We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gave it another try”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cove of Lake Geneva
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Reviewed 15 October 2012

It has been a couple of years since my last visit but can honestly say that it has gone even more downhill from then. The place is run like "Animal House". When you complain to the front desk about extremely loud noise all night , filthy conditions in the rooms or anything, you get a shoulder shrug and a weak appology. There is not manmagement on premise ( at least that is what you are told) and no one contacts you about the problems experienced. They love to advertise cheap prices and there is a very valid reason why. No one stays there after the first experience.
On our last visit, there were guests ( at least wqe think they were) drunk and sitting in the children's wading pool on pool chair drinking beer. The laguage was foul and we had to leave so that our child was not exposed to it. Kids having races int he hallways at 10:00 at night and loud drunk people partying in the halls until 4:00 in the morning.
NEVER AGAIN will we stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jimc82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenevaHos, Manager at Cove of Lake Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your recent visit to the Cove of Lake Geneva. I greatly apologize on behalf of our other guests and for the lack of customer service that you received. I cannot believe that anyone would leave their children unattended to race down the hallways expecting the Cove staff to attend to them and I apologize greatly that this is what your experienced. We love to cater to families and we do not allow any beverages in any pool, so I apologize that this was overlooked by the staff as well. It is my hope that you will accept my sincerest apologies and give us the opportunity to regain your confidence in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Paula Holmes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (883)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

885 - 887 of 887 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2012

I chose the cove to host my friend's bachelorette party at our most recent visit. Upon arriving and checking in, we asked for a luggage cart to carry all of our bags and supplies to our room (I'm 5 months pregnant and didn't want to lug it all). The young woman at the desk looked at me as if I was stupid to ask for one and said "we don't have anymore, it's check-in time". Yes, I know it's check-in time. That's what I'm doing and that's what I need it for. She informed me quite rudely that they were all being used and offered no other alternative. Once we arrived to our suite, it was nice and what we expected. Until I went into the kitchen. I had called earlier in the week asking if the room I had booked had a full kitchen as I was preparing food for our party gusts. I was told yes it had a full kitchen. Well we didn't have an oven or even a coffee maker. I called down to the front desk asking for one. I was told by the same rude woman that she would send one up. One hour later I went down to the front desk asking for a coffee maker yet again. She told me they ran out. (THEY RAN OUT? HOW DO YOU RUN OUT OF COFFEE MAKERS?!?!) she didn't bother calling out room to tell us that, I had to wait an hour and go find her! I asked to speak to the manager (apparently she JUST left). Then the woman told me she would call me and see what she could do to find one.....TWO hours later I call down to the desk (again she didn't call) and I was told there weren't any coffee machines. I said I'd like to be credited $15 to my card because that's the amount of money I'd have to go spend at Starbucks on coffee. She then immediately said she would find me one and a maid came to our room 15 minutes later with one. I was incredibly surprised at how rude the staff was. Terrible terrible customer service.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cmmichels13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenevaHos, Manager at Cove of Lake Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your most recent stay with us at the Cove of Lake Geneva. We take all of our customer feedback very seriously and I greatly apologize for the lack of customer service that you received on your most recent stay. I cannot believe that one of our associates told you that we were out of coffeemakes and that no one offered to assist you with your luggage. We do have six luggage carts, but we know that they are hard to come by at check in time. The front desk associate should have offered you the many solutions that we have to this reoccuring issue and I apologize that she did not. I am glad that we were finally able to accomodate you with a coffee maker and I apologize that it took numerous calls to the front desk for such a simple item. It is my hope that you will accept my sincerest apologies and give us an opportunity to regain your confidence in the future.

Sincerely,

Paula Holmes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonella F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbaior, General Manager at Cove of Lake Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
0.1 mi away
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
#9 of 15 in Lake Geneva
508 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#3 of 15 in Lake Geneva
425 reviews
1.7 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
610 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mill Creek Hotel
Mill Creek Hotel
#2 of 15 in Lake Geneva
458 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Lake Geneva
Comfort Suites Lake Geneva
#11 of 15 in Lake Geneva
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cove of Lake Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cove of Lake Geneva

Address: 111 Center St, Lake Geneva, WI 53147-2087
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Price Range: £93 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cove of Lake Geneva 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the stunning shoreline of Geneva Lake and in the heart of town, The Cove of Lake Geneva is the ideal hotel for everything from girls shopping getaways and family vacations to romantic weekends and business travel. Guests will find exceptional comfort in our all-suite resort featuring the areas most exclusive setting, all within walking distance to Lake Geneva’s main attractions.The Cove proudly offers 222 spacious suites complete with all the amenities you need for an exceptional stay. Our all-suite resort features fully equipped kitchens, fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, and spacious balconies or patios. Guests may choose from a variety of room suite options to suit your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Cove of Lake Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cove Of Lake Geneva Hotel Lake Geneva
Cove Lake Geneva
Lake Geneva Cove
The Cove Lake Geneva Wi
Cove Hotel Lake Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing