We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Punta Islita
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights for our honeymoon and it was such an amazing experience. Upon arrival, Luis greeted us with a drink in hand (great start) and gave us a complementary upgrade to a Casita with a plunge pool and a view to die for. The restaurant service was amazing along with it's food.

Everything about Punta Islita is absolutely incredible. The staff was the nicest I've ever been around and I could tell they were all genuine. I'm ready to move there and ask for a job at this hotel.

I want to send a special thanks to the best bar tender of all time, Miguel. The wife and I had great conversations with him and even took a mixology class with him. He's someone I can call a friend in a short amount of time. If you read this Miguel, Danny and Maria say hello from California! Todavia te debo la botella Gentleman Jack que te prometi.

Thanks again to everyone for making our honeymoon an experience of a lifetime.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 49ersDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Greetings Dan and thank you so much for giving us the honor to be your special honeymoon paradise. We are delighted to learn that everything was perfect and in full accordance with Costa Rica's signature friendship. We genuinely appreciate your comments in this forum. Especially your thoughtful mention of so many wonderful members of our hospitality team. They will be thrilled to read your comments! Warmest regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (989)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

385 - 391 of 989 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

My husband and I left Punta Islita yesterday. We went to celebrate our 10th anniversary. It was perfect! It more than exceeded our expectations. We were over-the-moon happy that we chose it.

The attentive, genuine and kind customer service started before we got there with a call to make sure we were making our way OK (we took a wrong turn and more than three hours to get there). Marvin greeted us in the parking lot with cool, refreshing towels and set us up with a cocktail at the poolside bar while they got us checked in. The tension started melting away. Then we got to our beautiful room with it's super comfy bed, big patio, hot tub, incredible view and hammock. We had a great dinner and spent the evening gazing at the stars which were so bright and clear...so unlike Dallas.

Throughout the week we experienced great hospitality and a good mix of activities and downtime. Spa was great. Zip line is on the property and the guides were awesome. We felt perfectly safe. Loved the fishing trip we took - we caught several tuna, got to take in the gorgeous coastline and saw humpback whales and sea turtles!

Activities aside, we loved seeing and hearing the wildlife all around the hotel property. We'd take daily walks - down to Islita and around the property. We spent plenty of time at the pool and beach bars. It was great being there in the off season. No crowds. Beautiful storms one or two afternoons or evenings. And GREEN everywhere! There was plenty of space at the beach and pool bars and sunburns weren't a problem! When we weren't reading/napping, we got to chat with Briner and Miguel a lot. Loved them! Such fun and nice people who were generous about sharing what life's like in Costa Rica.

One caution to others considering Punta Islita. The drive is harder than you might think. Streets aren't labeled. As you get closer to the hotel, they aren't paved either. On the flip side, it's also wonderful that the hotel is so remote. It was heavenly to feel completely removed from the real world! Just call the hotel and get really good directions (or even better, arrange transport) before you go.

I miss it so much!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Katy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Katy -What an inspired review! Congratulations on your tenth anniversary. Please continue to embrace love, life, and travel with such joyful intensity. It was a true honor to set the stage for you two to enjoy authentic Costa Rican hospitality and special appearances by some of our most magnificent ocean-dwellers. The Green Season with its natural intensity is a very special time to visit. Hotel Punta Islita is set in an untouched tract of Costa Rica's Nicoya Peninsula. I wholeheartedly agree with your recommendation to ensure that directions are very clear. GPS can help a lot and our staff will gladly help coordinate maps or a private driver. Of course taking a 30 minute local flight is another great options that additionally gives you spectacular views of the long Guanacaste coast. Muchas gracias for your visit. And many wishes for many future returns!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Our family stayed for seven nights at the end of a long costa rican tour and loved every minute. Nothing is too much trouble for the wonderful staff (especially Antonio and Miguel), and you feel like royalty from the moment you arrive. Our two bed villa had it's own pool and would have been wonderful enough, as it was fully equipped should you want to cook. Five minutes walk up hill, had us in the main restaurant, (although we could have called a shuttle to transfer us) and five minutes down hill was the beach with another fabulous restaurant, two pools and a poolside bar. The hotel is in a stunning location, with beach almond trees full of macaws and lots of other birds. We watched sea turtles lay their eggs on the beach, took a boat tour to see humpback whales and painted pictures in the local village, through a cultural exchange the hotel has set up to help visitors experience local life. If you're looking for luxury (with a luxury price tag), this place is hard to beat.

Room Tip: All the villas with private pools are amazing. Also be sure to use the airstrip and nature air to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Perpetuallyjetlagged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Perfection is certainly our goal! Thanks Perpetuallyjetlagged for giving us an intense traveler's perspective. Thrilled to learn that your stay with us was highlighted by so many opportunities to relish in Costa Rica's stunning natural diversity. We are very fortunate to offer upscale comforts and the thrill of seeing macaws, turtles, and even whales in their habitat. Another special thanks for celebrating our staff's hospitality, especially Antonio's and Marvin's. We hope Costa Rica's relaxing pace helped take care or the jet lag. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Ladyhattan travel blog visited the Hotel Punta Islita and it was perfection! From the view of the mountains, the pool, the ocean to the incredible staff. We loved all the staff members we met - especially Briner and Leo! They were great and helped us out with any questions, problems or issues we had. David, the manager was also very helpful and kind during our stay - thank you, David!

We literally lounged by the pool, got up close and personal with monkeys that were swinging in the trees on the hotel premises, and ate delicious food (highly reccomend the seafood and nachos for a snack!)... Our room was comfortable and luxurious.

This is by far one of the most luxurious hotels I have been to in the country of Costa Rica and I was very impressed. Overall, thank you very much to the entire staff for being so kind and helpful during our stay! I am definitely contacting Marriot Corporate to commend you all for your hard work in running such a great establishment.

Room Tip: Try to be close to the main pool/ breakfast area - the steps can be pretty steep and will be a far w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LADYHATTAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

You are most welcome Ladyhattan! It was fun to be your home-away-from home in Costa Rica and we genuinely appreciate your willingness to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community. We hope to remain true to Autograph Collection's "Exactly like nothing else" mantra. Amazing staff members like Briner, David, and Leo certainly make it possible. Please return very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

It was probably the nicest Hotel I have ever been to. I felt taken care of and the staff was so friendly.
We came to stay in the hotel to take part in a wedding. Everything was perfectly arranged.
I can only recommend this beautiful place!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eskimonase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Hola Eskimonase! Hosting a wedding is a singular pleasure and a unique opportunity to let our dazzling setting shine. Thrilled to hear that you fully enjoyed your stay, the celebration, and the unique details that make Costa Rica outstanding. Gracias!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We dined , kayaked, did the canopy , loved the beach and played golf . We would particularly compliment Viales and Cales( golf pro) as well as Eduardo for extraordinary customer care and for making our visit a trip far beyond our expectations. This is a great place with a great staff.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Lubbockians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thrilled to hear from you Lubbockians! Thank you for highlighting your favorite experiences and staff members. Enjoying authentic Costa Rica flavors, kayaking, and taking in the beach views are excellent ways to pepper a vacation. I have to say that golf at Hotel Punta Islita is as beautiful as golf can get. The view is simply spectacular!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The Drive is worth it! Believe me! Most breathtaking views. Service, unbelievably helpful. Accommodations spectacular! You will love every minute! Walk everywhere! See the monkeys and the macaws! It's worth it.

Room Tip: Every Room is excellent and has an incredible view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Pura Vida greetings to you and your family Karen B. Thank you for honoring with your visit and your comments on Trip Advisor. You are absolutely right, Hotel Punta Islita's spectacular natural setting and heartfelt hospitality inspire a "life-is-fantastic" state of mind. Perfect to enjoy authentic Costa Rica!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Islita
20.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge
7.1 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
864 reviews
18.8 mi away
Olas Verdes Hotel
Olas Verdes Hotel
#2 of 24 in Nosara
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#7 of 16 in Playa Samara
915 reviews
22.9 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
588 reviews
5.4 mi away
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
#3 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection

Address: Punta Islita 50201, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Punta Islita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Punta Islita
Price Range: £166 - £554 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Punta Islita is the only beach resort in Costa Rica to offer a full menu of complimentary tours, activities, and experiences. These include favorites like canopy zip-lining, horseback riding, monkey quests, and sea-turtle spotting. Plus unique experiences like creating art with local community artists, traditional cooking lessons, golf clinics, and more! Set in a secluded ocean cove in Guanacaste, Costa Rica. Its award-winning planet-friendly, people-positive model offers a unique opportunity to fully engage in intense eco-adventures and authentic cultural experiences. The property features Deluxe Rooms, Suites, and fully-outfitted Private Villas. Ideal for honeymoons, relaxation getaways, family vacations, extended stays, or destination weddings. COMPLIMENTARY SHUTTLE AVAILABLE FROM LIBERIA INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT (LIR) PLEASE CONTACT US TO SCHEDULE ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Islita Hotel
Resort Punta Islita
Hotel Punta Islita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing