We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Valentine's Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cove of Lake Geneva
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Extremely dated property that has a lot of potential but needs some TLC. They need to remove the "luxury" from their name-- I've stayed at nicer budget hotels. It feels like time has stood still since the early 80s.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, Guest Relations Manager at Cove of Lake Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

I am very sorry to hear about your experience here at the Cove. I appreciate the comments, as it gives us a better understanding of what we need to do going forward. I wanted to assure you that we are always striving to make the Cove a better place to stay for our guests. My hope is that you give us another try in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (899)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

765 - 771 of 899 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2014

Myself and several friends stayed here the weekend of Jan 25. Upon arriving, we noticed the room had not been properly cleaned. The countertop was wet and sticky, there were leftover food items in the fridge, and to top it all off, there was a chewed piece of gum stuck to the TV remote (which I had to program myself, btw).

There was no answer at housekeeping (this would prove to be expected over the course of the weekend), but the front desk was able to get someone to come up and clean the room. When we needed additional towels and toiletries, housekeeping was again unavailable by phone, but the front desk eventually sent someone up.

The remainder of our stay was unremarkable.

After checking out on the 26th of January and arriving home, I realized that I had left, misplaced, or lost my wallet containing my credit cards and state ID.

- Jan 28th: I called to inquire about the missing wallet and was told I would need to speak to housekeeping. When the front desk asked to forward me to housekeeping, I mentioned that we were unable to get a hold of them directly throughout our entire stay, so I would rather she just get in touch with them for me if possible. I was advised that she would do so.

- Feb 6th: After not hearing from anyone for over a week, I called back to follow up. The front desk employee remembered my previous call and stated that she had reached out to housekeeping, but did not know the status. I was told that housekeeping had gone home for the day, but that she would have them follow up in the morning.

- Feb 7th: Housekeeping calls back! They have my wallet, and, presumably, have had it for 2 weeks now; but, they're willing to ship it to me, so that's great.

- Feb 11th: Another follow-up call to the Cove, as I haven't seen any shipping charged to my card as we had agreed, and considering the previous trouble, felt it necessary to be sure it had shipped. Unfortunately, the front desk cannot figure out if it was shipped or not. They have a tracking number for a shipment, but no idea who's shipment it is.

- Feb 12th: My wallet arrives!

While I appreciate that I received my left items and that they were able to ship them (which was certainly convenient), I do not understand how they could have someone's lost possessions for such a long time--especially credit cards and identification--and not make an attempt to get in touch.

The combination of the dirty room and the experiences with housekeeping will absolutely have me looking for different options next time I stay in Lake Geneva.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank maxt1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, Guest Relations Manager at Cove of Lake Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

I am very sorry about the troubles you faced while you were here at the Cove. I assure you that our new management team will fix these issues that you have pointed out to us. I apologize about the inconveniences that you were faced with, but I appreciate the fact that you have made us aware of the situation. My hope is that you will come back and give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I found a great deal on Livin Social so my husband and I stayed at The Cove for two nights for our first anniversary. The stay was nice and cozy with the fireplace. The room was just average with its early 90s mauve and green decor, which was fine because we weren't there for a fancy experience. The room had a bad fishy smell when we arrived so we turned the ceiling fan on for awhile and cracked the sliding door, despite the frigid temperature and it went away. Everything else in the room was fine and they brought us a wine opener promptly. We enjoyed the resort and Sprecher's. When we left my husband mistakenly put a Cutco pairing knife I'd brought in the dishwasher and by the time I realized it, we were too far a away to go back. I also left a ring and pair of earrings on the table. I called three separate times, only to be told that housekeeping is in charge of lost and found and that they would call me the next day. They never did. I even spoke to a lady higher up and she apologized profusely that housekeeping hadn't called me back and swore they would call me the next day. Never happened. I finally let go of it and sent them an email through their website stating my disappointment and could only assume they stole my knife and jewelry for personal use, and that I didn't expect to get it back. Again, no response. I will never stay here again or recommend people to a place that is dishonest and doesn't follow through with communication. There's no excuse. Even if my items were gone, someone could've called me and let me know.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, Guest Relations Manager at Cove of Lake Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

I am very sorry to hear about your time here at the Cove. I wanted to let you know that we are under new management, and we apologize for any inconveniences that you have had in the past. I appreciate what you have brought to our attention and we will look to take care of that immediately. My hope is that you come back and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Went to the cove for a night with friends for the night of Feb 8th. We stayed there about 5 years ago and loved the rooms and the hotel. We had high expectations due to our past experience and the price that we paid for the room. We arrived early and luckily because it was off season they were able to give us a room immediately. I believe the desk clerk's name was Ryan. He was absolutely wonderful. He gave us our key to the first room. We walked in and it was ugly. It was a pale washed out blue, the rug was blue. There were stains on the rug and the walls has many scratches and scuffs, there were cracked light shades as well as the couch seemed old and dated. Although I believe the room was cleaned it seemed dirty because of the color and condition. Although it was winter we walked onto the balcony and it was absolutely filthy. I called the front desk and Ryan answered. I asked him if we could change room. He did not hesitate and stated yes. I went to the front desk and he gave me a new key to a new room. Again he was nice and accommodating. We then went to the next room and when we opened the door a stench of rotten food came from the door. Housekeeping did not clean this room. It was disgusting. Food on the stove still, in the fridge. Bowls of food on the tables. Whoever was in this room and left it in the condition it was should be sent a bill. I called back to the front desk and spoke to Ryan regarding the condition of the second room. He again was accommodating and extremely helpful. This time he met us at our 3rd room with a key. When he arrived at the 3rd room he was extremely apologetic and stated he gave us a 10% discount due to the issues we were having. We entered our 3rd room and it was much nicer. We were in the room and wanted to put on the fireplace only to find out it did not work. We did not call downstairs to complain about this only because we were happy that we finally found a room. All in all, service was wonderful. The hotel itself is aged and dated and way too expensive for the type of rooms. Spend your money at The Mill Creek Hotel right next door is beautiful and up to date. The Harbor Shores on the other side of The Cove was also more up to date but the rooms are smaller and more like a hotel. I don't know if I will ever be back to The Cove, until they update.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mspms100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, Guest Relations Manager at Cove of Lake Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

I am deeply sorry about the problems you had when you stayed here at the Cove. We are working hard on fixing the problems you have pointed out. Please feel free to contact me directly at any point, as I hope that you come and stay with us again at the Cove. I want to assure you that we are taking care of the problems you faced while you were here during your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We have stayed many times and had great luck! We always stay in room 451 and never have had a problem. Recently stayed and they have new (or what look like new) appliances, stove,oven, fridge and dishwasher. Very nice fireplace and seems clean, no stained furniture. The indoor pool could definately be kept at a higher temperature!!!! TOO COLD.

Room Tip: Only have stayed in 451 and never been disapointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MPerco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, Guest Relations Manager at Cove of Lake Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

I am very pleased that you had a great experience at the Cove. We deeply apologize about the Indoor pool not being up to the proper temperature. I appreciate the fact that you made us aware of the issue. We have taken care of the issue we had with our heater, and we hope that you are able to come and enjoy the indoor pool soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This is my go -to place in Lake Geneva because of the spacious suite style rooms with fireplace, kitchen, table, couch, chair. Love it! Ordered room service for the first time from Sprechers and found it to be quick and quite good. Always clean and very friendly at the front desk. In the heart of the town but the lake and near everything you need. Love it!

Room Tip: Haven't had a bad one yet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buttonskc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, Guest Relations Manager at Cove of Lake Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

We are ecstatic that you enjoyed your stay at the Cove. We hope that we see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Stayed at the cove was very unhappy with our stay the hallways have burnt out and broken lights The evlevators feel like they are going to brake down when your in them along with all the writing on the wall in them The room we stayed in was very out dated and had very dirty carpeting and no dishes The indoor pool was nice but the floor around the pool was very dirty over all nice location but needs alot of work not sure what other people see here

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 827sandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, Guest Relations Manager at Cove of Lake Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

I deeply apologize about your experience here at the Cove. We assure you that we are working on the problems that you have addressed to us. Our staff works very hard at taking care of our guests, so we hope that the next time you are staying with us we are able to meet the high satisfaction level that we place on ourselves as associates of the Cove. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
0.1 mi away
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
#8 of 15 in Lake Geneva
511 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#3 of 15 in Lake Geneva
435 reviews
1.7 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
613 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mill Creek Hotel
Mill Creek Hotel
#2 of 15 in Lake Geneva
460 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Lake Geneva
Comfort Suites Lake Geneva
#10 of 15 in Lake Geneva
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cove of Lake Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cove of Lake Geneva

Address: 111 Center St, Lake Geneva, WI 53147-2087
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Price Range: £93 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cove of Lake Geneva 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the stunning shoreline of Geneva Lake and in the heart of town, The Cove of Lake Geneva is the ideal hotel for everything from girls shopping getaways and family vacations to romantic weekends and business travel. Guests will find exceptional comfort in our all-suite resort featuring the areas most exclusive setting, all within walking distance to Lake Geneva’s main attractions.The Cove proudly offers 222 spacious suites complete with all the amenities you need for an exceptional stay. Our all-suite resort features fully equipped kitchens, fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, and spacious balconies or patios. Guests may choose from a variety of room suite options to suit your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Cove of Lake Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cove Of Lake Geneva Hotel Lake Geneva
Cove Lake Geneva
Lake Geneva Cove
The Cove Lake Geneva Wi
Cove Hotel Lake Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing