We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to gather!”
Review of Caribou Coffee - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Caribou Coffee
Restaurant details
Elkhorn, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
356 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Great place to gather!”
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Met a group of gal pals here for a meeting and beverage. The prices were reasonable, the hot chocolate was delicious and the store was very clean. There were lots of other people doing the same kind of friend get together throughout the store. Sorry to hear they are closing at the end of the year!

Helpful?
Thank TravelerJenny8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    4
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“ sadly closing at end of the year ”
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Grand staff and a home feeling. Glad to go there always sad to see them go. I will stop in angin must go for a good cup of joe

Helpful?
Thank adam w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Love My 'Bou, please stick around a long time.”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

What can you say, this is the neighborhood ‘little coffee house’ created by a big chain. This isn’t the “bucks”, it’s the ‘Bou. This one has such a rich, warm, inviting feeling, great selection of the usual and the not-so-usual. Great, attentive, friendly staff that seems to really care about what they do.

Love stopping in here any hour of the morning, noon or evening. Love the free Wi-Fi, and free coffee drink refills for in-house patrons.

Price range is good for ‘usual’, can get fairly up there for the frou-frou drinks, but at least everyone can find something they like, on their budget.

There seems to be a little bit of a cult-following to ‘secrete’ drink items or choices/combinations. I overheard one guy as for a “tuxedo”, was intrigued, so I asked. It was a dark coffee with a shot of white chocolate (I assume for the white & black reference), yummmm, I never would have known as it’s not on the menu board.

Another little known-fact. This ain’t your ordinary Iced Coffee… Nayyy Nayyy. Guys, you’ve got liquid, black gold in that Cold-Press… advertise it, tell it loud & proud.

The selection of bakery goods is extensive for a little coffee joint, we don’t really expect a little baker is back there making them up fresh, but they sure do taste fresh, presentation is well, and if a hot sandwich is your goal, those are quite tasty, there’s magic in that there “turbo oven” – and it ain’t your mother’s microwave.

Keep up the good work, and KEEP OPEN, as a CARIBOU… Don’t mess with success!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BobFromChgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acton, Texas
Level Contributor
281 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
“Excellent Hot Drinks”
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Excellent Pumpkin Spice Latte and Mocha Lattes. Hot and better prices than Starbucks. Great atmosphere! Will return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SouthernBoy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Specialty drinks too sweet - better off getting reg roast”
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

Caribou coffee is way better than Starbucks. I'm honestly scared to eat at S-Bucks because every time I drink coffe from there over a long period of time, I start looking ugly. My complexion goes downhill, literally. Caribou is a great place to order a plain old cup of coffee in a cozy atmosphere. Just don't order their specialty lattes - way too sugary and sickening. Earl grey tea latte very cool though! Fun place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank earlgreysam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caribou Coffee also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing