We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner Flashback to bygone era”

Voss' Birchwood Lodge Restaurant
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dublin, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dinner Flashback to bygone era”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Food Ok. Service good in a great old lodge with wonderful views. Old school and fun. A bit too formal but worth the visit for dinner. Cabins looked real nice but did not stay here.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank wlreich1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    12
    1
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hinsdale, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The Best in the Northwoods”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This iconic lodge is so great. Very clean and beautiful location with wonderful food and staff. Been there forever...hope it stays forever as it IS Manitowish Waters.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Voss's has a smaller menu to select from, but with that comes a well prepared and delicious dinner. I chose the Chicken Marsala, which included baby baked potatoes. It just melted in your mouth. The waitresses are so polite and willing to accommodate your needs. The setting overlooks one of the beautiful northwoods lakes. Reservations are recommended as this is a very popular place, understandable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dotnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A classic old Wisconsin northwoods dining lodge”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I've been visiting northern Wisconsin since the 1960s, and the old lodges with beautiful trees and grounds and good food have all but disappeared in recent years. Friends who live in Mercer took me to Voss' Birchwood Lodge Restaurant tonight because they have a very good singer and musical group several Thursdays each month in the summer. The music was good, but the food and ambiance were excellent. This is a 100+ year old family-owned lodge. It's a classic 1930-40s look, with stuffed animals and birch bark panels, a large fireplace in the main room, and depression glasses and pitchers throughout. The salad was crisp and fresh; we ordered prime rib and sauted walleye, both large portions. Au gratin potatoes had real cheese sauce, veggies were average. We'll go back. The enormous white pine and Norway pines that front the lodge on the lakeside are very special.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poplar, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
79 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Love the eating establishment but will not stay overnight at the lodge”
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

Great atmosphere for dining and drinks. Only the very hardy should sleep over, very costly for a smelly, mold in the bathroom grout, terrible bed. Never again I am too old to put up with going home tired. Couldn't wait to check out!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbicu715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruth g, Owner at Voss' Birchwood Lodge Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 June 2015
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our establishment. I'm sorry you had a bad experience in our lodge. The building was built as our "new, modern" lodge in 1924 and as such
there are difficulties in maintenance. The rooms do have new mattresses and we do stress extreme cleanliness to our cleaning staff. During the peak season I don't always have time to personally inspect all accommodations. Carpeting is shampooed on a regular basis, but at the age of 90 years we don't smell "new".
Again, I'm sorry for your experience and we will alert our cleaning crew to your complaints.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Voss' Birchwood Lodge Restaurant also viewed

 
Manitowish Waters, WI
 
Manitowish Waters, WI
 

Been to Voss' Birchwood Lodge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing