We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Manitowoc
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Manitowoc
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2012

As seaseoned travellers well know the older Holiday Inn locations can be hit or miss. This one definitely was a hit.

The hotel itself is indeed a bit old and just a bit beat up but, nothing horrible. No funny smells, no mold, no collapsing ceiling or spongy floors. The location is not bad either although there isn't much special around there anyway. The hotel is right down the block from a grocery store, a WalMart and several good restaurants.

The rooms that we got were both clean, quiet and comfortable. The cable was good and had a good selection of channels. The water pressure was good and plenty of hot water. The AC wasn't what I would call good. But then, I'm used to the Texas AC and this is Manitowoc, Wisconsin and it was good enough to keep me cool even with the temperature up to 100.

The staff was friendly, helpful and was more than happy to help us with any requests.

The one stand out here was the breakfast. The hotel did not appear to have the usual buffet but instead an actual sit down breakfast which turned out to be fantastic. Not sure who is on the griddle back there but it definitely tastes like my grandmother's cooking. Don't walk across the street to the Perkins, eat breakfast at the hotel.

You probably aren't coming to this hotel as a "destination" but if you are in the area and need a room, this one is definitely worth a try.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 July 2012

We’re so glad that you enjoyed your stay and were able to start your day off with a satisfying breakfast! For future reference, we will be undergoing a property-wide renovation starting later this year; guest rooms, public areas and meeting facilities will be completely revamped. Some things will stay the same of course – great service and good food never go out of style! Thanks very much for your business! Holiday Inn Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2012

After a long travel, we checked in at 1am. Happy to find a room but not too happy about the $150 price tag. We found the seating area facing the indoor courtyard nice but immediately notice the filth on the ceiling..first turn off. At 8am we were awoken to a gathering in the courtyard, a convention we were told . They had a P.A. system, were SINGING and having an 8am fiesta right outside our room. Really? Whe called the desk and were told the manager never works the weekends but should check in, when she did, she offered a free breakfast. We really paid the $150 for sleep, not food. We took the breakfast knowing that was going to be our only consolation. Yuk-o. Resturant chair and dark stain down the middle, there was some kind of salt/coffegrounds mess on the saucers and table, and the food was quite tasteless. I noticed the good reviews are mostly from people using this for conventions, maybe that is what the hotel is geared for. If your are looking for a good nights rest DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank easyrd818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Thank you for your comments. Our housekeeping staff gets consistently high marks for hotel cleanliness, and honestly can find no evidence of the problem you make mention of in the lobby area. Nonetheless first impressions are critical and we’ll make extra sure that our courtyard/lobby is up to standard. Regarding the group function taking place, I’m glad that hotel management was available to meet with you and respond to your observations. We are a large-scale property and during regular day-time hours groups do convene. Excess noise is monitored as we take into account the needs of all our guests. In this case, we did our very best to work with you and provide satisfaction. We appreciate your business.
Holiday Inn Manitowoc Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Our organization hosted a 3-day highway conference for 72 counties in September 2011. Attendance was approximately 500. From the onset of booking, the entire staff was outstanding to work with. The conscientiousness & commitment of the staff was exceptional. The cuisine was delicious every day. The lunch/breakfast buffets offered a variety of selections for a reasonable price. The sleeping rooms at the Holiday Inn just went through a complete makeover with interior design & all rooms have a 32" flat screen TV. We were informed that the Holiday Inn will be completely renovated by the year 2013. We have hosted 2 other highway conferences at the Holiday in the past & certainly would not hesitate to book another.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellady1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

Thank you for your business. We look forward to working with you in the future! Holiday Inn Manitowoc Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Our organization held a convention at the Holiday Inn, Manitowoc WI April 27 & 28 2012 for 30 attendees. We had plated meals a Breakfast, two Lunches and Dinner along with a mid day break consisting of build your own sundae bar which the hotel accommodated our request since it was not on the menu. The quality of the food and temperature was EXCELLENT even when we were running late. The service was OUTSTANDING and our server Michele was very personable always smiling even with the long days. Thank you! No one left hungry which was a concern. The temperature in the meeting room was perfect and on one occasion it was colder and when reported the staff IMMEDIATELY adjusted it. The staff at the front desk was very personable and friendly. The WIFI worked great. The sleeping rooms fit our needs. Working with Sue I and Michele B was a pleasure. All of the staff provided excellent customer service and this location is HIGHLY recommended. All of our attendees had nothing but good things to say so on behalf of our entire group….Thank YOU!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loretta J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This past March we held a conference at the Holiday Inn Manitowoc for over 400 people. We have actually held this conference in this hotel as a repeat customer for a number of years. We are always pleased with the friendly and courteous staff and how well they work with you to set up your events. The staff was excellent and helped with all of our requests and provided outstanding service. The hotel is showing its age and does need some remodeling, but it is still a very good facility. For our group it worked well as far as the conference rooms, meals and space needed. The rooms were affordable for our group.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIManitowocDOS, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Manitowoc, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

We’re so glad that your event went well! Holiday Inn Manitowoc is known statewide for its convention facilities and service, and we make it a #1 priority to take good care of our groups. We’re pleased to announce that the hotel will be going through a property-wide renovation starting later this year and all our guests will be able to enjoy a fresh, modern facility in the not-too-distant future. Thanks for your business. Holiday Inn Manitowoc Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Our meeting went very smoothly thanks to the knowledgeable staff at the Holiday Inn. Our attendees commented on how friendly the hotel staff was,overnight accomodations were comfortable, and the food was very good. As a meeting planner, comments from our attendees is very important, and I wouldn't hesitate to have another meeting at this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WIMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIManitowocDOS, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Manitowoc, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Thanks much for your business! We take pride in providing outstanding customer service and look forward to working with your organization in the future. Holiday Inn Manitowoc Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I stayed here for three nights as part of a business meeting with about 25 colleagues. This HI is larger than most with full conference facilities. Unlike the HI Express group, there is no free breakfast but it can be purchased at the full service in-house restaurant (I never ate there), at Perkins across the street, or any of several nearby restaurants. The public areas, including the large central atrium, lobby, and meeting rooms seem in fairly good shape.

Free WiFi worked consistently but required reregistering each time I restarted my computer which became pretty annoying. Strangely, I had a hard time getting a good cell phone signal in my room, though it was OK in the lobby. The room darkening shades really kept the room dark, even during the day. There’s a coffee bar off the lobby though I think it was open for only a short time in the morning (free coffee in the room).

My room, and that of others I spoke with, is aging and could use modernizing. The hot water wasn’t hot enough. The toilet made unusual whiny noises. Some corners could have used a thorough cleaning, possibly a paint job. The bed was comfortable with the usual assortment of pillows. Overall, the room felt a bit shabby and in need of refreshing.

The fitness room is in the basement, an obvious add-on, but has plenty of equipment.

Pet peeve: There’s the usual sign in the bathroom about reusing towels to conserve water. I’m good with that and always hang my towels. But housekeeping staff doesn’t seem to get the message. They replace the towels every time, no matter what.

The front desk staff was friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: Ask for an exterior room. Rooms off the atrium are dark and may lack privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mr-pinguini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIManitowocDOS, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Manitowoc, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Thank you for your recent stay- I’m glad that hotel staff made you feel welcome. It sounds like you got a good night’s sleep and were able to take advantage of many of our amenities i.e. conference facilities, fitness center, free WI-FI, our coffee bar etc. We’re pleased to announce that the hotel will be going through a property-wide renovation starting later this year, and all our guests will be able to enjoy a fresh, modern facility in the not-to-distant future. We appreciate the feedback. Holiday Inn Manitowoc Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manitowoc
3.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Manitowoc Lakefront
0.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Manitowoc
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Manitowoc
Quality Inn Manitowoc
#5 of 6 in Manitowoc
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Fox Hills Resort
Fox Hills Resort
#1 of 1 in Mishicot
268 reviews
8.4 mi away
Lighthouse Inn Hotel
Lighthouse Inn Hotel
#1 of 4 in Two Rivers
152 reviews
2.7 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#6 of 6 in Manitowoc
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Manitowoc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Manitowoc

Address: 4601 Calumet Ave, I-43 & Highway 151, Manitowoc, WI 54220-9205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Manitowoc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Manitowoc
Price Range: £109 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Manitowoc 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the NEWLY REMODELED Holiday Inn - Manitowoc. Having completed a full property renovation of all guest rooms and public areas, the hotel is located at I-43 and US 151 (Exit 149), one mile from the beautiful Lake Michigan shore line and approximately 30 minutes from Green Bay and Sheboygan. Holiday Inn - Manitowoc Facilities: 204 newly renovated guest rooms and suites with some rooms overlooking an impressive atrium (pets are welcome); business center; conference center with over 20,000 square feet of combined meeting, exhibit, and banquet space; complete conference services staff; complimentary high-speed wireless Internet service; fine dining and relaxation in the hotel's full service dining room and lounge; Starbucks coffee & snack shop; off-site catering services; state-of-the-art fitness center; indoor pool and whirlpool.In-house laundry facilities. Close to Corporate Businesses: Aurora, Burger Boat Co., Dowco Inc., Federal Mogul Powertrain Systems, GKN Sinter Metals, Holy Family Memorial, Industrial Distribution Group, Kaysun Tool and Engineering Corp., Koenig & Vits, Krueger International Inc., Lakeside Foods, Lowe s, The Manitowoc Company, Manitowoc Crane Group, Manitowoc Food Service Group, Manitowoc Ice Inc., Northern Labs Inc., Parker Hannifin Corp., Red Arrow Products, and Weyerhaeuser Co. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Manitowoc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Manitowoc Hotel Manitowoc
Manitowoc Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing