We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel even out of season!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good hotel even out of season!”
Reviewed 21 November 2010

I flew into Chicago to visit my partner who was working by Lake Geneva and this was the hotel that he'd been staying at. So for one night we stayed here and it was fine. Basic but very clean and comfortable with friendly staff. The location for Lake Geneva couldn't be better as it faces the lake so the views are fantastic.
For breakfast I advice walking around the corner to the main street for a choice of fantastic meals in a great diner.

This place must be fantastic in good weather, unfortunately we had snow but then it was November!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lady_britts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harborshoreslg, Sales Associate at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Dear lady_britts,

Thank you for taking the time to review Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva. We are happy that you found our accommodations to your liking and that our staff was friendly and helpful during your short stay. It's great that you were able to take advantage of our close proximity to downtown Lake Geneva and try some of our great restaurants! I would highly recommend a return trip to Lake Geneva in the warmer months so that you are able to take in the full experience and we look forward to having you stay with us at Harbor Shores again!

Thank you,

Laura Zientek
Sales Associate, Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    143
    67
    25
    11
See reviews for
87
132
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, IL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

We were somewhat hesitant after reading some bad reviews on this property. But decided to give it a try anyways. As the pricing was great for a Saturday in Lake Geneva.

The ONLY bad thing I can say is that for some reason the there was only one door on the sliding closet doors (keeps you from leaving anything! LOL)

Everything was clean. The staff was very nice. Walking distance to downtown.

I'm not sure if Best Western still had interest in this property but I was never able to stay before because of their two night stay policy on the weekends (even during an off season time of year). I am so happy that single night stays are allowed now.

The stocked kitchenette was a nice touch.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brat_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harborshoreslg, Sales Associate at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear Brat_5,

Thank you for taking the time to review Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva. We are pleased that you chose to give Harbor Shores a try for your stay in Lake Geneva. We are no longer a Best Western Hotel and we no longer require a 2 night minimum as most places require, which we have found make trip planning much easier for our guests! We are very happy that you enjoyed your time and our accomodates and look forward to the opportunity to serve you again soon!

Thank you,

Laura Zientek
Sales Associate, Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Just returned from 3 days; 2 nights spent in beautiful Lake Geneva. It was our first trip to this location. The Harbor Shores Hotel was everything and more for our stay. We had a great 5th floor lakeside view with a balcony. We watched the sunset both nights we were there. We drove around one afternoon and there wasn't another hotel anywhere that would have had a better location. Thanks for a wonderful stay. Also ate dinner both nights at the attached Ginos Chicago Pizza and that was very good too.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank takeatripsoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harborshoreslg, Sales Associate at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear takeatripsoon,

Thank you for taking the time to review Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva. We couldn't be happier to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. While it is slightly more to stay in a lakeview room, our guests find it well worth the few extra dollars to be able to take in the amazing, unobstructed views of Geneva Lake and the beautiful sunsets!

Thank you for choosing Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva! We look forward to hosting you on your next trip to Lake Geneva!

Sincerely,

Laura Zientek
Sales Associate, Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

It's located in a convenient place, but, it's old and dirty. Definitely the owner doesn't care or the manager is not doing his/her job. We booked a non-smoking room and the welcome when entered was a strong cigarette odor.
The breakfast is a joke, really, not even 1 banana for something natural and healthy.
Very expensive for the service.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esmeshakti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harborshoreslg, Sales Associate at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear Esmeshakti,

Thank you for taking the time to review Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva. We sincerely apologize for your discomfort during your stay. We are constantly striving to improve and update our guest rooms making them as comfortable as we possibly can for our guests. Had you notified our front desk of the smell upon arriving to your room, we would have been happy to offer you new accomodations.

We apologize for your disappointment in our continential breakfast. In the future if you choose to give Harbor Shores another chance to host your stay, our front desk staff would be happy to offer suggestions for breakfast that are just a short, beautiful walk from our front door!

Thank you again for you time and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Laura Zientek
Sales Associate, Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2010

We had a beautiful day to enjoy Lake Geneva. Our room was great with a super view of the lake and sitting on our balcony was a plus. Harbor Shores is so close to the downtown, boat tour docks and the walking path along the shoreline. Especially enjoyed a couple lunches at Egg Harbor Cafe, the "Mailboat" tour and gawking at the mansions on a two mile walk on the shoreline path to the left of the hotel. A must do!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WisconsinRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harborshoreslg, Sales Associate at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear WisconsinRetired,

Thank you for taking the time to review Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to enjoy our close proximity to the downtown area and experience some of the activities offered so close by! Treating yourself to a lakeview room is definitely a plus when staying with us as our unobstructed views of Geneva Lake cannot be beat!

Thank you again and we look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Lake Geneva!

Sincerely,

Laura Zientek
Sales Associate, Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
302 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Nothing fancy about this hotel, but it was pleasant and had everything you need for an extended stay. The room was fine, had a queen bed and a sleep sofa; mini-kitchenette with microwave, fridge, sink, cupboards with dishes etc. The bed was comfortable; bathroom was well equipped except the towels were kind of small and thin. I didn't request a view so didn't have any of the complaints I've seen in other reviews about inadequate scenery. Rate was very reasonable, I thought. ($113)
Common areas were typical beach resort hotel - lots of kids running around, screaming, playing on the luggage carts (not the hotel's fault!); jewelry vendors in the lobby; slow elevators. The continental breakfast was basic, nothing special - Froot Loops and bagels. I think they had make-your-own-waffles.
Staff were a mix: One was great, really worked hard to help me get the recalcitrant computer in the lobby going. On the other hand, when I checked out and told the guy the remote needed batteries, he ignored me to help another guest. I said "Did you hear what I said about the remote?" and he was all "Oh no, sorry, did you say something?"

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodieOnAHarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harborshoreslg, Sales Associate at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear FoodieOnAHarley,

Thank you for taking the time to review Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva. We are happy that your were comfortable in the accomodations we provide and that you found our rates reasonable for your stay. The summer months are a very busy time in Lake Geneva and full of families and guests young and old enjoying our close proximity to the beach and other area activities!

I find it unfortuate that you felt ignored by one of our staff members and sincerely apologize. Please know that the very few customer service issues we do come across are addressed with staff immediatly. We hope you choose Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva again for your next stay in the Lake Geneva area!

Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Laura Zientek
Sales Associate, Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntley, IL
Level Contributor
147 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2010

This is one of our favorite places to stay. It is good value, has a view of the lake, is clean and comfortable. having a microwave and refrigerator are handy. Breakfast was decent. The location is perfect for walking into town and to restaurants and the lake. Don't miss the tour boats. The outdoor pool is nice for the summer and they have an indoor pool for inclement weather. Gino's East restaurant attached to the hotel is convient and well priced.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oceanside-Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harborshoreslg, Sales Associate at Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear oceanside-Mary,

Thank you for taking the time to review Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva.We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our rates and accomodations are to your liking! One of the many benefits of staying at Harbor Shores is our close proximity to downtown Lake Geneva and all it has to offer!

Thank you for choosing us to host your stay and we hope that you choose Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva for your next visit to Lake Geneva. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,

Laura Zientek
Sales Associate, Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
0.1 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#9 of 15 in Lake Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#3 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maxwell Mansion
Maxwell Mansion
#5 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mill Creek Hotel
Mill Creek Hotel
#6 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Suites
Bella Vista Suites
#11 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva

Property: Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Address: 300 Wrigley Dr, Lake Geneva, WI 53147-2049
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toll Free Reservations: 888-746-7371 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Shores On Lake Geneva Hotel Lake Geneva
Best Western Hotel Lake Geneva
Best Western Lake Geneva
Lake Geneva Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing