We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good view, great service, decent food”
Review of Scuttlebutts - CLOSED

Scuttlebutts
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good view, great service, decent food”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Scuttlebutts is located right across from the water and offers beautiful views of Geneva Lake while dining. We tried the fish fry and turkey club which were very good. The meals were well priced and had generous portions. Our waitress was fantastic. We will return!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank teachmehow2bucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    67
    40
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
134 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lake view restaurant”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This is a family restaurant. Not much atmosphere inside, but you are able to look over the lake. Reasonable priced and the food was good.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank queenie067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
112 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Breakfast with a lake view”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Three of us had a late breakfast inside. Had a great waitress, friendly and always smiling. I had the California omelet with fruit. It was very good. We all enjoyed our food, the service, and the view. Would go back again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Soushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
“Disappointing service and average food”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Great view but nothing else redeeming here. Even though there was no line and more empty tables than occupied the staff only grudgingly agreed to put two tables together for the six of us. Instead they wanted to put us in the farthest back dark corner. Even after they agreed to put together two small tables for us they ended up making us wait for a larger round table to finish up their meal and then put us there. Food was very average at best and a little misleading/labeled on the menu. The menu says buffalo wings but they are really barbeque wings, the chicken tenders are labeled chicken lips for what purpose I do not know as they are just plain chicken strips.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vikingwolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Plaines
Level Contributor
73 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“SKIP THE TOURIST SPOTS AND STOP HERE!!!”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We have been going to Scuttlebutts for years. It is family owned with a wonderful unusual menu. Not your standard fare but there is some of that too. The views are truly beautiful of the lake, the servers try very hard and the presentation and food is very good. Not your run of the mill tourist trap. Try it and love it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TreedDesPlaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scuttlebutts also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing