We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful view - wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Geneva Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Geneva Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Illinois City, Illinois
Level Contributor
106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Beautiful view - wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2010

My husband and I just returned from a one night stay for our anniversary. This was our first stay at this particular hotel. We have been coming to Lk. Geneva for over 30 yrs. so know the area well. We have usually stayed in town, but did not find it inconvenient being a short distance from town. We did visit the shops briefly while waiting for our room to be ready. We took advantage of the Autumn special at the Inn. We had a standard lake view room. It was recently renovated according to the front desk staff. It had a nautical theme. Very appropriate for the setting. Flat screen TV in a lovely armoire. Two comfy wing backed chairs. A wonderful balcony that overlooked the lake. There was a sliding screen door that would be wonderful for the summer months. The breeze from the lake would be wonderful on a warm summer evening. Laying in bed, it felt like you were just over the water. This room had 2 double beds. We would have preferred a King, but it was not included in the Autumn special and we didn't feel paying almost $100 more was worth it. Our room was at the end so very quiet and on the 3rd (top) floor. In addition to the windows and door leading to the balcony, we had a side window due to its location so the room was nice and bright.The wetbar and small fridge were a nice surprise. It would have been even better if we had a small coffee maker. I was surprised there wasn't one as this is standard at most hotels. They did provide fresh coffee on each floor at 7am. I took advantage of that, but would have loved a cup of decaf or hot tea before bed. We had a little welcome gift upon arrival. A Geneva Inn mug with 2 packets of instant apple cider, chocolate and caramels. However, since there isn't a microwave or coffee maker in the room, we couldn't enjoy the hot cider. I suppose we could have requested hot water, but it was just a small inconvenience. There is a nightly turn down service. What a nice surprise to have someone knock on the door in the evening and offer bottled water and chocolates. She also had the housekeeping cart and replenished some of our towels as requested. The lakefront path is right outside the hotel We did walk along the path until the cold wind brought us back. The bathroom is nice size, with a whirlpool tub. The building is very quaint. A nice sitting area with fireplace in the small lobby. The gift shop is expensive, but nice. There is a large assortment of complimentary movies to enjoy in your room. We watched a great oldie, "The Holiday" with Cary Grant/Katherine Hepburn and had a great time recounting favorite Cary Grant movies with the friendly woman at the front desk. I'm sorry I don't recall her name. She was wonderful as were all of the staff we encountered. We enjoyed a delicious lunch in the Grandview Restaurant in the Inn. Great service, great food. In the evening, we enjoyed half price appetizers and drinks in the bar/lounge adjacent to the restaurant. No matter where you sat, there was a gorgeous view of the lake. The hotel boasts a complimentary continental breakfast. We ended up sharing one plate of the continental fare: assorted cheeses, fresh fruit, deli turkey, 2 large croissants, 2 apple pastries. It was very reminiscent of the breakfasts in Italy. Only the nutella and prosciutto are missing. We also both ordered 3 egg omelets. They were outstanding! Breakfast was only $6 each! It was a wonderful, relaxing stay. I imagine summer is very different as they are usually full. Tthere is an exercise room (nope, didn't use it). There is plenty of exercise to be had right outside the door by walking along beautiful Lake Geneva. We do plan on returning next summer and staying for a couple nights. I would love to have coffee on the balcony overlooking the lake when it's warm enough to sit out there! I highly recommend the Geneva Inn. Probably not for little ones as there is no pool, but lake access and boat slips are available. Big Foot Beach (free) is within walking distance as well as a State Park for picnicking. Downtown Lake Geneva is literally minutes away. The Inn has a van that will pick you up if you walk into town via the lake path. This is a beautiful, relaxing Inn. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Illinois1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    129
    42
    22
    12
See reviews for
72
304
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Belleair Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
147 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2010

We stopped here for a few days on our way to a northern resort. Our first time at Lake Geneva and found it to be a charming little town. Since we arrived on Labor Day, we only experience the tail end of the season; apparently lots of people descend on this cozy little town for long weekends but we were able to experience the town with literally no people so this review may not be representative of one's typical experience.

We had a lake view suite. Overall, it was very clean, and had a nice view of the lake, which I found to be rather rare for the area hotels. In any event, this hotel was a great value with the best views and served as a good home base. The restaurant was very nice with exceptional service. The restaurant also provides a decent continental breakfast but we found a better place (Egg Harbor Cafe) in town. the hotel's location is about a mile away from the city center and in good weather makes a nice walk. There's plenty of parking available. the fitness center was okay but one of the treadmills was out of order.

The staff was very nice ad overall I found everyone to be pleasant.

the only real complaint I had was with the room. Both my girlfriend and I felt there may have been a mold issue as we both awoke with strong allergy-like reactions. This is an old building and therefore be advised. Other than that, the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank insider64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
Level Contributor
329 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2010

This was our third trip to the Geneva Inn, and once again, we were not disappointed. We were traveling with another couple this time and made reservations for the hotel’s InnBloom package. What can I say? Everything met our expectations.

The newly renovated rooms are spectacular – wonderful beds, bedding, towels, and amenities. We were able to get lakeside views and thoroughly enjoyed sitting on our balcony each evening and morning, watching the fishermen and bird wildlife. Coffee was available on each floor at 7 a.m. and a complimentary continental breakfast was served in the Grandview Restaurant. It consisted of meats, cheeses, fruits, pastries, juice, and coffee. Very nice.

The hotel and restaurant staffs were very accommodating and helpful. We cannot wait for a return trip.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KansasHummingbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2010

We just returned after a wonderful stay with our family 2 adults and 3 children ages 13, 9 and 3. The hotel staff was very polite and accommodating of us! Our room was a lake view suite (room 201) which was LOVELY. We even had a balcony that overlooked Lake Geneva. We rode our bikes into town and were too tired to petal back - no problem the hotel sent their van to pick us up! Also, I am pretty picky about restaurants and was very pleased with the hotels restaurant. I wish I had taken photos of the room the pictures on trip advisor do not do the hotel justice (the hotel's website has accurate photos)

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Family_of_four-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Charles, IL
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2010

My husband and I treat ourselves to one night in this hotel for our anniversary each June. We have stayed in many hotels and this is by far the cleanest. The rooms are immaculate. Not even a speck of dust on the chairail or anywhere else in the room. The rooms were all redecorated this spring with calming, classic tones. The lakeview rooms have stunning views. The in room soaking tubs are ultra relaxing, and the bedding is super comfy. The chairs and table on the balcony offer a great place to have a cup of coffee, a cocktail, to play cards or to just sit and stare at the lake. It's hit or miss with the front desk staff. (Oh, by the way RON HOWARD was also staying there celebrating his anniversary while we were!)

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ncocacola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2009

My high school friends and I stayed here for a "girls weekend". We loved the inn!. It's on the lake with stunning views, the rooms were large and had a small frig with complimentary water and soda in it. My room had a jacuzzi and a balcony with French doors to the room. Everyone in the hotel was friendly and helpful, gave us all kinds of info on the area, what to do. There was a complimentary continental breakfast in the restaurant which had a wall of windows viewing the lake. Also, a free shuttle van to drive us to and from dinner so no worry about having a glass of wine. The fire in the lobby/reception area was lovely--perfect for us to sit around and catch up on our lives.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GigiSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2009

My husband and I just stayed at the Geneva Inn for little getaway to get some R &R. And boy did we get it! What a cozy, relaxing, picturesque place to stay. We have stayed at a couple places in Lake Geneva but I by far liked this one the best. Make sure you reserve a lakeview deluxe room- you get a wonderful view of the lake and a nice little balcony to sit out on and hear the ducks quacking in the water below. It's a tad pricey but well worth it if you ask me. The big soaking tub in the room was a wonderful treat!!! And I love that they have Crabtree and Evelyn bath products. Dinner at the Grandview Restaurant in the inn was DE-LISH! We both loved our meals and will definitely be back to try something else on the menu. If you are looking to just relax and have a nice little getaway this is the perfect place for that. I can't wait to go back this year!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janabelle3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
1.7 mi away
Maxwell Mansion
Maxwell Mansion
#5 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#4 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#9 of 15 in Lake Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Baker House Hotel
Baker House Hotel
#6 of 15 in Lake Geneva
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
3.1 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
4.8 mi away
Inns Of Geneva National
Inns Of Geneva National
#11 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geneva Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geneva Inn

Property: Geneva Inn
Address: N2009 S Lakeshore Dr, Lake Geneva, WI 53147-4377
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Geneva Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the only Hotel and Restaurant located directly on the breathtaking shores of Geneva Lake, The Geneva Inn and The Geneva Inn Restaurant and Lounge offers unique features such as a private lake view patio for unforgettable outdoor events, two meeting rooms, great accommodations and first class dining. Free Parking, Free WiFi, Full Service Dining Room, and Saturday and Sunday Brunch. Boat Slips are free for diners, and for an additional charge for overnight guests. Bring your Boat and enjoy Geneva Lake! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Geneva Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geneva Hotel Lake Geneva
Geneva Lake
Geneva Inn Lake Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing