We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Real Thing”

Blue Bayou Inn Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bermuda
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The Real Thing”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I have past this location for 30+ years and imagined it to be a ordinary bar with bar food. Much to my surprise the Blue Bayou turned out to be a delightful experience on a quiet night. A cozy bar, well-appointed dining room tables (except for too much bric-a-brac along the walls), and full Cajan menu. Service was attentive and the food unique for the region. This is not your typical Wisconsin Supper Club venue. Great for a special occasion and change of pace.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WorldRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    11
    5
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern Wisconsin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Average experience”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

VIsited the Blue Bayou for a friend's birthday. We enjoyed that you get to take your time and relax while they bring out your food - some people complain of slow service but it clearly states on the menu to expect this. Gator app was delicious but a very tiny portion for what you pay. We tried all of their soups and the cold strawberry-rhubard was a clear favorite, a must try! The entrees were a little disappointing as two of us had shrimp and they were very overcooked. We ordered 4 desserts to give them all a try and the bread pudding was great, followed by the crepes. Avoid the key lime pie as it was chalky and gritty. Not the greatest experience but we will be back to try again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WiscTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always great”
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

Every time I eat here, I marvel of how lucky we are to have this great eating place in Wisconsin's North Woods. Service is always great, food is exceptional, and there is always wonderful surprises. The duck and rice soup is the best soup I have ever had. The dining experience is European paced, but pontoon boats frequently arrive for a drink and a appetizer. Sunsets over Manitowish Lake add to the dining experience. This is a special place that stays special no matter how many times we enjoy it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jack W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mpls
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Taken care of”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The Blue Bayou was a wonderful experience. It was expensive, most of the meals were $25 each but that included soup, the choices were a cold strawberry-rhubarb or fish gumbo or tomato bisque, a seafood appetizer and a salad and bread. Because it was my birthday, they also surprised me with a slice of homemade cake with ice cream, a free dessert big enough for all three of us to eat our fill. It was very elegant but very hospitable. We needed reservations but I highly recommend it. Oh and I forgot that we got to sit overlooking the lake. The restaurant has giant windows overlooking a beautiful lake. One family came to supper on a small motor boat. But it was kind of tough for the children. Allow two hours for eating.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FelicityMpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burr Ridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Slow, overpriced, not that good. Dinner took almost 3 hours and food was not worth the wait. Expensive for what you get.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank gobearsgob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Bayou Inn Restaurant also viewed

 
Manitowish Waters, WI
Manitowish Waters, WI
 

Been to Blue Bayou Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing