We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why charge for the beach??” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riviera Beach

Riviera Beach
Ranked #10 of 40 things to do in Lake Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Public beach on Lake Geneva popular with swimmers, sunbathers, hikers and boaters.
milwaukee
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Why charge for the beach??”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Geneva Lake is beautiful, no doubt. But the beach here is small, crowded, and totally not worth paying $7.00 per adult! There was a lifeguard, and it appeared well kept, but all my husband and I wanted to do was take some pictures, put our feet in the water, and walk on the shoreline. Not worth $14 plus the price to park! The city of Lake Geneva rakes in the cash with all the tourists, why charge for this little beach? Accessing natural resources should not be an exclusive opportunity- which Lake Geneva really wants it to be. Much better free or super cheap beach options at nearby lakes with far less crowding!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank lovesgoldens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    41
    20
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
467 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Too crowded”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Beach area too small and crowded. Of course everyone wanted to take advantage of the nice weather. Who wouldn't. But there is a charge for the beach. It was $20 for our family of 4. So for the crowd it was not worth it. Also public restrooms close at 4:30.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cold but Pretty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

Obviously we couldn't swim but it looked like a nice place to take a romantic walk in the summer. Next time we're visiting I'm going to try to book a warmer month to take advantage of the lake

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica60611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
333 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Nice clean little beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

The beach is located within the town and there is a charge for use up to Labour Day. The beach is small, clean and safe. Close in water is shallow. Not sure if there is a lifeguard, umbrellas, or chairs.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Declan2004Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natick
Level Contributor
182 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Nice little in-town beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Lake Geneva is geared more toward boating activities, not hanging on the beach, so the local stretches of sand are not the main destination for most tourists. I'm a midwesterner transplanted to the East Coast, so it took a while to adjust to the smallish-ness of Riviera Beach. Having said that, it's a nice little in town beach, with a nice rinse-off outdoor shower and a really GREAT bath house with individual shower stalls, pretty comfortable changing booths and really nice and clean bathroom area. There isn't a concession, but you can get food and drink pretty close to the beach. If you bring your own chairs, umbrella's and snacks, you're really good to stay the whole day. I've read complaints about parking, but we didn't have any problems with that. Entrance fee was reasonable (compared to MA!). Great for families.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank deniseg12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Riviera Beach also viewed

 

Been to Riviera Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing