We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location, great choice!”
Review of Mill Creek Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mill Creek Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Bettendorf Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Ideal location, great choice!”
Reviewed 14 October 2012

This hotel is located in a great spot downtown, within walking distance to the shops, restaurants, and the bay. The accomodations are clean and include a kitchenette which we found very useful. We were able to park our car and walk everywhere. I would recommend this hotel and definately plan to stay here again.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary O, Marketing Director at Mill Creek Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We think our location is ideal and it's great that you were able to visit the lovely shops and restaurants nearby. We look forward to your next visit and hope that it is soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    125
    35
    12
    19
See reviews for
69
241
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012 via mobile

My wife and I spent 2 nights here recently, as a final weekend together before I am stationed abroad for 3 years. We had high expectations which, unfortunately, were not realized. The price was on the high side at $638 for 2 nights, but we were willing to pay it when we saw the room came with a jacuzzi and "view of the nature preserve" off our balcony. The room was very spacious, but the balcony was more like a small hallway with a couple of chairs made of PVC pipe. The "nature preserve" turned out to be the parking lot immediately below us, adjoining a stand of trees separating us from the adjacent hotel. After dinner we looked forward to a relaxing soak in the jacuzzi when we noticed a sign on the wall saying not to use the jacuzzi after 10pm. We thought this was a little restrictive considering we payed a fair amount for the room. When we actually did use the jacuzzi, activating the jets caused several brown chunks of some kind of matter, that I shudder to imagine what might have been composed of, to instantly fill the tub. We immediately got out, taking care to wipe the brown chunks of ~chills~ whatever that was off of our skin as we dried. The second day, house keeping wanted to clean our room at about 9 am, as we were getting ready for the day (Saturday). Asking them to come back in an hour was met with rolled eyes and a disapproving sigh. Upon checkout we brought the jacuzzi matter to the attention of the mgmt who assured us that the jets were cleaned thoroughly and regularly, and it was probably cleaning solution left over. Right. Brown, solid chunks of cleaning solution. All in all, not nearly what we hoped for considering the money it cost. The location is the only thing about this hotel that commands a price higher than a super 8.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We live in Lake Geneva and have stayed at MANY of the hotels / resorts in the area over the years. We never stayed at the MILL creek until just recently. WOW what a nice surprise!

Negatives - hallways seemed cramped and were VERY WARM!
Everything else was POSITIVE!! The room was FANTASTIC and roomy and had a GREAT view!
Cannot wait to stay again!! :)

Room Tip: room # 305 is the best!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary O, Marketing Director at Mill Creek Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Thank you for giving us a try.
We are sorry that the hallways were warm.
Unfortunately the temperatures were so hot recently that it did become a bit difficult to keep the hallway temperature at the level we would like.
Happily your suite was to your liking and nice and cool.
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antigua
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We stayed at the Mill Creek Hotel for one night. The hotel staff was very accommodating and friendly; however the hotel is in need of some basic maintenance in the way of painting and cleaning of the common areas, it was a bit messy. The tub in our room was in need of re-tiling around the edge. That said, it is conveniently located to downtown Lake Geneva, and is perfect for a family in that the it is a suites hotel, which is more on the order of a condominium unit with a completely stocked kitchen with all the necessary utensils.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank esg101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Marketing Director at Mill Creek Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Thank you for your comments.
We have recently added new carpeting and re-painted all the hallways and common areas. Thank you for bringing the grout issue to our attention, we always address these as needed.
We welcome your return visit and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukegan, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

My wife and I stayed here overnight on our 10th anniversary almost a year ago (Sept. 8, 2011), so this review is long overdue.

The Mill Creek Hotel is a great place for an overnight or a weekend in Lake Geneva. Given its location and the rooms, it is an excellent value, as there are hotels nearby with similar features that normally charge 25-50% more.

Service (4 stars):

Service here is friendly and low-key, given the size of the hotel. We saw the front desk at check-in and check-out and that was the extent of our experiences with the hotel's services!

Value (5 stars):

As mentioned in the beginning of my review, given its location (barely a city block from downtown) rooms (we had a suite with a big whirlpool tub), and price (similar hotels in the area are charging 25-50% more), it is an excellent value.

Sleep Quality (4 stars):

The bed was just fine. Our room was away from the street but I imagine rooms close to the street might be loud at night.

Cleanliness (4 stars):

The room and the hotel seemed clean although I wasn't tempted to eat my dinner off the floor.

Location (5 stars):

As mentioned, the hotel is easily within walking distance of downtown and the lake, even for people who don't like to walk. There are several restaurants (Popeye's & Sprecher, for example) within walking distance as well.

Rooms (4 stars):

Our suite was nicely-sized, multi-room, with a whirlpool tub and a balcony overlooking the creek/nature area. The hotel's web site markets some of the rooms as having a lake view but that's kind of a stretch. Most of the rooms don't face the lake and even the few that do (on the west side of the hotel) are still a block away.

Additional information/tips:

- We didn't use the pool, but we had to see it for ourselves after reading the reviews. The pool is really small! More than two people in the pool would be a crowd. I don't suspect most people will need it, though, with downtown and the lake close-by and the whirlpool tubs in the room.

- Not sure how good this hotel would be for families, given the small pool, limited number of rooms, and (relatively) quiet ambiance. Seems more like a hotel for couples.

- As previous reviews indicated, there is a sign in the rooms indicating that the whirlpool should not be used late at night so that other guests aren't disturbed. This seemed peculiar, until we turned on the the whirlpool; they are loud! We obeyed the sign but I wish they'd find a better solution than restricting whirlpool use.

If you are considering Mill Creek Hotel for an overnight or a weekend with your significant other or with friends (but maybe not with young kids), I'd recommend it. I'm sure we'll stay here again soon.

Room Tip: The rooms with the creek/nature view are pleasant - note, there are no rooms that are truly "la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jason_r_smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Marketing Director at Mill Creek Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Thanks you for staying with us at Mill Creek Hotel, we are glad that you enjoyed your visit in Lake Geneva. Hope you will have an opportunity to come visit again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

My wife and I tried The Mill Creek last Thursday for a quick overnight getaway. We were warmly greeted at the front desk and checked in quickly. Our room overlooked the creek in the back and from the balcony we could see the lake. The rooms were clean and well appointed. The bathtub is huge and the jets all worked. The rooms were quiet and the small breakfast in the morning was more than enough. Our stay was nice and we would go back again. Location is fantastic - across the street from the lake and a block to downtown. We had apps at Sprecher next door - prices for food and drink were very good - check out their specials. We also had lunch at Simple - 3 blocks north of main - fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luckygal29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary O, Marketing Director at Mill Creek Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Thank you for staying at The Mill Creek Hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Our room had a nice kitchen and the kitchen was well appointed and clean--a positive of the stay. Location is excellent. The bathroom was not cleaned well though. The toilet was actually dirty around the base. And, no way I would actually use the jacuzzi tub. Much of the grout around the tub had been dug out and thickly regrouted--looked awful. The shower curtain was cheap. We had quite a few towels but none of them matched. Odd for a boutique hotel. There were some broken slats on the plastic blinds on the master bedroom window. Bed mattress was average. Will look elsewhere next time we are in town. It would not take much to make this a nice place to stay but the attention to detail and updating is lacking. Also, we were unable to use WiFi, which we were told was available. We were constantly asked for a password. The front desk said we didn't need a password. Sigh... Comfort Suites next time for us.

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank WisKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary O, Marketing Director at Mill Creek Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for bringing these items to our attention. We strive to provide an exceptional stay for our guests and we will definitely address your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
3.9 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#2 of 15 in Lake Geneva
326 reviews
1.9 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
548 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#7 of 15 in Lake Geneva
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
#10 of 15 in Lake Geneva
415 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maxwell Mansion
Maxwell Mansion
#6 of 15 in Lake Geneva
188 reviews
1.6 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Creek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Creek Hotel

Property: Mill Creek Hotel
Address: 123 Center St, Lake Geneva, WI 53147-2006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mill Creek Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal location in the heart of downtown Lake Geneva, WI.Nestled near the magnificent lakefront, the many historic parks, and the prestigious Main Street, The Mill Creek Hotel offers overnight visitors to Lake Geneva the best of all possibilities.You may view the vastness of beautiful Geneva Lake. You will enjoy the peaceful Donian Wetland Nature Preserve, and you are within steps of Lake Geneva's prominent Main Street.Mill Creek is the only hotel in Lake Geneva situated in a beautiful wooded nature preserve in the heart of it all and only steps from all shopping, restaurants and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Mill Creek Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Creek Lake Geneva
Hotel Mill Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing