We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful old lodge”
Review of Gateway Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Land O' Lakes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gateway Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Land O' Lakes
Fort Collins
Level 6 Contributor
386 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Wonderful old lodge”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I grew up in Land O Lakes and have always loved this lodge. It has charm and yes it is old, but you can't go wrong here. Beautiful pool, suites, with frigs, flat screen TV's and lots of room, all for $80/night.! There is no better deal around. The complaint from the other guest is truly unfounded. If you are expecting the Hilton or any other impersonal hotel ,do not stay here. Land O lakes is a very small town around 300 people, and this lodge is like going home to family, friendly,comfortable,with all your basic amentities, in the beautiful North woods.

Room Tip: Get a suite on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzieFortCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    12
    17
    3
    4
See reviews for
20
24
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, WI
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We spent a couple days 30 years ago on our honeymoon and wanted to see if anything changed. Not really. Big beautiful stone fireplace greets you as you walk into the lodge with the medal logo of a mama bear with her two cubs above the mantle. They did remodel the rooms and they are very comfortable. Available in studios and suites. We stayed in a suite with and living area, table and chairs, kitchen area and a separate bedroom and bath. We ate at the restaurant located in the lodge. It was very good. Slow serves. There is also a bar at the lodge. Pool, hot tub and sauna available but closed for repair at the time we were there. Airport and trap shooting located at the lodge. Land o Lakes is a quiet small town away from the tourists area to the south. We forgot why we like it there and will be back again.

Room Tip: Calll the hotel directly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamayoder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Gateway Lodge is a jewel in the Northwoods. With an 18 hole golf course and a gun club there's plenty to do right on the property. The gun club features 4 traps and a sporting clays course and is open daily from 10 to 3. You can also get instruction and rent a gun if you wish. The pool and hot tub are in a separate building just a few feet from the lodge.
Built in 1938, Gateway provides a wonderful rustic atmosphere with it's log and beam construction. The Greatroom features a huge natural stone fireplace with couches and easy chairs and tables and contains many trophy mounts of game animals including full size black bears and a polar bear. There is also a great restaurant and lounge on site.
The room rates are very reasonable and we found the property to always be clean and well maintained. There is also a friendly staff on duty 24/7.
This was our third stay and we will be coming back again next summer.

Room Tip: Some of the beds can be a little hard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjy2k00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Our family , 22 of us , ranging in age from 2 yrs to 76 yrs ,vacationing in the Lando area, didn't stay at the lodge, but had dinner recently during the week at Gateway restaurant. We talked with the manager a couple days ahead to see if if was appropriate to bring children. He asked us to call a day in advance, to let him know how many children , how many would have the "all you can eat shrimp special", and how many would order of f the menu, so he would schedule extra help to accommodate our group.
We had 5 :30 reservation.. WE were seated immediately apon arrival., and I mentioned to the manager that .I was concerned that I didn't want the children to disturb the other guests. He responded not to worry ,that they would take all the orders, and serve the children first, so the parents could help the kids, and then bring the adult orders immediatly following. This worked out great for our group. The waite staff was good, the food was hot and moderately priced. After the children and a few of the adults were finished eating, we took the little kids to the lobby where they enjoyed all the animals on display. while their parents finished their dinner.
It will be a year before we get back to Lando again, but I know we'll have dinner at Gate way restaurant.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

From the moment we pulled in the parking lot, I wanted to turn around and run the other way. Due to the fact that we were in town for a family obligation, there was no time to drive into the town of Eagle River to find another hotel. We were only staying one night and that was WAY too much time at this awful place. From the moment we stepped into the lobby I could smell the old musty stench of mold everywhere. When we finally did get to our room, I did not even want to open my bags for fear that something might crawl into them. We found bugs in our room and the bathroom was utterly DISGUSTING! Every time I went to use the washroom I felt as though I might fall through the floor. The floor was rotten because of mold and the toilet was literally tipping over!! I am told that each room is a privately owned condo, so if you are going to stay at this place (which i HIGHLY recommend that you do not do) I would take a look at the place at the time of check-in to be sure this is where you want to stay. As for me, I will NEVER return.

Room Tip: Do not stay here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JJK1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpena
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2011

The motel was awesome! Excellent service. Rustic, but far from primitive. Fabulous food in their restaurant! Quiet. Wonderful shower with lots of pressure and hot water! Super comfortable bed. We felt the suite was a super value. We're already planning our return trip.

Room Tip: Second floor was very quiet with no sounds from overhead or the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimarkim52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberty Twp OH
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2011

This Lodge was wonderful. The staff wonderful and the room was excellent. There is a great restaurant in the lodge plus breakfast in the lobby. We only wish we could have stayed longer we were only passing through. I would highly recommend Gateway Lodge.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkincaid69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Land O' Lakes
14.7 mi away
Wild Eagle Lodge
Wild Eagle Lodge
#2 of 12 in Eagle River
170 reviews
16.2 mi away
Days Inn Eagle River
Days Inn Eagle River
#4 of 12 in Eagle River
295 reviews
15.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Derby Inn
Best Western Plus Derby Inn
#1 of 12 in Eagle River
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
#5 of 12 in Eagle River
63 reviews
17.2 mi away
Super 8 Eagle River
Super 8 Eagle River
#7 of 12 in Eagle River
215 reviews
17.9 mi away
Eagle River Inn & Resort
Eagle River Inn & Resort
#10 of 12 in Eagle River
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Lodge

Property: Gateway Lodge
Address: 4103 County Road B, Land O' Lakes, WI 54540-9636
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Land O' Lakes
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Land O' Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rustic lodge built in 1938. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing