We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gateway Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Hiawatha Lodge & Resort(Eagle River)(Great Value!)
US$98
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wild Eagle Lodge(Eagle River)(Great Value!)
US$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Derby Inn(Eagle River)(Great Value!)
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
24
13
17
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
13
17
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspolar beardining room was closedcontinental breakfastour honeymoonpull out sofastayed for nightshard boiled eggshot tubgreat place to stayindoor poolstovelobbytaxidermysuitefireplacesnowmobilecondo
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This is a small town hotel. If you're looking for fancy dressed up rooms, this is not your place. Each room is different, some of them are not owned by the hotel, but by a private owner which is why each room is unique. Its a very old building, so you get the very old building creeks, and squeaks. The walls and doors are thin, but we didn't have a problem with noise at all during our stay. They have a nice indoor pool, along with a hot tub and sauna. The Lodge is very proud of its history, and there are many pictures, articles, letters and stories of the history lining the walls. Our room had a king sized bed, a couch with a pull out bed, and a kitchen with sink, small oven, fridge and microwave. It was very basic otherwise, nothing pretty about the room. Décor does not mean much to us, and I can say the room was very clean. We also had the worlds most comfy bed!!!! We did eat at the lodge for their Friday night fish fry. Very good food! We will stay again!

Room Tip: Each room is different, so you may want to check with the front desk to best fit your needs. We stayed in 117. This room is privately owned, very basic however I would ask for it again! There is a kitchenette, a couch with a pull out bed and a king sized bed. The mattress is super soft and very cozy!! The 2nd level is newer, and the walls & doors seemed a bit heavier.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miss_gypsy_garmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Being from California we had no idea what to expect when arriving at an historic lodge in Wisconsin. Our room was quite large, including a small kitchen and eating area. The bathroom was very small. The décor was obviously original and we had a small giggle when we located the TV high up on the wall. It was no more than a 15" screen. The interior hallways are covered with historic photos. Be sure to take the time to view them. Breakfast was quite minimal, basically continental. I think a lot of guests just cook in their rooms. Everyone was very friendly. Gateway Lodge is exactly as billed; an historic, rustic lodge. Definitely not high end, but probably authentic to its era.

Room Tip: There was no hair dryer but when I called the front desk, they immediately brought one up.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Very dated room, does not look like anything has been updated since the 1950's. Walls and creaky floors/ceilings are paper thin and you can hear everything at all hours. There was a wedding in the restaurant and bar so we had to go out & find other options for dinner. The pool area was ok although the hot tub was closed and very green/brown. Overall disappointed that three amenities were not available and the staff did not seem to be very helpful, will not return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We stayed there on the weekend of April 5-7 2013. We loved the place. If you're looking for glam and ritz this isn't the place. If you're looking for a really cool old northwoods lodge, with a ton of history and nostalgia this is the place for you. Everything was exceptionally clean and well cared for. In the dining room and lobby there was not one cob web in the high ceiling beams and no dust anywhere. The pool was clean and the temperature was perfect. The beds were coomfortable and clean. The shower had awesome pressure. I would love to see more meals served in the restaurant. A simple breakfast and lunch menu would be perfect. Dinner was good.The continental breakfast was just ok. Thats the only reason I didn't give the lodge five circles. Overall an excellent weekend!

Room Tip: The suites are much bigger than the studios. If you have bigger kids you might want the suite.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigDaddyWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

My family lives in the Northwoods of Minnesota but this 'Northwoods of Wisconsin and the U.P. of Michigan' was wonderful. We plan on visiting again next year and the Gateway is the place to visit and stay at. We wish we had more time to take in the area, but two days weren't near enough. The lodge is old, the way a great lodge should be- steeped in history. Very comfortable beds, the rooms were warm, and our wing was very quiet. Nice hiking away from the lodge, lots of roads to travel thru the autumn woods and good dining abounds, not only in the grand 'ole dining room at the lodge but local cafe's as well. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Looks as though the area is prime for ruffed grouse hunting, deer hunting both archery and gun, and fishing has to be big because wherever we went, there's a lake, ...or two, ...or three. The Sylvania Wilderness area is right there for fantastic canoeing too.

Room Tip: Plan your trip in advance if your going for an outdoors experience. There's way too much to do. If you want just and 'old sporting lodge' experience, this is the place.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GoFishtheBWCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews