full breakfast and room service.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank IWISHIWASONAPLANE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    129
    42
    21
    12
See reviews for
71
305
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2008

We love coming for a quick get away. The service is great and the views are amazing. Very peaceful watching the birds swim on the lake and the snow fall on the evergreens.

  • Liked — lake views, service
  • Disliked — decor
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank iluvthecubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2007

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary at the Geneva Inn last night. The view was amazing. The lakeside view is worth it. The room was comfortable and large with a king bed and a beautiful vintage tub. The decor is eighties-rific. (lots of wall paper and roses and oak) It is in dire need of an update. The service was lovely. In the morning there was coffee service on every floor and a continental breakfast downstairs. The coffee was lukewarm at 9AM and the breakfast included croissants, sliced bread, fruitsalad and cereal. There was no room service available which is surprising at such a hotel. The restaurant downstairs was amazing. The sunset on the lake was spectacular. They had a great wine list and the entrees were very interesting and well prepared. I would stay again! It was so relaxing. We had lunch at Popey's of Lake Geneva the next day. A classic that doesn't disappoint.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — the decor
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank stasiav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2007

Stayed one night for a stopover in Lake Geneva. Booked a standard lakeview room (ended up with room 204). We received the winter special rate. Nothing particulary special about the room other than it was right above the kitchen so there was constant banging and noise that disturbed what was supposed to be a relaxing stay. Did eat at the Inn's restaurant and it was quite good. The staff was very friendly; however, if we do go back in the summer, we will probably stay somewhere else.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank floridaorbust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainfield, IL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2007

The location of the Geneva Inn is beautiful on the lake, but the inside was all golden oak, The ceiling tiles in the hallways were all stained and gross looking. The room smelled a little too. The view was nice, but everything else was ok. We ate in the restaurant that night and it was decent. The bill was very expensive. And, the last straw was when I bought the tribune from the front desk around 9:15 am on a Sunday. We had bought it because of the college football scores from Saturday. She sold us an EARLY ADDITION of the paper which said the wrong team had won the game! We found out when we got home. We will try somewhere else next time. I hate golden oak stain on all the woodwork!

  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wendyroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2006

Our stay at the Geneva Inn was very relaxing. The view as you drive along the lake to the Inn from town, especially at dusk, puts you in a good frame of mind. I highly recommend it for couples looking for a relaxing getaway. The only drawback is that it doesn't have a pool, if that's important to you.

We often do a three-day trip from Milwaukee around our anniversary in June and have stayed at a variety of places in the Lake Geneva area. This one was one of our favorites. The other place we like is a Grand Geneva condo (not the main Inn--we haven't stayed there). The condos, however, are all privately owned or are timeshares, so you have to rent from an owner, and they aren't readily available.

When we're in Lake Geneva, we always have our anniversary dinner at the Grandview, the restaurant that's part of the Grand Geneva Inn. It's our favorite restaurant in the area. It was nice this time just to take the elevator upstairs after dinner. They also serve a very good continental breakfast every morning for guests in the dining room area.

When we arrived, they had given us a room on the first floor that had either two double or queen beds. (I must have forgotten to request a king.) We asked if they had any kings available, and after the front desk person checked the computer, we were moved to the third floor. I think we were given a free upgrade to the next level of room based on the description of rooms on the website (it's only a $10 difference, but we were still charged the original rate we were quoted.)

They have three options for rooms on each side--the "lakeview" side and the "landview" side. "Landview" sounds nicer than parking lot side, although they do mention in their description that these rooms face the parking lot. They were resurfacing the lot the first day we were there, so I'm sure the smell didn't help the ambiance. They probably don't resurface it that often, so you don't have to worry about that!

It's quite a difference in price for the king rooms--$185 landview side this time of year vs. $290 lakeview side. $110/night is a lot to pay for a view of the lake, but it's quite a difference in view. The parking lot view isn't very attractive, although the porches are very nice. (One reason to request an upper floor--the first floor rooms don't have balconies.)

They do have an outdoor patio off the restaurant where you can sit and read and enjoy the views of the lake.

Other restaurants in the area I would recommend: The Hunt Club at Geneva Lakes Golf Course and Kirsch's French Country Inn. Request a table by the lake for both the French Country Inn (ask for an alcove table) and the Grandview when you make your reservation. (I would recommend reserving ahead of time.) They say they can't guarantee it, but we've always been able to get one. (May be harder if it's the height of summer.) The views are wonderful--both have sunset views, so be sure to get there early enough. I think a few times we just had to wait a short time to get a table with a good view.

The Hunt Club has a golf course view, but it overlooks one of the prettiest holes with a large pond and a fountain. The food is great, and it's never very crowded when we've been there. However, they aren't open every night during the winter or shoulder seasons. In the summer, they're just closed on Mondays.

For golf, our favorite place is Geneva National. Call ahead though because they have many outings, and one of the three courses is closed every day for members. This year we played Abbey Springs for the first time--just nine holes the afternoon we arrived--and were pleasantly surprised. We will probably golf 18 holes there next time.

We have also golfed the Brute at the Grand Geneva. One time we were rained out, the second time was wonderful, and this time we got caught in an outing. The play was extremely slow, and it was a scramble! They do have great computers in the golf carts so you know the distance to the hole on every shot. If you can get a hold of an Entertainment Book and golf after 1:00, you can save a lot of money--there's a coupon offering two rounds for the price of one (and the rounds are expensive), plus $25 for a golf cart. We saved $120.

Geneva National also has a special for golfing late and dining at the Hunt Club. Check their website for other specials.

Feel free to ask if you have other questions about Lake Geneva, and I will try to answer.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank dkaval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2006

Geneva Inn was a very relaxed, comfortable place to stay. One of the only hotels right on the lake, our room and the restaurant had a beauiful view. The staff was courteous and friendly, and we loved the details, like the chocolates and Voss water placed in our room at turndown. Make a reservation at the restaurant just before sunset, so you can watch the sun set over the water as you have dinner. We felt the service at the restaurant should have been a bit more professional given the prices, but overall a great experience. Highly recommend for a weekend getaway spot!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank MamaGab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
1.7 mi away
Maxwell Mansion
Maxwell Mansion
#5 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#4 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#9 of 15 in Lake Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Baker House Hotel
Baker House Hotel
#6 of 15 in Lake Geneva
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
3.1 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
4.8 mi away
Inns Of Geneva National
Inns Of Geneva National
#11 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geneva Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geneva Inn

Property: Geneva Inn
Address: N2009 S Lakeshore Dr, Lake Geneva, WI 53147-4377
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Geneva Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the only Hotel and Restaurant located directly on the breathtaking shores of Geneva Lake, The Geneva Inn and The Geneva Inn Restaurant and Lounge offers unique features such as a private lake view patio for unforgettable outdoor events, two meeting rooms, great accommodations and first class dining. Free Parking, Free WiFi, Full Service Dining Room, and Saturday and Sunday Brunch. Boat Slips are free for diners, and for an additional charge for overnight guests. Bring your Boat and enjoy Geneva Lake! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Geneva Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geneva Hotel Lake Geneva
Geneva Lake
Geneva Inn Lake Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing