We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Restaurant”
Review of Nuvo - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Nuvo
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Waitstaff
Western Springs, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We spent two nights New Years Eve (12/30-31/13) in Lake Geneva. After finding some other reviews we stayed at the French Country Inn (also reviewed); Nuvo is on the same property. The restaurant is on Lake Como and is a very nice setting. The food and service at this restaurant was excellent. Mitch, the general manager, bartender, etc., could not have been more gracious and helpful. Nikki, our server, was also very knowledgeable, professional and friendly. Both of them, plus the chefs creativity made for a wonderful dining experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grayslake, Illinois
Level Contributor
148 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“awesome restaurant”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

went there for thanksgiving. had three choices. turkey,primerib,or fish. beautiful bar and restaurant. right on lake como has a wonderful bed and breakfast right next door call the french inn. live entetainment on the weekends,just a fabulos place to dine and unwind.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 160cheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Il.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good New Restaurant”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This space has been struggling since a previous popular restaurant closed. I think Nuvo has a good chance of replacing it. We have dined there twice in recent months, both times on a Friday. Instead of the typical Wisconsin fish fry they have a shrimp special which is a large plate of very large shrimp prepared 2 different ways, out of 6 choices, you choose. Both times the shrimp was cooked properly and the preparations were very good.One of the nights we also had a crab cake appetizer which was quite large and delicious. Lots of crab and minimal breading. The next visit we had clam chowder which was excellent.
During one of our dinners we were with another couple who ordered meat dishes. One was pork and one beef, can't remember the particulars but both were very happy with their choices.
The service was good and attentive and the chef appeared later in the meal to see how things were.
There is entertainment in the bar or on the deck in the summer time. This is a wonderful location with great views of Lake Como. The decor in the restaurant is dated and could really use some TLC. Hope they make it because the area can really use a good restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank salpal55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
87 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good, but don't order extra bread”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We dined here with two other couples this weekend. The food was very good for all of us. My tenderloin au pouve was cooked to perfection (rare). My wife's sauteed walleye was excellent. We loved our server, who was personable, well-informed and very attentive. The room we dined in was ok, but not memorable. The only hick-up was that I asked for more bread, which was delivered promptly. SURPRISE! We were charged $2.00. Wow! I have dined in restaurants all over the world and have never been charged for extra bread. We will certainly go back as it was a very good experience until that silly charge. On our return, if we don't want bread, I'll ask for a credit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Twotravelers1935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food, plenty of choices.”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Didn't expect such a nice restaurant at this out-of-the-way Inn. Stayed at the Inn with my sisters and elderly mom - we were all impressed with the excellent selection, and when the food arrived we were even more pleased. Service was great, everyone was super-friendly and helpful. The Salmon Dijon was excellent, as was the Chicken Florentine. Everything arrived in a timely manner and the presentation was beautiful. View of the gorgeous sunset just added to the pleasant atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nuvo also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing