We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed!!”
Review of Maiden Rock Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maiden Rock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maiden Rock Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Maiden Rock B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This place has more things to do than you will ever be able to use in your stay! The hosts are soo very gracious and knowlegable about other activties from dining to eagle watching to berry picking to the best road to take for the views. Just the fact that coffee is available starting at 7:30 along with a freshly made "treat"of some sort , was enough to make my day! Then to have the uber breakfast which varied every day served at the very civilized time of 9:00. Jennifer went out of her way to accomodate special dietary needs. We felt like we had NO need for lunch! The beds were comfortable. Frankly,I didn't hear the trains mentioned by the other reviewer at all. The decor is so unique in each and every room. Just can't say enough great things about this place!!

Room Tip: Any room would be a great choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 3 night stay at the Maiden Rock Inn in Maiden Rock, WI and already want to go back! This was the perfect get-a-way and Jennifer and Gary were the most hospitable hosts we have ever met. The amount of work and artistic abilities that have been dedicated to the renovation of this old school house into an absolutely delightful B&B is astounding! Both Gary and Jennifer have unique talents and have poured their hearts and souls into this place. The attention to detail in everything from the artisan woodwork all over the home done by Gary to the lovely, tasty, local/organic and skilled cooking provided by Jennifer is amazing. There are many beautiful places all over this property for a guest to enjoy from a game room with a pool table to an outdoor seating area with a fire pit to a sauna and fireplace. But honestly, my husband and I were too busy having fun in the main room drinking wine and talking with Gary and Jennifer each evening while we selected different albums to play on the record player. These two individuals are lovely, as is their home and the experience that they provide. Mobedda, the dog, who will greet you as you arrive, will also always remain in our hearts. Overall, this is one of the best travel experiences we have ever had. We want to go back as soon as possible!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Aubergine room which had a lovely and very comfortable bed and is themed in beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kelleysezwoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

There aren't enough superlatives to do this great place justice! Just came back from a girlfriends weekend, which I think was our best ever in more than 20 years of doing these trips. Gary and Jennifer are the warmest, sweetest, most accommodating hosts. The hard work and creativity they've poured into this place shine throughout the guest rooms and shared spaces. Breakfast was bountiful and delicious, and sensitive to our various dietary requirements. Suggestions for restaurants and activities in the area were spot on, including Gary's suggestion that we stop at the u-pick blueberry farm just up the road on our way home. We didn't stay long enough (only 3 days) to enjoy all the available amenities, but can vouch for sunset and a glass of wine on the rooftop deck, lazy morning reading in the cool of the grotto, and turntable with a great collection of vinyl LP's in the main gathering room. Don't miss this gem if you're staying in the area!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Mfred57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

We came here solely on the ratings from Trip Advisor, and even at five stars, this B&B is under rated. I have never stayed in such a warm, friendly, and clean place.

The hosts are kind and entertaining. The food is out of this world, and the Inn is impeccably clean. We were torn between the meals and dining at one of so many great restaurants in the region.

I make this comment, but it has no reflection on the Inn itself: the train runs almost hourly through Maiden Rock, and it has to sound a horn when it does. Be sure to have ear plugs handy if you sleep lightly.

Otherwise, you can eat assured that if you stay here you'll be comfy, cared for, and happy.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

If you are just driving through Maiden Rock, you would never know this gem was even there. The inn is one block off the main highway. It is an old school house that Gary and Jennifer have converted to a beautiful bed and breakfast.
Gary gave us a tour of the building. There is a main dinning area with a wine bar (great wine), also sitting areas and a stero with a vast collection of old albums. What fun to thumb through all of them and play old favorites.
The 2nd flood has 4 bedrooms, each wonderfully done (Jennifer's nicely painted furniture). High ceilings, large bathrooms. Also on the 2nd floor is a massage room (we did not have enough time this visit), a great room with a stone fireplace.
Walk up a custom built spiral staircase (done by Gary) and you are on the roof top patio. There is a great view of the Mississippi River.
In the basement of the school house is a Rec Room with a pool table. There is also a school gym- open to play a game of basketball.
Outside was a fire pit area, though again just not enough time.
In the morning Jennifer served a gourmet breakfast. We were sad to leave and will certainly be back!

Room Tip: All the rooms looked to be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the Maiden Rock inn with two friends on a biking tour of the area. What a treat! This old school building has been beautifully renovated with 4 luxurious rooms, a rooftop deck, and game room. Each room is uniquely done, with gorgeous fittings. The bath was luxurious with a jacuzzi tub. The breakfast was incredible with locally sourced organic ingredients. The owners created a massage room with a fireplace in the room across the hall so that after a massage you can relax in front of the fire. A perfect place for birders, skiers, hikers, and bikers to stop for the night. I can't wait to return!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klarndt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We visited over Memorial Day weekend on a motorcycle trip, and are so happy we found the Maiden Rock Inn! The renovated historic school house was much more than I expected. After a long day of riding in chilly weather, I was thrilled to be able to use the sauna and also the jacuzzi in our room. My boyfriend was very interested in Gary's workshop in the old gymnasium. I love to drink my morning coffee outside, and the rooftop terrace, which we had a private stairway to from our Grotto room, was a perfect place to enjoy the peace and quiet and do some bird watching. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kjfritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Maiden Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maiden Rock Inn

Address: N531 County Rd S, Maiden Rock, WI 54750-4400
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Maiden Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Maiden Rock
Price Range: £104 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Maiden Rock Inn Bed & Breakfast and Event Center.The Maiden Rock inn is nestled into the bluff, two blocks from the shore of Lake Pepin in the historic village of Maiden Rock, Wisconsin. Located in what is known as the Driftless Area in Western Wisconsin it's “The Gateway to the Mississippi River Bluffs” with a beautiful 65 miles along the Great River Road from the Twin Cities. The perfect getaway. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing