We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic place”

50's American Diner
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$18
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The diner is open friday 5pm til 9pm saturday 12 noon til 9pm and sunday 12 noon til 7pm to book please give us a call the diner has received a 5 star food hygeine rating for the last 11 years and is the highest rating available
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“fantastic place”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I'm not a burger fan but this one was really
great . With a huge amount of chips !!! Shakes and juices are yummy ! Loved
the layout and the atmosphere. A perfect place to have dinner with friends !
Must do if u are in are in the area . Only negative point ... After one of
those meals I need one week of hard work at the gym ....but it s worth it !}

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vale7373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    90
    47
    24
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Incorrect information”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Checked the website for opening times. 12 noon on Fridays. Make a 26 mile journey to the diner and find it closed!!! Check opening times posted on the door. 12 noon. Ring the number given and a recorded message gives Friday opening time as 5pm!!!!!!!! Leave message to say conflict of information is not good enough. We then found a lovely restaurant nearby and while there get a phone call from someone from the diner giving the reason for the diner being closed is because her husband is in hospital. I am very sorry that someone is ill but note that this reason was also used in reply to a review on March 15th. Find it strange that this doesn't prevent the diner opening at 5pm on Friday and also being open on Saturday and Sunday. Feel it would be better to hold your hands up and admit that info is incorrect and needs updating. I have eaten at this diner in the past and found it to be fine but do feel that they need to correct the opening times as it is pointless to have a website that gives out wrong info. I won't be eating here again as the nearby restaurant proved to be perfect in every way. So I should maybe say thank you as we wouldn't have known about it had the diner been open.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shadowmist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Horrid”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

There's nothing American about this place, just and over priced greasie spoon very greasie burgers with no quality to them

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Lee John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Immerse yourself in pure 50s Americana”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The food is good, but the overall experience is outstanding – it’s a sort of ‘living museum’ to America in the 50s. The diner is loaded with authentic memorabilia and the staff dress the part – a fantastic and very different place to eat.

The food is not ‘the best you ever had’ but it is very good. The portion sizes are fairly American – so don’t over order. You will need to book because it is popular, even given the location – a nondescript semi-industrial site in Church Gresley. I think this place would need to open 24 hours a day in the right location.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WestCountryFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nothing but quality.”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Had to drive from Felixstowe to Burton so dropped by this place for a meal.didn't know you had to book a table but the staff found me one all the same.the 10oz rump steak was the most juicy and flavourful I have ever had,the trimmings that came with it were great and the half stack of pancakes and cream were out of this world.
I don't get why this place has poor reviews?the service and the quality of the food is outstanding.
My compliments to the girls,the chef that perfected my steak dinner and to Jeff the owner for knocking up a fantastic and original diner.
Well worth the money and another trip.
10/10 :-) .

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank julesjay95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 50's American Diner also viewed

Swadlincote, Derbyshire
 
Swadlincote, Derbyshire
Hartshorne, Derbyshire
 

Been to 50's American Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing