We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is the best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cove of Lake Geneva
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Location is the best!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Second time at this resort! The location is the best thing about it! Walking to restaurants, shops, and attractions. Right across from the lake and close to trail around the lake. Rooms are cleanly and acceptable. Some have a little wear and tear and may need a bit of updating, but did not spend much time in the room. Pool area is great for all ages. Lots of seating.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greta7750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbaior, General Manager at Cove of Lake Geneva, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Gretta7750, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We're glad you chose to return to the Cove. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Todd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    220
    123
    73
    62
See reviews for
340
216
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Pulling into Lake Geneva was like pulling into a convention of corporate Chicagoan's thinking they are all up in "nature". The cove is a large resort with a giant thin parking lot wrapping itself around the building. No one had the intuition to include a check in port, so you have to hunt for a parking space, IF there's one open, then walk back a block or so, just to have to go back park on the opposite side or wherever your room might be. Ceiling tiles in the hall were water logged and falling out, the room and overall establishment was decorated straight out of the late 80s early 90s. The room itself had a TUBE TV, the WiFi didn't work on a smart phone or computer, and to swim you have to walk back another block to the front desk to get a wristband then back to the pool, as if they were guarding some sort of hidden treasure. The attached "highly acclaimed" Sprecher screwed up a $15 grilled chicken sandwich order, which Burger King has a superior product to in comparison. The side of fruit I ordered with it smelled like fish as well, and the fries were stale. Cell reception in the building was null and void as well. How about long hair all over the bathroom ...from a maid perhaps? Regardless I had to clean it myself. for a rate of $190 a night The HOLE can go punt. I am glad my company paid for this 1 night of crap. Never again. Go to a Holiday Inn or Marriot. The chains usually maintain and upgrade things like shower fixtures. Upon check out I was ready to let them know how my stay was as a staff usually asks, but here.. nope... nothing they asked if i wanted a receipt and that's it. Don't most places do auto check out now and leave it under your door? This is nothing more than a washed up tourist trap that you'd see in Orlando. Jam packed just the same. On the upside they had nice fancy soap wrapped in tissue paper inside a fiberboard box. Now that's livin'!

Room Tip: If you're driving here... just keep going and pass right on by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirk B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbaior, General Manager at Cove of Lake Geneva, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
KirkB, Thank you for sharing your comments. I'm disappointed that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. We are committed to improving our guest experiences. Todd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The Cove has the location which is good. The whole place needs a make over. I know they have gone through some management changes because the first group was stealing money out of there. The pool is good but usually cloudy. Sprechers Restaurant attached to hotel is very good. Fun kids atmosphere but all types of groups there. Not many options right there in downtown Lake Geneva so this will do.

Room Tip: Good Luck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbaior, General Manager at Cove of Lake Geneva, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
A C, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. We are currently in the process of updating our bedding / kitchen supplies. We think this will give the rooms a fresh look and our guests a quality experience. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Todd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carpentersville, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The Cove was the perfect spot for our family getaway. We were greeted with warm and friendly faces upon arrival. Even though we were a little early, the front desk staff provided us with a parking pass and pool keys. The kids’ pool provided a safe and entertaining environment for our 3.5 year old yet the atmosphere was suitable for all ages. We especially liked the DJ! A wristband was provided at check in and made it easy to charge food and beverage to our rooms. Everywhere you looked, a staff member was eager to assist (especially in the pool area). Kudos to the management for anticipating the needs of guests. The location to the beach and entertainment can’t be beat. We will definitely return to The Cove for our next mini vacation!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Autumn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbaior, General Manager at Cove of Lake Geneva, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
We're glad your family enjoyed the weekend at the Cove. We hope to see you again this Fall. Todd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Lenox, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This is a nice to decent hotel for those who want a great spot in Lake Genva (relatively close to downtown, across street from the lake). Overall, the rooms were mostly clean, with minor wear and tear - just enough for this germaphobe to feel mostly comfortable.

My only complaint is one of the fresh towels had a red dot stain, which I automatically assume is blood. I took that towel along with the rest, called the front desk, notified of the situation, and they brought a fresh batch of towels within five minutes. Also, my in-laws had a room down the hall and their non-smoking room smelled like smoke.

We were there on a weekend, and there were a lot of groups of 20 year olds and bachelorette groups. Older adults might get annoyed with such large groups running around the lobby and pool area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mhawrysko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbaior, General Manager at Cove of Lake Geneva, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Cove. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you in the near future. Todd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Just returned from three days at the Cove. We had an Anchor suite on the second floor. It was great. Looks like some recent updates. Pool was awesome. As is the location. The onsite restaurant was very good. We were a little early to check inbut were given a parking pass. Since we were going to lunch we would come back. If by some chance the room was not ready we could get a pool pass. Highly recommended. Try Champs which is right on main st. About a block and a half away. Good beer and pub food selection. Indoor and outdoor seating.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Eileen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbaior, General Manager at Cove of Lake Geneva, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Eileen, We're glad you noticed our new updates. We continue to plan new and exciting improvements at the Cove. We're pleased that your family enjoyed three days with us. Summer is not over yet and we look forward to seeing you soon! Todd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed Friday through Sunday and can't say enough good things about our stay. Check in was simple. We went to our room and found an overwhelming smoke odor and they moved us to another room without hesitation. The grounds are well kept, art activities are great for the kids, and the pool was filled with kind families....We will definitely be back!!Q!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling-Party-of-5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbaior, General Manager at Cove of Lake Geneva, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Traveling-Party-of-Five, We're glad you enjoyed your weekend stay at the Cove. I'm sorry to hear of the issue with your first room but I'm pleased that we were able rectify the situation quickly. We pride ourselves in guest satisfaction and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Todd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
3.9 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#2 of 15 in Lake Geneva
357 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
#11 of 15 in Lake Geneva
449 reviews
1.7 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
566 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mill Creek Hotel
Mill Creek Hotel
#5 of 15 in Lake Geneva
431 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Lake Geneva
Comfort Suites Lake Geneva
#10 of 15 in Lake Geneva
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cove of Lake Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cove of Lake Geneva

Property: Cove of Lake Geneva
Address: 111 Center St, Lake Geneva, WI 53147-2087
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cove of Lake Geneva 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the stunning shoreline of Geneva Lake and in the heart of town, The Cove of Lake Geneva is the ideal hotel for everything from girls shopping getaways and family vacations to romantic weekends and business travel. Guests will find exceptional comfort in our all-suite resort featuring the areas most exclusive setting, all within walking distance to Lake Geneva’s main attractions.The Cove proudly offers 222 spacious suites complete with all the amenities you need for an exceptional stay. Our all-suite resort features fully equipped kitchens, fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, and spacious balconies or patios. Guests may choose from a variety of room suite options to suit your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cove of Lake Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cove Of Lake Geneva Hotel Lake Geneva
Cove Lake Geneva
Lake Geneva Cove
The Cove Lake Geneva Wi
Cove Hotel Lake Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing