We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shocked!!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Wesley Inn and Resort
Ranked #10 of 11 Lake Geneva B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Shocked!!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This morning I called this Inn at 9:00. As per instructions in voice mail I left my name and number to receive a return call in regard to my interest in making a reservation. A lady called me at 4:35. I politely mentioned that I was surprised it took her all day to return my call but none-the- less continued to ask about a reservation. - again I will say POLITELY - She said " she would not make a reservation for me". Totally shocked at her quick, defensive, rude hang up!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank welltraveled1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    4
    2
    0
    20
See reviews for
14
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Very very misleading, it is not a resort and the 'cabins' are like a tiny box. Our stay was more stressful than anything as we brought our dogs and had no idea how small this place was. It is also far from the lake/downtown area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alicia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake Geneva hotels

Elkhorn, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed in one of the tiny cabins. First off there were no towels in the room. The remote didn't work at all for the TV. There was no heater in the room so it was as cold inside as it was outside. The place smelt like mold. When it was time to check out it said it was closed and wouldn't be back till 12:30 pm which check out is at 11. Then when she came back from inspecting it she said we had to clean the sheets and the room had to be spotless and since we didn't because she NEVER told us we had to she charged $30 and took it from our security deposit. WHAT A COMPLETE SCAM! NEVER EVER STAY HERE!!!! SUCH HORRIBLE SERVICE AND THE PLACE ALL TOGETHER WAS RUN DOWN AND DIRTY!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank countrygirl2580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
208 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Don’t be fooled by the name, the “Wesley Inn and Resort” is not a resort. The pictures on their website look good, but you will be shocked when you actually get here.

Downtown Lake Geneva is a touristy area, with shopping, restaurants, beach activities, boating, etc. The Wesley is not downtown, quite a distance from the lake, and shows its age. The room prices are high because it is in Lake Geneva, not because of the hotel’s amenities.

Rooms are run down, cleaning is questionable, service is sub-par.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank oaktoncc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Very old, broken down, dirty. Extremely highly charged and no repairs or maintenance done to show for it. Shower had a large hole on the wall which was covered by a shower curtain (wondered why there was a shower curtain on the wrong side). The rod & curtain fell down after 1st use & had to be repositioned. Broken light bulbs not replaced. Did not use pool which was surrounded by overgrown grass. No daily service for cleaning, making beds, removing garbage or changing towels.
Towels seem dirty too - these too must be from 1800s. Should not be even your last option!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ant T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grayslake, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

It was the only place with a vacancy left for the weekend and now i understand why. I stayed with my family and the first thing we noticed was the terrible smell when we walked into the room. The room was dirty, the pool and is not what i call a resort at all. The only good thing is that it is very close to town but if you spend a little more you probably would have a nicer stay. I also believe it was extremely overpriced for an out dated room with no internet services at all.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurnee, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

3 perfect words to describe this place: what the heck!!!>:/

These are our top 10 worst things about our experience at the Westley "Inn and Resort".

1. It took them 10 minutes just to acknowledge the fact that we were there. Finally a 15 year old kid came to check us in.

2. We opened the room and it smelled like moldy carpets and cigarettes. We had to light multiple scented candles to even bare the smell.

3. There was no remote for the 1980's TV which only had 7 channels when half of them didn't even work. The lady came into our room to get us a remote in her age inappropriate bathing suit. The remote ended up not working and she never gave us one for the whole weekend.

4. There was only one coffee pouch and the coffee maker had a giant scissor bug in it. By the way the coffee sucked.

5. The shower drain was clogged and there was no shampoo or conditioner. The housekeeping was bad and they only made the bed ( not washed ) and 2 more clean towels for a family of 4.

6. We went to go checkout the pool and there was garbage all over the tables and the pool looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a week or 2. There was bugs all over. It was disgusting!

7. Nobody was there at checkout time. The sign said, " We will be back at 9:00 am" ( It was 9:45.)
Honestly, I think they just avoid checkout purposely so they don't have to hear the complaints. We had to put our key in the mailbox by the house.

8. We got charged $200.00 a night for this horrible place! That's ridiculous!!

9. We had finally left, happy get out of there and headed back to our town. We got to our house and unpacked our stuff and a cockroach from the hotel was in the trunk! EW!!

10th and final thing to be aware of is...

10. THIS IS NOT A RESORT OR EVEN A HOTEL, IT'S A VERY CHEAP BUT OVER PRICED, TRASHY MOTEL. DO NOT GO BY THE PICTURES! IT LOOKS NOTHING LIKE THEM!!

WARNING: DO NOT STAY HERE UNLESS U WANT TO SLEEP IN A SMELLY, TRASHY, LOW QUALITY, DISGUSTING, BUG INFESTED DUMP!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jose Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
0.3 mi away
Maxwell Mansion
Maxwell Mansion
#5 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#3 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
#13 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mill Creek Hotel
Mill Creek Hotel
#6 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bella Vista Suites
Bella Vista Suites
#11 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
1.5 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wesley Inn and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wesley Inn and Resort

Property: The Wesley Inn and Resort
Address: 625 S. Wells Street, Lake Geneva, WI 53147-2105
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — The Wesley Inn and Resort 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your The Wesley Inn and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing