We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

If you have young kiddos (under 10ish), they will love this place! As a parent, there were pros and cons, but because my kids had so much fun (ages 8 & 5), I'm giving it 4stars. The room was fairly large, big whirlpool tub, and pretty clean. Definitely could use a little updating though. The bed was NOT comfortable, and the pull-out couch was pretty terrible (the kids didn't complain). There was a full sized fridge, which was great, but it was in need of repair. The dining choices at the resort weren't great. Either a snack bar in the pool area (with stale chips/pretzels), or a Smokehouse. You also have access to the Grand Geneva restaurants, but they were all a little upscale for what we were looking for. The pool area is very nice. The lazy river was bigger than I thought it would be, there were two large slides (one body slide, one tube slide), and several mid-level slides....including one outside, which my kids enjoyed. The lifeguards are VERY attentive! There is a fun little activity room with arts/crafts, games, movies, etc near the pool....and the daily schedule is always posted. There's also a pretty big arcade area where you earn tickets for prizes (the kids always love that). As others have mentioned, there is horseback riding right adjacent to the Lodge. My 5yr old was able to do a pony ride, that's for ages 6 & under. 7 & up can do trail rides. (all for a fee) My 8yr old had never been on a horse....I would've loved an option for him to just ride a horse or pony, as a trail ride was a bit intimidating for him. The petting zoo is a joke. (a couple pigs, a goat, a sheep, and a donkey) Overall, it was a fun trip. Close to town, which has some cute shops/restaurants, and places to rent boats, etc. Unsure if we'd return, as there are just so many other places to explore.

Room Tip: We were on the bottom level, near the pool, and it was extremely quiet, and very convenient to the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IAnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin K, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

IAnurse~ Thank you for staying at Timber Ridge Lodge. While I sincerely apologize that our onsite restaurants and beds did not meet your expectations, I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the waterpark, and activities room. I appreciate your kind feedback regarding our lifeguards and I will share your comments with them. I look forward to having another opportunity to welcome your family back again. ~ Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

597 - 603 of 1,268 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed at the hotel for 4 nights, as a family we were excited about staying there and being close to town and enjoying the waterpark. The room was spacious but needs updating. It was clean but worn out. The walls are pretty thin and if you are on a main hall near the waterpark there are lots of people coming up and down the hall but the room set up help keep that noise at bay. But if you have a noisy neighbor and people in the rooms above you, it won't stay quiet. The hotel also decided to have their parking lot re-paved during our weekend visit. However, there wasn't any notification on the hotels website and even when we checked no warning us of this noise. For the price you pay to stay at this hotel they really needed to do a better job of managing when the paving would occur. the trucks and noise vegan very early in the morning. No pricing discount for the inconvenience. In my opinion that is just taking advantage of your customers, not really caring about their experience. The waterpark was fun but needs to be open for longer hours, since there isn't any other pool you can get into. Even visitors who were not swimming had to pay a fee to get in, that felt like a rip off. Loved all the activities and movies they had for the kids, including the game room (which wasn't overpriced, nice to see). nice experience but a bit pricey for outdated accommodations and the noise.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the main hallways
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pynkcool17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin K, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

pynkcool17~ Please accept my apology for the level of disruption caused by the recent parking lot paving project. Your experience is not reflective of the quality stay that we desire all our guests to have. We did have notices posted throughout the hotel including the front desk to make our guests aware of the project and apologizing for the inconvenience. As the General Manager, I care greatly about our guests and their experience at Timber Ridge Lodge and Waterpark. If you are back in the Lake Geneva area I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can make it up to you. ~ Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Used a Groupon to stay here, and it was our first time. Nice to have a kitchen suite. We stayed in a one bedroom and it was supposed to have a king, but the bed looked more like a queen and very uncomfortable. My 8 year old had a blast on the water slides and my 2 year old had fun in the baby area. Food is sold there and they do not allow you to bring food in. The guard asked to check my bag the second day for food. Food is over-priced, but convenient. Staff was friendly. There's an arcade that my daughter loved too! The whole point was for the kids to have fun, and that's what they did!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anjee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin K, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

anjee11~ It is great to read of your first visit to Timber Ridge Lodge! We appreciate the many kind words that you have shared. I am happy that the kids had a great time. I am looking forward to seeing you again soon! ~ Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

firstly the accommodation was excellent - I was so impressed. Huge 2 bedroom apartment, very clean and even had a hairdryer. very comfy bed, clean fridge and 3 televisions - not that we watched TV because the water park was great - especially for younger children - very safe and the life guards are excellent - not only very friendly but lots of them and very well trained. the feeling of being safe was reassuring. We had the best time and even made it to the town of lake Geneva which is beautiful! Front desk very nice and friendly too which really made for a lovely stay

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin K, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Jane B ~ Thank you for the kind comments regarding Timber Ridge Lodge and the surrounding Lake Geneva area. It is also a pleasure to read of your enjoyment of the waterpark and two bedroom suite. I will share your comments with our lifeguard and front desk staff. I appreciate you taking the time to recognize them. Our associates are key to our operations. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. ~ Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband and I took our 7 and 4 year old kids for 2 nights, and they loved it. We got to use the water park for the 3 days there. The water park was nice, perfect for kids. I really liked that some of their double tubes had the front hole covered, so it could be a seat for smaller kids to enjoy the lazy river and tube slide. We also enjoyed taking the free trolley to the Grand Geneva for gelato, the playground, and walking on the trails. Stores and downtown Lake Geneva are a 5 minute drive. There is also a horse farm within walking distance from the hotel. The only thing preventing 5 stars is the beds. The suite was very nice, but the bed was not comfortable.

Room Tip: The 1 br suites are perfect for a family of 4. Our kids slept on the pull out sofa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin K, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Candi W~ I am happy to read that your children loved Timber Ridge! In addition to the waterpark, the trolley is a very fun experience for children. I am sorry that the beds were not comfortable for you. I hope you will return in the future. ~ Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed one night for $189 through a groupon deal. The rooms are nice, kitchen, bedroom, bathroom with huge tub, and every room has a balcony which is nice if you have little ones napping. Make no mistake this is a hotel geared for kids and not couples.

The pools are nice and they are somewhat separated by age group. They also have outdoor pools. Overall the pools are fun for kids and they have a fun water slide for adults!

We ate at the Smokey BBQ place for breakfast. It was just OK and they wouldn't allow us to bring in yogurt for our 16 month old, which was strange.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of stuff the ground floor balcony is accessible by car!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin K, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Jim S~ Thank you for your detailed review. We appreciate the kind words that you have shared about the waterpark and suites. We hope to see you again soon in the near future. ~ Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We went for a one night mid-week get away just to take the kids to the water park and get away for a quiet night. We picked timber lodge because we have stayed at the grand Geneva and loved it. We wanted a quiet, relaxing time and figured this would be less crowded than the dells. The actual hotel was fairly empty. Not a lot of families. We went to the BBQ restaurant and the food was pretty awful for dinner. Big plates, but food had no taste and was very low quality. Breakfast was a little better, but still not as good as the main lodge.

The water park was a horrible experience. There were 5 school busses parked out front when we went to breakfast and the pool was a mad house. We got there around 10:30 and there was not one chair or table left. Every school child had thrown their stuff somewhere. There were no tubes available for the lazy river or the slides either. There were unattended kids in the adult only pools. There was little to no supervision of all of these school kids! It was miserable. We ended up leaving by 12:30. Unfortunately it was also raining all day so there was nothing else for us to do, so we just went home. Waste of the whole trip for us.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kateb4e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin K, General Manager at Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

kateb4e~ Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Timber Ridge Lodge. Please accept my sincere apology for your experience in the waterpark; rest assured this was an isolated incident. I am working closely with our group sales department to ensure that this does not happen in the future. In addition, I apologize that the food at Smokey’s did not meet your expectations. I do hope that you will come back again so that we can have the opportunity to make it up to you and your family. ~ Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
5.5 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#4 of 15 in Lake Geneva
464 reviews
1.7 mi away
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
#8 of 15 in Lake Geneva
543 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#6 of 15 in Lake Geneva
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
634 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Lake Geneva
Comfort Suites Lake Geneva
#10 of 15 in Lake Geneva
205 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mill Creek Hotel
Mill Creek Hotel
#2 of 15 in Lake Geneva
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark

Address: 7020 Grand Geneva Way, Lake Geneva, WI 53147-5105
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lake Geneva
#2 Family Hotel in Lake Geneva
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lake Geneva
Price Range: £147 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark Hotel Lake Geneva
Timber Ridge Hotel
Timber Ridge Lake Geneva
Timber Ridge Lodge And Waterpark
Timber Ridge Lodge Lake Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing