We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved every minute, try it - you'll love it!”

50's American Diner
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$18
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The diner is open friday 5pm til 9pm saturday 12 noon til 9pm and sunday 12 noon til 7pm to book please give us a call the diner has received a 5 star food hygeine rating for the last 11 years and is the highest rating available
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Loved every minute, try it - you'll love it!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Sons 17th birthday, and chose the best! Delicious food, excellent service and value for money. Atmosphere was brill, I felt I was in America. Definitely will be coming back. Don't be put off by the outside, just wait till you get in.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    89
    47
    24
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“GREAT ATMOSPHERE”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Went to the diner with my family for the 1st time last night - hubby and 2 kids for fathers day. Great food and seriously plenty of it! (and unlimited coffee). Hubby and I had the "Grace Kelly". Will definitely be going again very soon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Totally stuffed !”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Took my 13 yr old and some pals here today. We turned up on spec and took to our seats. Didn't want to get up afterward with the massive burger (I and two others had the "Scooby") and mountains of French fries that we ordered. Milkshakes are just simply a cardiac arrest just waiting to happen, but what the heck, they were simply gorgeous. Staff very eager to please even tho there were 9 of us in our party. What a treat of a place ! !

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Really nice! ”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Went to the diner for valentines day. We loved the food and the milkahakes! Did expect more choice of American sundaes but still enjoyed what we had.
Its quite small so booking advisable. Doesn't look much from the road but definitely worth a visit!

Helpful?
Thank Katie8706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a trip”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The 50's American Diner is in a railroad carriage, and serves American-themed food, like burgers and steaks in a variety of guises. The portions are generous, the staff are very friendly and helpful, and the music is canned 50's and 60's pop. We often go there, and have never been disappointed. The deserts and drinks are also very good (they don't sell alcohol, you can get never-ending coffee, and sarsaparilla, and a multitude of shakes).
The tables are in booths of four, but they don't mind adding one on the end. Check on their website before you go, as they are not open Sundays, Mondays or Tuesdays.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigMickey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theamericandiner, Owner at 50's American Diner, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thankyou for the review and we are really glad you enjoyed your visit its really appreciated and lovely to hear
Our opening hours are Friday 12 noon til 9pm , Saturday 12 noon til 9pm and Sunday 12 noon til 7pm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 50's American Diner also viewed

Swadlincote, Derbyshire
 
Swadlincote, Derbyshire
Hartshorne, Derbyshire
 
Swadlincote, Derbyshire
Swadlincote, Derbyshire
 

Been to 50's American Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing