We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service amid Natural Splendor!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Punta Islita
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 28 August 2014

The Hotel Staff are warm and friendly and earnest in their attempt to make you feel comfortable and at home. Johan in Harry's Bar is the Icing and this Splendid Vacation Spot. Dinner on the Beach is an event not to be missed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregory K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Warm greetings Gregory K! Thank you for your willingness to share your Hotel Punta Islita experience with the Trip Advisor community. We are delighted that your stay was splendid and that Johan's extraordinary hospitality made your stay special. Dining on the beach surrounded by torches is truly spectacular. Thanks for highlighting its dazzle!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (989)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 989 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

Truly great resort. I was actually surprised how nice our experience was, pictures don't do it justice. And Johitan was a great bartender and person in general to get to know, while quenching our thirst.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBrian54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Salud BBrian54! Thank you for remembering us with such enthusiasm. Johan sends his regards. And you are absolutely right, his cheerful friendship is contagious! Thanks for highlighting the spectacular beauty of our surroundings. Hope to see you again in 2015!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

My husband and I chose to spend our 15th wedding anniversary at Hotel Punta Islita, and it was one of the best vacations we've ever had! Long before we even arrived, the service was excellent as I was in contact with Melissa Garro who so quickly and wonderfully answered my many questions. When we arrived, we were overwhelmed with the breathtaking beauty of the property. Even though the resort is 23 years old, it is immaculately maintained. We stayed in a Junior Suite (Casitas) and were incredibly happy when they showed us the room. The view overlooked the mountain valley and the Pacific Ocean and included a hammock and a plunge pool. The property lies in the mountain and is maintained will all native flora and fauna. We were initially concerned that due to the hotel's very remote location, that our food choices would be limited. Any concerns about the food quality were quickly put to rest. Every single meal we had was EXCELLENT! There is a variety of food choices at both the 1492 Restaurant and the Borrancho Beach club. Each meal represented local flavors and was fresh and scrumptious!

While the property by itself was beautiful and tranquil, what made our vacation so special were the people who work at Hotel Punta Islita. The service was INCREDIBLE in that any want or need was happily addressed, but, more importantly, it was GENUINE. In many ways, the staff at HPI is a family, and by the end of our stay, we felt like family too. I can honestly say that after 8 PERFECT days at the resort, I was actually emotional saying goodbye to the wonderful staff with whom we shared our exceptional vacation. A special shout-out to the wonderful staff: Miguel, Mike, Tito, Marco, Giovanni, and Joe - thank you for everything!!!!

Shortcut list:
Restaurant 1492 is beautiful! The included breakfasts were fantastic, as were the lunches and dinner. Even though it's an elegant spot to dine, I felt fully comfortable hanging out in bare feet!

Borrancho Beach Club ~ such a beautiful spot right on the beach. We had lunch on the beach every day and it was perfect. The pool bar was also another of our favorite little spots. Oh, and I have to mention that I loved having my Costa Rican beer, Imperial, delivered to me in a children's sand bucket filled with ice. Great little touch! ;)

Activities ~ We were worried that given the hotel's very remote location, we would miss out on some activities. Not the case at all! There are a variety of tours and activities to choose from! We highly recommend zip-lining, kayaking, and the nature walk, where we got to see macaws and howler monkeys up close.

I simply cannot recommend this hotel more. We had such a perfect vacation at Hotel Punta Islita! We are counting the seconds until we can go back to paradise and visit our new "friends!" Pura Vida!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Junior Suites (Casitas) are extremely private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank LittleKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Hola Little Kelly! The time you spent with us was indeed special and we enthusiastically appreciate knowing that we helped to create an amazing 15 year anniversary celebration. Thank you for contributing to this forum with so many wonderful details and observations of your experience. We believe that outstanding hospitality springs from true friendship. Our team certainly confirms this! Warmest regards and we look forward to many more anniversaries!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Wonderful hotel with amazing views wherever you see. Sorrounded by mountain and a spectacular bay view, this hotel is a part of heaven in earth. Large villas, some of them with private pool, amaca and nice view to the sea..

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Anpaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Gracias Anpaum for taking the time to share your enthusiasm about our beautiful Costa Rica with the Trip Advisor community. Loved your comments and loved the wonderful images you posted. Hope you see you again in a Pura Vida second!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This place exceeded my expectations. It is located in a beautiful secluded beach with an abundant amount of cool tropical wildlife. There were tamed miniature deer on the grounds that you can actually pet and tons of Macaw parrots. I was first concerned about the place being maybe too secluded, but the hotel provides tons of wonderful activities for their guest. We went and saw sea turtles lay eggs one night, did a fishing trip where they picked us up on the Punta Islita beach on which we saw several Humpback Whales and sea turtles (mating), as well as went to the Spa where we received the best massage I've ever had.

The staff was also amazing. The bartenders were fun and friendly and served up some of the best tropical frozen drinks using real fruits. After our fishing trip, the chef of the the beach restaurant cut up one of my tunas and served it to us Sashimi style right out of the ocean. The concierge were amazing and will set you up with anything of your interest, from Canopying to horseback riding, or taking a fishing trip on a local boat.

Room Tip: Delux Suite rooms was amazing and secluded with a beautiful view as well as a private hot tub and ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thanks Jimmy P! We are grateful for your detailed post and appreciate your thoughtful comments and recommendations. The Hotel Punta Islita experience is indeed unique and intensely wild due to its secluded location. Hence the amazing adventures and sights. Just a quick note to underscore that for the safety of our guests and local fauna we discourage touching (or feeding) the wildlife. Although they will give wonderful photo-opportunities, it is best to keep a reasonable distance. Warmest regards and many wishes for a return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

A breathtaking, tranquil ambience left us completely spellbound. The extra care and attention from staff made our honeymoon so special - they were all so genuine. The food, facilities and the tours provided authentic Costa Rican experiences that will stay with us for a long long time - "Pura Vida!"

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ottocle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Pura Vida to you Ottocle! Thank you very much for sharing your enthusiasm with the Trip Advisor community. It was an honor to be chosen as your special honeymoon destination and we are incredibly pleased to have created many Pura Vida moments. Warm regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights for our honeymoon and it was such an amazing experience. Upon arrival, Luis greeted us with a drink in hand (great start) and gave us a complementary upgrade to a Casita with a plunge pool and a view to die for. The restaurant service was amazing along with it's food.

Everything about Punta Islita is absolutely incredible. The staff was the nicest I've ever been around and I could tell they were all genuine. I'm ready to move there and ask for a job at this hotel.

I want to send a special thanks to the best bar tender of all time, Miguel. The wife and I had great conversations with him and even took a mixology class with him. He's someone I can call a friend in a short amount of time. If you read this Miguel, Danny and Maria say hello from California! Todavia te debo la botella Gentleman Jack que te prometi.

Thanks again to everyone for making our honeymoon an experience of a lifetime.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 49ersDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Greetings Dan and thank you so much for giving us the honor to be your special honeymoon paradise. We are delighted to learn that everything was perfect and in full accordance with Costa Rica's signature friendship. We genuinely appreciate your comments in this forum. Especially your thoughtful mention of so many wonderful members of our hospitality team. They will be thrilled to read your comments! Warmest regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Islita
20.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge
7.1 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
864 reviews
18.8 mi away
Olas Verdes Hotel
Olas Verdes Hotel
#2 of 24 in Nosara
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#7 of 16 in Playa Samara
915 reviews
22.9 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
588 reviews
5.4 mi away
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
#3 of 7 in Playa Carrillo
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection

Address: Punta Islita 50201, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Punta Islita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Punta Islita
Price Range: £164 - £552 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Punta Islita is the only beach resort in Costa Rica to offer a full menu of complimentary tours, activities, and experiences. These include favorites like canopy zip-lining, horseback riding, monkey quests, and sea-turtle spotting. Plus unique experiences like creating art with local community artists, traditional cooking lessons, golf clinics, and more! Set in a secluded ocean cove in Guanacaste, Costa Rica. Its award-winning planet-friendly, people-positive model offers a unique opportunity to fully engage in intense eco-adventures and authentic cultural experiences. The property features Deluxe Rooms, Suites, and fully-outfitted Private Villas. Ideal for honeymoons, relaxation getaways, family vacations, extended stays, or destination weddings. COMPLIMENTARY SHUTTLE AVAILABLE FROM LIBERIA INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT (LIR) PLEASE CONTACT US TO SCHEDULE ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Islita Hotel
Resort Punta Islita
Hotel Punta Islita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing