We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Week day rates are extremely high.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cove of Lake Geneva
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Forest View, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Week day rates are extremely high.”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

After being repeat customers for 9 years we have moved on to stay somewhere else this summer. We loved the Cove and being downtown, the previous management provided special prices and deals to entice people to stay and come back. I contacted them 3 times to see about any specials for repeat customers and did not receive any follow up reply as they stated. We have booked across the street for less than ½ of what the Cove’s best rate is.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adam210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbaior, General Manager at Cove of Lake Geneva, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Adam, I'm sorry to hear that you chose another venue based on rate. We are currently running a midweek special with rooms starting at $149 per night through July. We believe this is a very guest friendly rate for a summer rental in Lake Geneva. We hope you take advantage of this special. We would like to see you again soon. Todd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    192
    106
    68
    60
See reviews for
284
198
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Plainfield, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The Cove sits on Center Street and is less then a block from the lake and Main Street of downtown Lake Geneva. Location can not be beat.

Rooms on the other hand are extremely dated and worn. We stayed in the Anchor suite 256. You have one bedroom (no door) right when you walk in. 1 bathroom, a kitchenette and small living room with sleeper sofa. Carpet and furnishings easily circa 1990. Chair in living room completely ripped with exposed stuffing. Couch cushions as gang have lost shape. The decor is something you would expect from your great aunts house. Carpet feels gross and cheap to your feet.

Hotel grounds- 2 outdoor pools one indoor. Completely fine but bottoms scrape feet. And a restaurant attached ( your in Lake Geneva and tons of great eats with less then a block walk)

In all the biggest thing this place has going for it is the location, besides that take a pass.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbaior, General Manager at Cove of Lake Geneva, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Christine- Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I would agree that the location ideal. While a number of the Cove rooms have experienced updates we are in the process of refreshing all units. There are 7 different room types / room configurations at the Cove. Many have private bedrooms and multiple baths depending on your needs. We hope to see you again in the future. Todd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batavia, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I recently stayed at the cove for fathers day weekend and the front desk staff was amazing especially Cheryl she took care of everything for us. The pool area and Cabana Bar were amazing, Jared was amazing, he was friendly and he knows what he is doing behind the bar definitely one of the best bartenders I have met. When we came back at night the front desk was very busy but Esma and Krysta handled everything very professionally. I liked how there is security at night which makes you feel safe, Jared was doing security at night which shows he is dedicated to making the cove a great place to stay for guests. I will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbaior, General Manager at Cove of Lake Geneva, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Greg, Thanks for sharing your experience with everyone. We pride ourselves in providing excellent customer service and that's exactly what you deserve when visiting Lake Geneva. We look forward to seeing you in the very near future. Todd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Racine, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We just stayed June 14th and 15th 2014 for our Birthdays. My 52nd on the 15th and my hubbys
50th was on the 12th. We had a great time. We stayed in room 110. We were already to book again for a get away July 4th and 5th. Asked if we could have the same room they said no it was already booked. We asked if we could still have a room over looking pool and was told they couldn't tell us that until AFTER we booked...WHAT??? You don't know what rooms you still have
available? You obviously know that 110 is already booked! We felt the gal was really rude. We
walked away with the last impression being a bad one. What about appreciating a repeat customer? Saddened. I guess we will check around.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbaior, General Manager at Cove of Lake Geneva, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Brenda, Thank you for your comments. We're glad that you have decided to return to the Cove. Please contact me personally at 262.249.9460 ext. 181 and I will be happy to honor your request. We are a Condo-Hotel so there is a rotation management system in place which is why the staff was unable to guarantee you a specific room at the time of your call. I look forward to speaking with you personally. Todd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We were at the Cover of Lake Geneva from 6/12/14 - 6/14/14. This is our 11th visit to this resort. We have always loved the location of this resort because we do not have to drive anywhere once we get there, everything is in walking distance. This year's visit was a real disappointment. When we arrived we were told that our room was ready but we have to pay $20.00 for early check in, which never happened before at this resort, or have I ever had to pay for early check in at any hotel/resort that I have visited. We were given room #409 which was another disappointment. Room need some major updating. This was the worse room we have ever stayed in at the Cove. Also, the hallway carpeting is disgusting and needs to be removed. This is the same carpeting that has been there since our first visit. Also, at the Tiki Bar by the pool on Friday, there was very limited waitress poolside service. We actually had the lifeguard get her to come to the area our group was sitting. This was never a problem on previous visits. There is definitely a need for improvements at this resort since last year's visit. Hopefully this will be addressed so that when we return again we can write a positive review of this resort.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbaior, General Manager at Cove of Lake Geneva, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I'm sorry your stay wasn't as enjoyable as it had been in the past. We are making every effort to provide an enjoyable stay for all of our guests. We hope to see you again in the future so that we can provide a more enjoyable experience. - Todd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NAPERVILLE
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I made a reservation through Expedia in December. I was under the impression that it was a final price. I show up to the hotel in June and they hit me up for $25.00 :Resort Fee". I had a choice of paying the fee or leaving. After a 2 hour car ride I decided to pay the fee. However, next time I have a decision to make...should I come back to the Cove in the future? How do I know they won't hit me with higher up-charges in the future. This is not appropriate nor is it good business.

Room Tip: The rooms near the banquet rooms are very noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PHIL T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbaior, General Manager at Cove of Lake Geneva, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We do charge a $12 per day resort fee which is typical of most area resorts. Included in the resort fee is parking, high speed internet and access to our 5 pools. We hope you decide to take advantage of our great location in the heart of Lake Geneva in the future. Todd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed at the Cove with three girlfriends for a fun weekend. We range in age from 45-65.
We stayed in 418 which was adorable with a flip flop beach theme, two bathrooms new furniture and very clean. We overlooked the pool . We never moved the car all weekend- walked everywhere. Ate breakfast at Simple, Dinner at Tuscan, drinks and sunset at Baker House and more cocktails at Sprechers right in hotel. Pool chairs were super comfy. Entertainment by the pool was bad but we didn't mind. So nice to have a large refrigerator and microwave in the room. Lake path is half a block away. So much to do and the Cove puts you right in the middle of everything. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Loved 418 for decor and location if looking for a Belle Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hope1Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbaior, General Manager at Cove of Lake Geneva, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Hope1Chicago, Thanks for reviewing the Cove. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay and experienced some of the best that Lake Geneva has to offer within walking distance of your room. We hope to see you again and again. - Todd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
3.9 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#2 of 15 in Lake Geneva
326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
#11 of 15 in Lake Geneva
418 reviews
1.8 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
0.1 mi away
Mill Creek Hotel
Mill Creek Hotel
#5 of 15 in Lake Geneva
423 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Lake Geneva
Comfort Suites Lake Geneva
#10 of 15 in Lake Geneva
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cove of Lake Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cove of Lake Geneva

Property: Cove of Lake Geneva
Address: 111 Center St, Lake Geneva, WI 53147-2087
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cove of Lake Geneva 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the stunning shoreline of Geneva Lake and in the heart of town, The Cove of Lake Geneva is the ideal hotel for everything from girls shopping getaways and family vacations to romantic weekends and business travel. Guests will find exceptional comfort in our all-suite resort featuring the areas most exclusive setting, all within walking distance to Lake Geneva’s main attractions.The Cove proudly offers 222 spacious suites complete with all the amenities you need for an exceptional stay. Our all-suite resort features fully equipped kitchens, fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, and spacious balconies or patios. Guests may choose from a variety of room suite options to suit your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cove of Lake Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cove Of Lake Geneva Hotel Lake Geneva
Cove Lake Geneva
Lake Geneva Cove
The Cove Lake Geneva Wi
Cove Hotel Lake Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing