We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip Popeye's”

Popeye's on Lake Geneva
Ranked #13 of 98 Restaurants in Lake Geneva
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Someone told me 'you have to eat at Popeye's". No, you don't.

Dirty and tourist trap. Food was good. . .but the type of chicken you could find in any decent grocery store. Service was good. Overall place is very average at best. Maybe a beer or two there but not lunch or dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank fikriw2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WendyAF, Public Relations Manager at Popeye's on Lake Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your thoughts, as we are always striving the make Popeyes better for all our customer. We're happy to hear you enjoyed the food and service. Popeyes is a very popular tourist destination as we have one of the best views and locations in Lake Geneva... but we also cater to our locals and loyal customers. We hope you'll visit again and feel free to ask for a manager and share you thoughts first hand. Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

761 - 765 of 1,247 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

Pulled pork sandwich was delicious and flavorful. Came with seasoned fries that were good. No garnish for the sandwich. Very plain dish. Service was good. The atmosphere s kitschy. Time for an upgrade and refresh. The best thing about this restaurant is location and view of the water if you are lucky enough to sit by the window.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MSWood2700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WendyAF, Public Relations Manager at Popeye's on Lake Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

We're so happy to hear you enjoyed the food and service and want to thank you for visiting Popeyes. We'lll share your review with our management and staff and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This used to be my #1 place in Lake Geneva, and in my top 10 anywhere. Recent visit was so disappointing. They cut the menu drastically, service was slow, and the formerly stellar rotisserie chicken was just ho-hum. My friend asked for fruit - they don't have any. What restaurant does not carry fruit? MAJOR disappointment, will not return. What the heck happened? Did they change owners?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank atravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WendyAF, Public Relations Manager at Popeye's on Lake Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts, as it always helps us to improve the customer experience at Popeye's. We're so sorry to hear you didn't find this visit as enjoyable as previous ones and we'd really like to have you come back again and ask to talk with a manager to share you experience first hand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Seasoned fries with cheese! Broccoli/cheese and chicken tortilla soup and best bloody marys anywhere!

1  Thank Sherri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had a gift card so ate here twice. The first time we had happy hour at the bar (m-f 3-6). We loved the happy hour, with great prices on drinks and appetizers. Two apps were enough for the 2 of us for dinner, so we left very happy. The inside is very cutely decorated as well so that is nice. The next day, Saturday, we went for a late lunch and wanted to sit outside. There was a wait, which is fine. They will not serve you any drinks except alcohol from inside. So they are selling bottled water and soda instead of from the tap. This made me and several tables around us upset. What was worse is that we were by the wait station and we could hear the wait staff making fun of other guests that demanded free water. We just ordered lemonade to try and avoid the bottles. I know they are busy and do not want to go inside, but if they can pass beer, and cocktails through the windows, then they can pass pitchers of water as well. Anyway, food is decent, not great and everything is very greasy and fried... I wish they had one or two healthy items on the menu that were a little lighter. My husband and I did not eat much but felt sick the rest of the afternoon from the heavy, fried food. All in all, we won't be back, but it is not terrible either.

Thank sunski774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WendyAF, Public Relations Manager at Popeye's on Lake Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your Popeye's experience. In order to expedite service in the new outdoor dining area, we've had to make some changes in terms of water service to accommodate the large volume of patrons in the summer months. We will share your thoughts with our management team and will take it into consideration as we plan for next season. We're happy to hear you enjoyed our happy hour and ambiance and hope you'll decide to stop in again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Popeye's on Lake Geneva also viewed

 

Been to Popeye's on Lake Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing