We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Foot Beach State Park

Big Foot Beach State Park
Ranked #13 of 40 things to do in Lake Geneva
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A favorite with families and nature enthusiasts, this 271-acre park on the shore of Lake Geneva, offers wooded campsites, a sand beach and plenty of picnic areas.
Marblehead
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Very nice beach that runs along the Lake Shore path. Comes in very handy, esp. having to use the restroom facilities!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank kazcass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    21
    26
    15
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not the place for families on holiday weekends.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed over the 4th of July weekend, 4 nights total. First night loud group of teens and twenty something partied almost all night. The no alcohol rule or quiet time at 11 were enforced. Camp hosts ride along all day selling firewood but not when they are needed so people can get some sleep. Second and third night went better large group left, night 4 new group of teens/possibly 21 year olds partying till 4 am with no care that kids and people were around them also. If camping is a way for teens to go get drink and be disrespectful of others, I guess this is the place to stay. If you don't mind your kids hearing drunk people cussing so loud, this is the place.
Sad part is the sites are good size, pit toilets are as good as can be expected and portable showers always had warm water.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank 32family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tight squeeze!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

Sites should be a little more private add acouple of trees in between sites ..to add a little privacy. Shower stalls were tiny.. trails were nice ..the beach is an unsafe area for little children.. PUT UP A GAURD RAIL TO PROTECT FROM ANY ACCIDENTS THAT MAY OCCUR!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice campground”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

Big Foot Beach usually has more availability than other state parks in WI. Maybe because they enforce the no alcohol policy. This park is fairly small, the the beach is even smaller and pretty public. Most of the camp sites have nice flat grassy spots for tents and they've added more electric sites. There is a temporary mobile shower trailer which provides very warm, damp and small shower stalls. I recommend just drying off as best you can and finishing your process back at the tent - I spent too much time in the tiny shower stall and got wetter the longer I stayed there. Pit toilets are nicer than at many campgrounds. Lots of people come here to fish.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Joannkaydavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Disappointing, Unworthy State Park”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

I think this is the first Wisconsin State Park that I've found to be a complete disappointment. It's a small park, located basically right in town. While "Beach" is in the title, the beach across the street and doesn't even seem like it is part of the park. The campground is unimpressive. Sites in the RV section are right on top of each other with no space in between. There is a tent section, where all of the sites are walk-in, some close to parking, some not-so-close, however, even here, some of the sites are very close together, and a few are on such a steep slope there would be no place to set up a tent.

If you're looking for a place to camp right in Lake Geneva, this spot could work, but it's not a destination by itself. I've been to dozens of State Parks all over Wisconsin, and this is the first one that I can't recommend.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank RTAMidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Big Foot Beach State Park also viewed

 

Been to Big Foot Beach State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing