We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it! On our way back there now.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyndon Station
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
River Bay Campground & Marina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it! On our way back there now.”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We really wanted a place to camp where we could access the upper Dells waterway with our boat. River Bay fit the bill perfectly. The owners are very friendly. The campground was clean. The pool is very nice. The bar is cool and a lot of fun. If that's not your thing, ask for a site away from it though because on the weekends it rolls till 2:30 in the morning. The dock to park the boat was well protected and I felt comfortable that if any weather had come up it would have been fine. Boating on the upper Dells is amazing! Lots of sand bars and the scenery from the boat is something very few experience or even know exists. We are on our way back for another 3 days. Left the boat behind this trip so we can take advantage of the free Chula Vista waterpark passes.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Dep2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    8
    6
    2
    15
See reviews for
43
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burnett, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

After reading some of the reviews i was a little apprehensive BUT, we didn't have any of the problems the others had. We had 2 campsites for RV's that half of my family stayed in and got the 3 bedroom Cabin which was very spacious compared to others. It had a nice yard with a fire pit and deck with picnic table. Our family gathered for breakfasts and dinner having plenty of room for our 9 grandchildren to play. Our Children and their families loved the playground and pool area. It was close to the Dells with easy access. As for the cash thing the other reviews wrote about....we didn't have any of that.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joyce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I could write a book on all the issues that happened. Rude owners, specificly Rhonda! Very unorganized, very unprofessional and was given the impression that this place is run very shady. Cash for everything, gratuity charged on everything because, I quote, "that is how we pay our employees". Gratuity is expected on food and beverage, not reception areas. We were charged $4 per can of beer during the wedding because we were told 1/2 barrells were not available. Come to find out..afterwards, that we could have had 1/2 barrells. Due to unorganized planning, our bride was in tears due to things not being taken care of. Staff members were in the buffet line before 3/4 of the reception guests ate. Was told leftover food would be put out later. Nothing put out. Depending who you asked, there was food left or there wasnt food. Bartendars, said there was food, Rhonda said there wasnt food left. OHHHH this is just a couple of the issues....there are so many more. When we tried to talk to Rhonda to get some answers and resolutions, she was rude and disrespectful. When on the phone, she continues to put you on hold and when you try to talk to her in person, she walks away from you multiple time to talk to other people. I can go on and on, but all I can say, is DONT BOOK A WEDDING HERE IF WANT TO HAVE HAPPY MEMORIES OF YOUR DAY!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gemigirl32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lyndon Station hotels

La Crescent, Minnesota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Beware. Cash only but will charge credit to reserve. Garbage piled to waist near pool and gameroom. Smells as good as you would imagine. EXPENSIVE for nothing. Chula is not great, go to Noah's Ark for a cheaper more fun park. RUDE ladies at desk!!! Tent on site next door was 2 inches from ours!!! I am not exaggerating! Go anywhere else!!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naperville, Illinois, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We had a nice time there. The grounds were nice and clean. You are right on the Wisconsin River which is so pretty and If you have a boat this is the place to be. We were there during labor day weekend and it was packed! Some of the sites are really close together. We had an issue with our budy site and the owners took care of it right away. The park and arcade are great for the kids! The bathrooms were clean and maintained. This Camp is party central. They have a really fun bar and grill that has live music which was fun! If you are looking for nature and quiet this is not the place to be but if your looking for fun, singing by the campfire, socializing this is the place to be. Also very dog friendly!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carak1263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, WI
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We spent two nights family camping here the first weekend in August. We reserved a buddy site since there were 8 of us and two dogs in our party. The site was large and had plenty of room for us. There was a porta john on the the corner of our site which was fine at the beginning of the weekend, but by the time we left on Sunday was starting to develop a funk. They promised us when they showed us to our site that it was cleaned every day, but we never saw anyone come clean it while we were camping there. The campground as a whole is pretty clean...the dump station area at the top of the hill was pretty scary and if the wind was blowing just right you could smell it at the pool. If you avoid sites near here you shouldn't have a problem. We were down closer to the river and did not have any problems with mosquitos. We were quite close to the bar/grill there which wasn't as bad as I thought it would be. After 11 at night the party moves indoors for quiet time and most of the noise you may hear after this comes from people coming and going.

A lot of people on here have complained about the ladies in the office. We did not have a problem with them. It did take a while to check in, but we arrived at peak check in time. I thought they were doing just fine. They were pleasant and seemed to know what they were doing.

The only real drawback to the weekend was a very loud drunken group that was a few hundred yards from us. They made a lot of noise in the early morning hours and, since the campground has no night security people, there was no one to stop them. Obviously you will run into people who cause trouble everywhere you go, but if the campground had some sort of security you could call during non-office hours the problem could have been taken care of quickly. These campers were kicked out the following morning, but it didn't replace the sleep that was lost by a large number of people.

The only other weird thing was that they required cash at check in. They took our initial deposit with a credit card over the phone so it isn't because they don't take credit cards. I'm still scratching my head over that one.

All in all I would probably stay there again...although my first choice is always Holiday Shores across the river.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kissmygrits27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed in a standard cabin. The whole reason we stayed here was that we got a half price deal. That being said, it was a fantastic deal with the Chula Vista passes included!!! The cabin was nice, and really wonderful that there was a toilet in it. I am used to cabins where you have to go to the camping outhouses. They were clean and plenty of room. We didn't take advantage of the things the campground has to offer because we wanted to spend our time at Chula. One thing I would change is to have free unlimited wifi.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmknmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyndon Station
6.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
4.8 mi away
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites
Best Western Ambassador Inn & Su...
#4 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
1.8 mi away
Day's End Motel
Day's End Motel
#9 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Chula Vista Resort
Chula Vista Resort
#41 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,144 reviews
2.0 mi away
Edge-O-Dells Resort
Edge-O-Dells Resort
#9 of 24 in Wisconsin Dells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
1.8 mi away
Arrowhead RV Resort
Arrowhead RV Resort
#2 of 24 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Bay Campground & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Bay Campground & Marina

Property: River Bay Campground & Marina
Address: W1147 River Bay Road, Lyndon Station, WI 53944
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Lyndon Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Lyndon Station
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Bay is located on the beautiful Wisconsin River 5 miles from downtown Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin. We offer an active type of camping with special events scheduled many weekends throughout the year. River Bay is the port for the Princess Kay Paddlewheel river boat and the township boat launch is located right on the resort. River Bay has seasonal campsites, overnight campsites, and cabins/rental units. In addition, River Bay offers tons of amenities for the active families to take part in. These include: heated outdoor swimming pool, basketball court, volleyball court, two playground areas, peddal cart rentals, golf cart rentals, pontoon rentals, pier slips, Bayside Bar & Grill (offering great food and cold drinks), weekend entertainment, Chula Vista water-park passes included in your stay, and fun events to take part in all summer long. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
River Bay Campground And Marina
River Bay Campground & Marina Hotel Lyndon Station

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing