We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Country Escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
General Boyd's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 11 Lake Geneva B&B and Inns
Yorkville, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Country Escape”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My wife and I had never been to a Bed and Breakfast before. We were not sure what to expect. Bob and Sue have set the bar very high. They were so incredibly helpful and friendly. Welcoming you into their home the moment you arrive. The home was filled with history and the grounds were amazing. There were all kinds of different gardens to explore. We stayed in the General's room with a King sized bed and private bath. The room was all you could ask for. The breakfast the next morning was unbelievable. Fresh muffins, fresh fruit plate after fruit plate, followed by the main course, coffee, tea, juice etc. They also were very accommodating to my wife's Gluten free diet. We will be returning with friends for sure!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shadw20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We had an outstanding time at General Boyd's! Neither my (now) husband or I had been to Lake Geneva or a B&B before and this has set the bar high! Bob & Sue were so accommodating and happy all the time! We stayed in the Sunshine Room which was beautiful anytime of the day. The grounds are darling and lovely to walk around. The location was convenient to many areas of interest. This was a wonderful getaway after our wedding- we would recommend! Breakfast was delicious...the scones and jam are worth having seconds! Access to wifi is a plus!

Room Tip: Sunshine Room was very sunny in the morning and throughout the day, plenty big for 2 people (2 beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kati S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My boyfriend and I wanted to get away for a night to Lake Geneva and this was an affordable and great option for us! Bob and Sue were very welcoming. We stayed in the Sunshine Room and it was so bright and cheery. Breakfast in the morning was absolutely delicious. The location of General Boyds was great for us because we brought our bikes and were able to bike easily downtown. I'd also highly recommend eating at the Baker House in town. Yum!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsmarie017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Bob and Sue are wonderful hosts and you will feel comfortable in their home from the moment you arrive. The location is incredibly convenient to walk to Lake Geneva and Big Foot state park. They were incredibly accommodating of my food allergies and made the most amazing breakfast for my husband and me.

Also, if you're interested in knowing anything or everything about Wisconsin and its surrounding states, Bob and Sue are a wealth of knowledge. They gave us enough suggestions for the next 10 weekend trips.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I decided to surprise my wife with a mini vacation....and since neither of us had ever been to a bed and breakfast, we thought we'd give it a shot.....and it was GREAT! Bob and Sue are suuuuper nice and helpful. We got there on a Friday evening and were greeted with fresh from the oven cookies and glasses of wine. The rooms were very nicely made and house overall was beautifully decorated. There were 2 other couples there but there was so much room in the house that you wouldn't even know it. On saturday bob drove us to the lake so that we could walk around the trail. Where can you get that service in a hotel? And dont get started on food...sue is a wonderful cook and you always leave the table stuffed!! Will def be going back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nick p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My husband and me we spent just one night at this lovely B&B.
Our room, the Rose room, is so warm and cozy, you HAVE to see it.
Bob and Sue are exceptional and lovely persons; they take care of you from your arrival till your departure.
And their breakfast?....it’s absolutely amazing!!!!!

They cook everything themselves, they offer you different kind of choices, from fruits, eggs, muffins, and even desserts.
The breakfast table is prepared with a touch of elegance , with candles , flowers , porcelain plates and silver cutlery and all the guests (total 8, 4 rooms) have some time to spend together and speak each others.
They open all year long and , for sure, we'll come back very soon there in that quiet piece of fantastic nature where, all around, you can hear just the sound of birds and the smell of coffee coming from downstairs, where Bob and Sue making your wake up much more pleasant.
See you soon...
Andrea&Simona

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I went with 4 other friends for the weekend. Bob & Sue were very helpful informing us about local events, directions etc. Sue is a wonderful cook! The B&B is an older home and is need of some renovations.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy43466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
2.7 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#2 of 15 in Lake Geneva
355 reviews
3.0 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
566 reviews
4.3 mi away
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
#9 of 15 in Lake Geneva
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Maxwell Mansion
Maxwell Mansion
#8 of 15 in Lake Geneva
190 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mill Creek Hotel
Mill Creek Hotel
#5 of 15 in Lake Geneva
430 reviews
4.3 mi away
SevenOaks
SevenOaks
#1 of 11 in Lake Geneva
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to General Boyd's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Boyd's Bed and Breakfast

Property: General Boyd's Bed and Breakfast
Address: W. 29145 So. Lake Shore Dr., Lake Geneva, WI 53147
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing