We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I have a room reserved for the 26th! Yes I'm that excited.”
Review of Lazy Cloud Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lazy Cloud Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Lake Geneva B&B and Inns
1 review
“I have a room reserved for the 26th! Yes I'm that excited.”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I am writing this in hopes that the 13 of 175 reviews that are bad may consider how ridiculous your complaints seem. The suites look lovely. The green carpet makes it appear rustic and cozy. Would a 2pm check in time be great sure! Plan around it and eat an early dinner most places offer a 3pm check in anyhow so what's the big deal. The wine glasses are plastic! Wow! If that is a concern atleast you and your significant other were able to focus your negative energy towards something trivial instead of one another. " Its far away from the lake" Its inbetween two of them and what couples getaway is in a city. Get away being the idea here. "the patio furniture was dirty" unless it had been part of a mud fight perhaps you could wipe it off.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyhage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    36
    6
    9
    8
See reviews for
Families
0
221
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My husband and I spent two nights in the Dreamcatcher Suite in to celebrate our anniversary. Based on photos from the website we had high hopes for a romantic getaway in a quaint room set on a spacious property. What we experienced was a spacious room in need of many updates in a strip motel just steps from a state HWY.

Overall, the accommodations, "amenities" and experience do not support the room rate.

Pros:
Spacious room
Private entry and private deck
Whirlpool tub and fireplace
Delicious pie from the Elegant farmer!
Small number of guest rooms
Pleasant desk staff

Cons:
Outdated décor throughout; fake flowers/vines over the bed and on the walls are extremely dusty
All towels provided were well worn, faded and had pulled threads all over
Wine glasses provided were well worn, cracked plastic (plastic is fine - they were just in need of being replaced)
Property located close to state HWY - more road noise than expected based on website photos

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MKL-WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bartlett, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Shared a quiet evening with my husband in the Heavenly Nights Suite at the Inn. Charming for a one-night stay. A few minutes outside of the downtown area but we knew that when we booked. Would have been nice if it was a little further away from Hwy 50, but they've done a nice job of building up the fish pond/garden area to keep noise down. Since it was a short stay and very hot, we didn't explore the rest of the grounds. Desk staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. I would suggest a few upgrades for the rooms as some of the décor felt a bit dated. We did report an ant situation to the front desk when we left and she mentioned that they had just sprayed outside but it would be reported to their maintenance team. We opted to have breakfast in LG for the day so cannot comment on the provided muffin basket for breakfast. Cute & quaint and with a bit of updating can see this B&B going to the next level.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed a little while back and wanted to write a review. Charming, cute little B&B. Not downtown Lake Geneva, so you have to drive back to town, but that did not really bother us. Desk staff was nice. Fish pond garden area was very nice but right up on Hwy 50, so car noise is not super relaxing. Room was clean, (minus ants) but old! Patio furniture was dirty so I did not sit down. I think for the money, fancy upgrades like better bathrobes, towels, plates/glasses, soaps, shampoos, etc. should have been provided. The dark green carpet and dark bedding just makes the whole room dark and old. There were lamps, but I still thought the room was dark when I was trying to read. I also thought the tv area was cramped and awkward. Bathroom was very small and the cushion toilet seat creaps me out. I did not eat the muffins for breakfast because it wasn't my choice for a healthy breakfast.

However, it did provide us with a night away to be with each other and take a break from everyday life. That is something we needed and were thankful for. I can see how a visit to this B&B is wonderful for many.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiLiz05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeGenevaLady, Owner at Lazy Cloud Inn, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Dear guests,
We really appreciate all reviews, as each one lends its own perspective and helps us evaluate our services. Thank you for taking the time to write yours! Your stay was actually at our Inn, not the B&B, which is eight minutes further west in a more secluded area.

Hunter green is one of our favorite carpet colors, as it lends itself to a woodsy theme, which many of our suites feature, and is basically a neutral and far more practical than a light carpet. Everyone’s taste, of course, is not the same, or it would be a very boring world! We’re sorry that you had trouble reading and will look into the positioning and wattage of the lamps. Thanks for the tip.

Our decks are at the back of the building and can only be accessed by going through the suites, making it impossible to constantly monitor them for blowing leaves, dirt from rain, etc., as we can the front of the building. Because the decks are right up against the woods, it doesn’t take long (sometimes just a matter of minutes) for things to get messy, especially if it is windy. We apologize for your not being able to use your patio furniture. Our staff would have been happy to come and wipe it off for you; or if you didn’t want someone coming through the suite, we would have provided you with cloths, etc. We want everyone to be able to enjoy the outdoors!!

The Inn does not have a kitchen or common area like the B&B does, so the breakfast menu (we are subject to license restrictions) and dishes provided differ from what we can offer at the B&B, which does have a kitchen. We can only offer juice, pastries, and muffins, plus a coffee maker. We are still able to offer the micro popcorn, hot chocolate, cappuccino, and chocolates, along with the choice of caramel apple pie for two or chocolate-dipped strawberries, and the choice of wine or non-alcoholic beverages, as we do at the B&B. The dorm-size refrigerator provides storage for any other food items you might want to bring; a microwave is also provided. We list the differing breakfast menus on our website, so guests can be prepared.

The TV areas in the five Inn suites that have TV’s are in the narrower area between the bedroom area and the fireplace-whirlpool area. They are positioned in the middle to allow for TV viewing from your whirlpool and bed, as well as from the couch in front of the TV; so yes, the actual TV area itself is not spacious, but it is versatile.

We are pleased that you were able to have a night away to enjoy each other’s company and that you chose to spend it at Lazy Cloud. We hope you get another chance soon!! Again, we thank you for voicing your opinions, and most of all, for being our guests.

Carol Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sycamore, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

After searching for weeks for a B&B in Lake Geneva, I finally settled on the Lazy Cloud and chose to stay at the Inn because it is a little closer to the town of LG than the B&B was. My husband and I spent one night in the Dreamcatcher suite at the Lazy Cloud Inn. We loved our time there. Each suite has a 2 person hot tub that they surround with tea light candles and provide bubble bath for. The tub was amazing, but you need to be careful because it was very slippery! It was also very relaxing! There is also a gas fireplace in each suite, but because it was such a warm night, we did not use it. Only a few of the rooms have TVs with DVD/VHS players. The Dreamcatcher does have a flatscreen TV, but we never even turned it on. The entire place is set up for romance with lovely decor, adjustable lighting throughout, King sized canopy bed, CD player with CDs available (I recommend you bring your own since the ones in our room skipped), a private balcony with seating, tables, and a swing that face the woods behind the Inn, and of course the hot tub! If you're looking for a hot, homemade breakfast, you will not get that there. They provides muffins and orange juice in the little refrigerator in the room for breakfast. They also have a microwave, coffee maker, coffee, hot chocolate, and microwave popcorn. When you arrive, you receive your choice of chocolate dipped strawberries or caramel apple pie. We chose the pie. We also chose the white zinfandel wine that they offer. The brand is Charles Shaw. I'm not much of a drinker and even less of a wine drinker, but I thought it was ok. However, normally I get buzzed on one glass, yet I drank 3/4 of the bottle myself and didn't get drunk!
The bed was very comfortable and I slept very soundly, but maybe that was the wine and the hot tub! ;) We took our breakfast out to the balcony to eat and enjoyed the view of the woods and listening to the birds and crickets. The only bad thing is the noise from the highway out front. There is road construction going on and the trucks were extremely loud. I could keep going on, but I will just say that overall, it was a wonderful visit and we definitely plan to stay there again (and again!). PS. If you plan to go in the summer, take bug spray if you want to sit out on the balcony or walk the grounds as the mosquitoes are bad this year and the entire back yard is wooded.

Room Tip: Each suite has a different theme/decor and if the other rooms are as nice as the one we had, you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeGenevaLady, Owner at Lazy Cloud Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Thanks for searching! We are so glad that you found us and enjoyed the atmosphere and amenities during your stay!! A gold star to you for not having turned on your TV, proving once again that romance is alive and well at Lazy Cloud!!

Yes, that construction noise is annoying when you are outside enjoying your deck; fortunately, they don’t work evenings; we will all celebrate when the work is completed! As for the mosquitoes, they are absolutely unbelievable this year. Wish we could assign them a suite of their own, so they would go off and leave us alone! Since that is not going to happen, we have bug spray in our office for any guests who need it (along with sunburn lotion,etc.).

Your wonderful comments are very much appreciated--we look forward to being able to thank you in person next time you come, which we hope is very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Effingham, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Really enjoyed the quiet settings the room (Northwoods) was great very nice romantic getaway. The one problem was the breakfast; if you want a sugar overload it would be good. But I cannot have sugar in the morning (health reasons) and had a very hard time finding something to eat. Not a healthy breakfast by any means. Overall was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cndelu88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeGenevaLady, Owner at Lazy Cloud Inn, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
We’re happy that you enjoyed your first stay with us! Yes, there are many sweet items on our breakfast menu, including our trademark hot pecan sticky buns (our bed & breakfast is both peaceful and potentially fattening)! We do, however, offer fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs, string cheese, bagels, homemade granola, and healthy cold cereals in addition to the less healthy choices. Also included in every accommodation are dorm-sized refrigerators that can be used to stock any necessary additional dietary requirements. We thank you so much for your review; they are always appreciated, and we hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coal City IL
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I was looking for a romantic break from reality to celebrate our 11the wedding anniversary. Did a Google search and found The Lazy Cloud. There were two options the” Inn” and the “Bed and Breakfast”. Stayed at the Inn and found it to be charming. Our room was the "Brookside"-the decor was sooo cute-very private and quiet! All the added touches made it so we never had to leave the room. Loved the fact we could get cheese and crackers for snacking for the nominal fee of $4. The bottle of wine, chocolate covered strawberries, bubble bath and candles were certainly nice little extras!! Walked in the wooded area and chilled out in the hammock listening to the birds and enjoying the sunshine. No TV or phone was also a plus!The next day we decided to scope out the Lazy Cloud Bed and Breakfast for future getaways. The woman in the office (wish I remembered her name) was very helpful!!! She showed us a few of the rooms and gave us an excellent recommendation for lunch. BTW-I shy away from bed and breakfast because I like privacy. This would not be what I consider a bed and breakfast. Each of the rooms has a private entrance and there are no adjoining hallways. It is more like a lodge with cabins. This setting is more rural and very picturesque. If you are staying at the Inn- the rooms further from the highway would be my choice (the Brookside was away from the highway). We do plan to go back and will probably try the B & B next time. Highly recommend for a romantic night or two away!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terese W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeGenevaLady, Owner at Lazy Cloud Inn, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
It was our pleasure to help you celebrate your 11th anniversary!! Thank you for your kind comments. We do find that the nominal charge for the honor bar snack items is very much appreciated, along with the rest of the extras. The lack of hallways in both locations is a real plus, as it provides a much quieter, more private atmosphere. Our birds love to sing for our guests—please come back and listen to them soon!! They will be waiting to see you again, and so will we!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
0.5 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#2 of 15 in Lake Geneva
357 reviews
3.4 mi away
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
#9 of 15 in Lake Geneva
446 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mill Creek Hotel
Mill Creek Hotel
#5 of 15 in Lake Geneva
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
566 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#6 of 15 in Lake Geneva
769 reviews
3.5 mi away
Maxwell Mansion
Maxwell Mansion
#8 of 15 in Lake Geneva
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Cloud Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Cloud Inn

Property: Lazy Cloud Inn
Address: W4033 State Road 50, Lake Geneva, WI 53147-3700
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lazy Cloud Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lazy Cloud Inn is a small getaway hotel for couples. There is a whirlpool for two with a view of your fireplace in every suite. A private deck on each suite. There are many complimentary amenities, scented bubble bath, bathrobes, refrigerator and microwave, bedside chocolates and even, champagne and chocolate dipped strawberries. We try to anticipate your every need. We are located about three minutes west of Lake Geneva. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Lazy Cloud Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lazy Cloud Hotel Lake Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing