We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Old, terrible mattresses, dingy carpet. Water park pretty good.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Old, terrible mattresses, dingy carpet. Water park pretty good.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

Worst mattress I've ever seen in my life. I slept on the floor. No support at all. Carpets are old and dirty. Needs an upgrade, laminate or tile or wood would be a better choice.

Water slides were fun, there are 2 of them. Goes without saying the water park is mostly for really young kids.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank chihuly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceJohnson, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
Thank you for your recent post. I was upset to read about the condition of your bed, and have shared your comments with my management team. We are committed to provide accomodations that all guests enjoy, and I'm sorry we fell short of that expectation. I can share the news that there are plans in place to replace the carpeting in all of our rooms by the end of the year, and hope we can persuade you to give us another chance. If you would like to discuss your stay with me further, please call me at (262) 249-3450.

Bruce Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    570
    354
    107
    67
    49
See reviews for
895
39
Solo
0
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

Just returned home today from four fun-filled days in Lake Geneva at the Timber Ridge Resort. This was a three-generational family get-away: Grandma, Grandpa, Aunt, Uncle, mom, dad, a 5-yr. old and a 1 yr. old. Everyone had a great time. We had a 2 bdrm unit and a 1 bdrm unit. There was plenty of room for everyone. The water park was perfect for the ages of the kids. It was not crowded at all--no lines on even the 2 big slides. The baby loved both the indoor and the outdoor baby pools. The slides were just the right size for the little ones. Our 5 yr old grandson was brave, but did not want anything to do with the "yellow" or the "green" slides (the high ones!). Very clean rooms and resort. We did not eat at the restaurant, so I have no opinion on the food. It was a short, 5 minute ride into the town of Lake Geneva, so we went to different restaurants in town. We would definitely return to this resort.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 822traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceJohnson, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, 13 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences on Trip Advisor! I'm glad the whole family enjoyed themselves and we look forward to welcoming you back for future stays!

Bruce Johnson
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

I agree with other reviews that the food at Smokey's is slow and really bad. I am torn with visiting there again because we would like a resort that doesn't require us leaving and finding a better restaurant. The waterpark is okay. Since it is a waterpark for younger kids they should have a lift for the rafts down the slide. Room is nice if you can get a good deal. My kids really enjoyed that when they were tired of the cold water and walking rafts up the stairs they had crafts/activities and a petting farm. The people who own/run the stable are very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mermaid60182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceJohnson, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, 13 August 2011
Thank you for your recent post. I was concerned to read your comments about our Smokey's restaurant. I have shared your posting with both our culinary and service team with Smokey's, and I apologize that we fell short of your expectations. I will be sure to pass your positive comments on to our activities team and the team at Dan Patch Stables, and I do hope you give us another chance in the future.

Regards,

Bruce Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

If you have younger kids, stay here! Units have kitchenettes, family orientated. Place was clean, staff nice...if you have older kids, they might get bored...not enough for them in the water park area.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jk1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

took our three kids, 12, 3 and 1 year old to the Timber Ridge for a three night stay this week. booked it because we got the buy two nights get the third free. good deal! the waterpark is great for the 6 and under set. marginal for the 7 and up group.

This is our second stay up here so we knew what to expect. the rooms were clean and set up well for what we needed. The food in this place however seriously needs to be upgraded. Smokey's is a definite PASS. We tried it again this week and were disappointed again with the quality. The pulled pork sandwich was a bust - i think they make it in 20 pound batches and put it through a food processor before serving it. it was stewey if that's a word. The mashed potatos were chunky and hard. the "fiesta corn" is a waste of corn. no taste to it at all. the only thing positive here was the spotted cow on tap and the kids mac n cheese.

The food court is a waste as well. pizza was marginal. burgers were bland. frozen drinks were weak for $7 each. the best thing they offer IMO is the pretzel and cheese if that says anything. also, there is no "real" coffee in this place whatsoever. If you like starbucks or DD or even seattle's best then you BEST bring your own coffee to put in the in room maker. you can't even buy good coffee in the restaurants or the lobby. it's awful for a true coffee drinker like myself. They seriously need to upgrade their offerings for meals and drinks.

We ventured out downtown for our main meals for two nights and found a litlle bit better offerings at Popeyes and Scuttlebuts. Scuttlebuts actually had the better food IMO. the BBQ salmon was great.

But this review is about timber ridge. more positives about this place - the lack of guests tuesday through Thursday was awesome for us. easy access to tables at the water park and no lines for the two slides they have. plus check in was a breeze, no line there either. the waterpark again is awesome for toddlers and even younger ones than that. the lifeguards are all over this place and were very attentive and very friendly during our stay.

So, will we be back? Probably since our little ones love this place. But I just won't eat or drink here any more until improvements are made.

PS - the horseback riding, while expensive ($30 each) was enjoyable even when it rains on you. It's perfect for beginners or tweens.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank naperbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceJohnson, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, 13 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your Timber Ridge experience. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the set-up of our all suite property while also adventuring to Dan Patch Stables for horseback riding. Your comments about the food in both of our outlets has been shared with our culinary team. The kind of experience you had in both instances is not something we are comfortable with offering to our guests, and I apologize we fell short of your expectations. We have listened to your comments about the coffe, and are in the process of switching out our current system to one that should be more appealing to coffee drinkers.

We look forward to welcoming you back,

Bruce Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

The waterpark was very clean and very fun for the family. The room was nice and very clean. However, the staff wasn't very friendly and helpful at times. When we were in the gift shop, we were waiting at the register for at least five minutes and there were no workers in there, but there were four workers together at the front desk just talking to each other. We went over to the Grand Geneva spa and fitness center and had a great time rock climbing on a 35 foot wall.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank superdelaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceJohnson, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, 13 August 2011
Thank you for your most recent post. I apologize for the service you did not receive in our Trader Jack's retail shop. Your comments have been shared with the appropriate manager, as the issue that you've mentioned is something that we will not tolerate when it comes to our customer service standards.

I was happy to read that you did enjoy the rest of your stay and including the 35 foot climbing wall at the fitness center. I hope when you come back next time, you can experience more of our on campus amenities.

Regards,

Bruce Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bettendorf, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

There was something for everyone of all ages to do. It is a very relaxing, yet fun filled place to stay. For the average price of a hotel stay you also get a huge indoor water park. The grounds that it sits on are beautiful and serene and just a couple of miles away, Geneva is a quaint, beautiful town. There are numerous places to eat and things to do.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lilly43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceJohnson, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
Thank you for sharing your Timber Ridge experience! Our team enjoys reading about families who enjoy themselves both here, and the rest of the Lake Geneva area. We look forward to welcoming you back and appreciate you choosing Timber Ridge Lodge and Waterpark.

Kindest Regards,

Bruce Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
3.1 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#6 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#11 of 15 in Lake Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Maxwell Mansion
Maxwell Mansion
#4 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
6.3 mi away
Inns Of Geneva National
Inns Of Geneva National
#12 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bella Vista Suites
Bella Vista Suites
#9 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark

Property: Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
Address: 7020 Grand Geneva Way, Lake Geneva, WI 53147-5105
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lake Geneva
#2 Family Hotel in Lake Geneva
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark Hotel Lake Geneva
Timber Ridge Hotel
Timber Ridge Lake Geneva
Timber Ridge Lodge And Waterpark
Timber Ridge Lodge Lake Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing