We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveller rating
166
37
11
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
166
37
11
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam shower speak easy stable room bocce ball red velvet grant room cabaret show sister property tour of the property unique hotel fire pit looked beautiful movie room romantic weekend other guests two blocks dinner reservations
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 227 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

Wonderful night in this beautiful mansion! Very helpful staff. Great bar and speakeasy and pool!
Super location, just park and walk to the lake and downtown! Easy drive from Chicago suburbs .Will definitely be coming back!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Skiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew F, Owner at Maxwell Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review- I personally appreciate it as every review gives me and my team the chance to improve the experiences of every guest.
Cheers- Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2018 via mobile

Amazing hotel! Gorgeous rooms, spacious, quiet, relaxing get away. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our weekend away. Had a couple specialty cocktails at the Apothecary Bar, which we enjoyed poolside.
And explored the SpeakEasy at night. Great company, seamless checkin. Great experience.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank jcgonring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

This mansion has such charm and wonderful ambience! The check-in was quick and easy! We also booked a meal at Baker House, which I highly recommend for great food and beautiful views of the Lake. The Baker House is only 2 blocks away! If the weather had been nicer, we would have walked. It is wonderful that this property is only a few blocks from the lake and downtown Lake Geneva. Lots of great places to walk to and enjoy the views of the lake. We also took a boat tour and had a wonderful time! SpeakEasy at night was fun and the live music was fantastic. We also enjoyed the Apothecary and movie room for a bit. Excellent service and beautiful rooms and grounds! Highly recommend for a romantic getaway!

Room Tip: We had a first floor carriage house room and the upstairs tenants were a bit heavy footed in the morning. Otherwise, great room!
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JessicaMay6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

Historically, quite a story. 1856 mansion that is gorgeous. Many areas on the grounds to sit and absorb the ambience. Pool is very nice and secluded. The room in the carriage house was outstanding. Kudos to the housekeeping staff. Shower, bathroom, double jetted tub, floors, mirrors - everything was very, very clean. Great mattress and pillows. The only thing I would add is a small table between the two comfy chairs. Nowhere to put our beverage while chatting. There' a beautiful sitting area on the 2nd floor porch to drink coffee and relax. The screen doors on each door are old timey, they creak or moan when opening and closing. Although they're new, they remind me of grandma's porch. How many hotels have screen doors? Two blocks to the lake, walking distance to all downtown restaurants and the Riviera.

Room Tip: The 2nd floor Carriage House rooms are quaint with a cool outside porch.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank memerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

We just returned from an overnight stay at the Maxwell Mansion. What a relaxing yet elegant experience! The mansion was built in 1856 and the owner and staff have gone to great lengths to keep the mansion true historically but oh, so comfortable! Great bed and linens, beautiful room yet far from stodgy and overly-formal.close to shopping and the lake, too.
We're looking forward to returning!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank JaybeeNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews