We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
East Farleigh, Maidstone, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Moira J
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Family gathering”
Reviewed 10 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018

The barn was close to Leeds Castle, where we had a family wedding. The swimming pool was clean and warm, had a great time in it. We had 9 adults staying, it was difficult finding enough cutlery etc. The beds on the first floor was really comfortable but the top floor beds were not so great. The outside of the property was fantastic but the inside was clean but a little tired. Alex and her family was lovely and I would definitely stay here again. Some of our party have stayed in places better equipped for the same price, but we all had a great time. I hope this is taken as useful criticism.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2018
Thanks Moira, glad to hear you would come again. We will definitely take on onboard your comments on cutlery and the beds. We have recently renovated the first floor so glad that was likeable and will hopefully have the ground floor/living room renovated by next summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Botswana
Reviewed 30 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
michaelsW...
1 review
“Family Holiday”
Reviewed 6 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We were looking for somewhere to take five adults and five children for a week in the summer holidays and hit the jackpot with the Barn. Alex was lovely and So helpful. The pool, trampoline, swings and tree house meant the children had lots to do combined with days out at Diggerland and a trampoline centre. It was a great week. Thank you Alex

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely pool holiday.”
Reviewed 12 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We all enjoyed our stay at the Barn. The pool Is Great and we were so lucky with the weather being so hot that we all went in every day. there are plenty of chairs and loungers to relax around the pool area, and we had a lot of our meals outside at the table.
Alex was a great host , and was easy to talk to. We didn't meet Alex's children while we stayed as they were away so perhaps it was quieter then normal,even though there were builders in doing an extension they didn't start till 8 am and we hardly heard or saw them.
The house itself while having pretty much all you need was ok . Not the best accommodation we have stayed at but ok. Everything was clean and tidy but the place is tied and could use a bit of updating. The settee's in lounge have seen better days and not that comfortable.
There are a lot of bedrooms to choose from most with an en-suite bathroom and once you have set the shower to right temp all work fine (that we used).
We used the middle floor rooms one double bedroom and the one with 3 beds in as they worked best for us .
Just a couple of things we fill would help.
1) The rooms could all do with a vanity area for the lady's to do there hair or even a desk mirror would have done . ( i had to bring a tall mirror down from upstairs for my wife to do hers)
2) No bedside lamps in double room .( although the way room was set up there was no room for them)
3) A blind of some kind on middle floor landing window would be a help as it was much to warm to close up the doors and the light streams in at 4-5 am on these summer mornings .
In closing I can say that we had a great 3 night break and would recommend this to others in fact a lot of our friends on social media sites after seeing our posts said it looked like we were in the south of France ! Despite any helpful criticisms we may have put in our review we would all love to come again at some time.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Mich...
MONTELEGER, France
1 review
“Lovely house in a quiet place”
Reviewed 7 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

I stayed in family 4 days a the culls barm. We all can say that this is a lovely place for a stay in the countryside. The house is confortable with a large swimming pool witch was still heated when we arrived. I could swim several mornings in a 30° water.
I recommend this location.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Relax6890...
1 review
“Perfect place for family and friends”
Reviewed 3 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The Barn was exactly as described, close to pubs, shops and nearby attractions such as Leeds Castle.
As a holiday home The Barn has been so well thought out that the facilities exceeded our expectations. The heated pool and beautiful grounds are excellent, our grandchildren loved the jungle gym, especially the trapdoor from the tree house! Alex was fabulous, so kind and friendly. Nothing we asked for was too much trouble for her to sort out for us.
We wholeheartedly recommend The Barn and intend to return one day. Thanks Alex.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing