We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to shop for a party”
Review of Roses Market - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Roses Market
Cuisines: American
Description: This is a new organic market where you can also sit and eat.
Restaurant details
Description: This is a new organic market where you can also sit and eat.
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great place to shop for a party”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Roses Market has the wine, cheese, and special foods that you might want to bring to a night at a friends house. They have some nice soup, olives, etc. This is not a place for regular groceries. Check the dates on the milk, etc.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheLGFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    0
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“market”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

OK selection of foods for the area, a bit overpriced.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank lakegenevafoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A gem.”
Reviewed 12 May 2012 via mobile

This is a really great store for all things organic and local. Excellent wines too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Partaloons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOw!!!! all sort of organic and yummmy food”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stopped at Rose to get some bacon and fresh fruit. Lots of nibble to try. I will be back

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A wonderful place in so many ways.”
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Little did we know that when Roses Market opened in Lake Geneva we would become devoted regulars. Excellent food is equalled by a friendly staff. Within two visits, Rose and this personable crew knew our names. We were first struck by how attractive the store is (inside and out) and by how the vast variety of foods and beverages fill the space with no sense of clutter.

Wines, craft beer and liquor, a multitude of cheeses, meats, fresh fruits, sandwiches and sweets comprise a portion of the offerings. We love to sit outside at one of the little tables and drink freshly ground coffee in glass mugs, munch on a full or half sandwich of the day with some sweet potato chips or enjoy a taste of chocolate. The frozen food section includes a wheat crust organic pizza that I love. Not greasy, it's quite satisfying to eat pizza and feel healthy. We took full advantage of the in-season fresh heirloom tomatoes and honey crisp apples. You can shop on a to-go basis or stay awhile, thanks to the outdoor seating, clean restrooms and good people-watching.

I've also bought and brought home flowers to plant and pumpkins and gourds to decorate my own yard for the colorful fall season in this pretty town.

From our first visit, Rose and everyone working there encouraged suggestions and ideas from customers. I requested some low sodium items and such soup appeared on the shelves within a week or so.

There is a lot of energy, tasteful attention to detail and imagination going into this business. I respect that and it's exciting. Wine tasting and cooking demonstrations are not uncommon either.

Local word of mouth is excellent on this spot. I encourage anyone visiting to take a short, scenic walk north from Main Street, just a few blocks to 433 Broad Street and check out Roses. If you drive, there is even free parking behind the store for while you're there. You'll be surprised to find what nice neighborhood establishments are popping up in this area, so near downtown. Check it out - open daily - and I would predict you'll make Roses a regular part of your visits as it's a regular part of our lives as residents.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nonnie248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roses Market also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing