We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing”
Review of Gateway Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Land O' Lakes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gateway Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Land O' Lakes
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Very dated room, does not look like anything has been updated since the 1950's. Walls and creaky floors/ceilings are paper thin and you can hear everything at all hours. There was a wedding in the restaurant and bar so we had to go out & find other options for dinner. The pool area was ok although the hot tub was closed and very green/brown. Overall disappointed that three amenities were not available and the staff did not seem to be very helpful, will not return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    12
    17
    3
    4
See reviews for
20
24
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We stayed there on the weekend of April 5-7 2013. We loved the place. If you're looking for glam and ritz this isn't the place. If you're looking for a really cool old northwoods lodge, with a ton of history and nostalgia this is the place for you. Everything was exceptionally clean and well cared for. In the dining room and lobby there was not one cob web in the high ceiling beams and no dust anywhere. The pool was clean and the temperature was perfect. The beds were coomfortable and clean. The shower had awesome pressure. I would love to see more meals served in the restaurant. A simple breakfast and lunch menu would be perfect. Dinner was good.The continental breakfast was just ok. Thats the only reason I didn't give the lodge five circles. Overall an excellent weekend!

Room Tip: The suites are much bigger than the studios. If you have bigger kids you might want the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigDaddyWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

My family lives in the Northwoods of Minnesota but this 'Northwoods of Wisconsin and the U.P. of Michigan' was wonderful. We plan on visiting again next year and the Gateway is the place to visit and stay at. We wish we had more time to take in the area, but two days weren't near enough. The lodge is old, the way a great lodge should be- steeped in history. Very comfortable beds, the rooms were warm, and our wing was very quiet. Nice hiking away from the lodge, lots of roads to travel thru the autumn woods and good dining abounds, not only in the grand 'ole dining room at the lodge but local cafe's as well. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Looks as though the area is prime for ruffed grouse hunting, deer hunting both archery and gun, and fishing has to be big because wherever we went, there's a lake, ...or two, ...or three. The Sylvania Wilderness area is right there for fantastic canoeing too.

Room Tip: Plan your trip in advance if your going for an outdoors experience. There's way too much to do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoFishtheBWCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Park, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

This is a charming, if not dated lodge in the Northlands. They are keeping a firm upper lip, but the rooms are getting old. They even suggest to purchase a room as a condo for $32,000. The furniture is showing age, the bathrooms are about 1950, and the kitchenette with their metal cabinets are about the same age. Great grounds with a 9 hole golf course. If you go knowing what to expect, it is not as bad as being surprised. The bar and dinning room are excellent. Also the Main room is very rustic and hunterish. Great stuff. Also, they have a Gun Club on site. To say the least it is unique.

Room Tip: Probably go with the suite, rather than the studio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ewhite0640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stay here a couple days a summer with family who own there. This is a rustic northwoods lodge feel place with nice clean rooms and a really friendly staff. The pool is clean and the new management in the restaurant has made a great difference.
My only complaint would be better wifi. You have to go to the lobby to connect. I look forward to going back next summer!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Stayed here while in the area for a wedding. Upon entering the lobby I was very excited. A real northwoods resort, the kind I remember from my childhood when traveling with my parents and stopping for a meal here there and everywhere. Aside from the lobby and the bar/restaurant, there rest of the facility demands updating. Poor wireless coverage (could only get it in the lobby) no cell phone coverage (!) and the rooms are very dated and tired looking. Also, there was an odor.....it was definitely dog urine the entryway to the wing of the hotel I stayed in not sure what the others were.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bemidjigreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We had a few days for a getaway this spring and seen on Discover Wisconsin this lodge. Their rates was 50% off so we stayed 2 days in April. The lodge was old and done in the traditional log cabin look. Also , their lobby was filled with mounted heads and a large fireplace. The people where real friendly and helpful and the restraunt had very good food with specials every night. The only thing is that most of the business in the area where closed for change over season from winter to summer business and not so many places to eat. There is a shooting range there and golf course along with a indoor pool and hot tub. Up the road into Upper Michigan there is a casino and park areas you can get out and walk for miles. There is Wi-fi and cable tv along with laundry machines . If you like to fish there is lots and lots of lakes to go to. I like it because it was like going back in time to the good old days. Eagle River where the snowmobles have the big rally and races is down the road south of this lodge about 20 miles. they also, offer a continental breakfast of bagles and rolls and coffee which is 24 availible.

Room Tip: In off season you can get a nice sutite for under $50 a night and there is a stove refrigerator and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wiscgo4girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Land O' Lakes
14.7 mi away
Wild Eagle Lodge
Wild Eagle Lodge
#2 of 12 in Eagle River
170 reviews
16.2 mi away
Days Inn Eagle River
Days Inn Eagle River
#4 of 12 in Eagle River
294 reviews
15.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Derby Inn
Best Western Plus Derby Inn
#1 of 12 in Eagle River
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
Edgewater Inn & Cottages
#5 of 12 in Eagle River
63 reviews
17.2 mi away
Super 8 Eagle River
Super 8 Eagle River
#7 of 12 in Eagle River
215 reviews
17.9 mi away
Eagle River Inn & Resort
Eagle River Inn & Resort
#10 of 12 in Eagle River
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Lodge

Property: Gateway Lodge
Address: 4103 County Road B, Land O' Lakes, WI 54540-9636
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Land O' Lakes
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Land O' Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rustic lodge built in 1938. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing