We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and Friendly Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Manitowoc
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Manitowoc
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great and Friendly Hotel”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stay here often when in the area visiting family. Stayed here during Christmas of 2013 in one of the recently remodeled rooms. The room was quite, comfortable, and well appointed. The staff was friendly and always helpful. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to my friends.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2_WV_Retired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIManitowocDOS, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Manitowoc, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Hello - thanks much for the repeat business! Our full-property renovation will be complete in early spring, and as you were able to experience, the results are spectacular. We look forward to seeing you again. Holiday Inn Manitowoc Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    60
    37
    17
    14
See reviews for
43
29
11
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Holiday inn on fri 13th and sat 14th for our Christmas party and I found the hotel to be very nice. I had a newly refurbished room which was very nicely done with a huge bed and pillows you just sank into. The breakfast was nice and the 2 ladies that served us were very welcoming and helpful. Overall I had a very enjoyable stay and would recommend the hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank itsme_emma_1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIManitowocDOS, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Manitowoc, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
We’re so glad that you enjoyed your stay! As you experienced, our newly remodeled guest rooms are quite luxurious. Thanks for your patronage. Holiday Inn Manitowoc Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2013

As chairman, I spent quite a bit of time interacting with the hotel both before and during the convention. They were always helpful and cooperative, and everyone I dealt with did their best to make it a successful and enjoyable time.

Room Tip: Go for the single bed room every time! The rooms are much more spacious, and usually have a comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIManitowocDOS, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Manitowoc, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
We appreciated the opportunity to host your gathering. As you experienced, Holiday Inn Manitowoc is one of the largest and most professional convention facilities in the area. We take pride in providing the highest level of customer service and are glad that your convention was a success. Thanks very much – Holiday Inn Manitowoc Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Streator, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Have stayed here a couple times while travelling, and always seem to pop in when there is a function there. Not a bad thing; it's turned in to a good time at the bar every time. The staff is great, the restaurant is very good, and the bartender has always been great. It's actually been a couple years since I've been there, but I cannot complain about any stay. It seems a little above par for what you expect from Holiday Inn personnel-wise. I'm easy when I travel though; I don't expect the sun, moon and stars, just common courtesy answers to the rare question I have which is generally "If you are in town one night and had to hit one spot to eat, where would that be?" Typically though, I eat at the hotel restaurant, which as stated, is good. One of those times where I would say hotel food is underrated. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1roadwarrior10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIManitowocDOS, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Manitowoc, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
As a “Road Warrior” we especially appreciate your business and value your opinion! I’m glad that you enjoyed the food and as you experienced, our staff is great. A full property renovation will be completed soon, so next time you visit, be prepared for a sparkling new hotel. Thanks for your patronage. Holiday Inn Manitowoc Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiel, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Everything was fine except for the restaurant service. It was EXTREMELY slow! We ran into this same problem two years ago when we were there. Couldn't believe it was still that bad!!! On Friday evening our supper took us two hours! It took forever to get our order taken and then it took even longer for our food to come....it was ridiculous! There was never a waitress around and no seating hostess. Breakfast Saturday morning was also very slow.

Room Tip: Don't eat in the hotel restaurant unless you want to be there ALL day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIManitowocDOS, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Manitowoc, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for bringing your dining room experience to our attention. As a full-service Holiday Inn, our guests are able to enjoy a sit-down restaurant, but nonetheless, too leisurely service is not appreciated. I suspect that this was an isolated instance, but we will certainly address the matter, in order that we provide consistently fine service to all our guests. We hope to see you again at the soon-to-be "All New" Holiday Inn Manitowoc. Holiday Inn Manitowoc Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights for work. I didn't see any sign of a renovation taking place, but this place surely is in need of it.

My 2nd floor room had a musty wet smell that I hit me like a brick every time I entered the room. I probably got used to it, but every morning woke up with a sore throat, so probably something not right in the air. (it went away as I was at work, breathing different air). Had to open the window (good thing it wasn't that cold out yet) to get some fresh air. You may want to ask for an exterior room (rather than one facing the internal courtyard) so you can get some fresh air in your room. The hallways also smell a little bit musty, but it really hit me when going into my room.

Internet connection was pretty good in my room.

Workout room, though it had individual screens, should probably get updated equipment. Some of the screens weren't working properly.

Bed was comfortable. The room and the hallways in general, are really in need of updates. As folks have mentioned, watch your step, else you'll trip on the rolls of bubbling carpet. Bathroom fixtures need updating, along with everything else.

Staff is very friendly. I'd probably come back here after the renovation is completed. Until then, may look to stay in Green Bay next time I need to come here for work.

Room Tip: Ask for an external room where the window opens to the outside. You may need the fresh air!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank totonka99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIManitowocDOS, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Manitowoc, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Hello - looking at the date of stay, guest room renovations were probably taking place at the time you stayed with us (they are contained one floor at a time to minimize any disruption.) Guest rooms (including bathrooms),and public areas (hallways) are being remodeled now, and the situations you describe will definitely be eliminated. The entire hotel will be fully remodeled by early 2014. As you make mention of, our staff remains courteous and professional, and we'll welcome you back with a smile to enjoy the great "new" Holiday Inn Manitowoc soon to be unveiled. Holiday Inn Manitowoc Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We should have listened to the reviews and done the same.
There is an AmericInn nearby, that has free breakfast included, which is much cleaner, and nearly half the price.

The best part of this hotel was the fact that the front desk clerk was VERY helpful.

The carpeting was horrid. Renovation or not, it was NOT safe . . .
There was a strange odor in the hallways and room.
The soda and snacks in the vending machines were even expired.

The bed was comfortable but we will not stay here again and recommend you do not either.

Again, we understand a renovation will be taking place. However, in the meantime, your facility at least has to be safe and sound and appealing, even if outdated.

We have stayed in many, many Holiday Inns during our travels (most recently in August) and this was by far the worst.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brauny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIManitowocDOS, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Manitowoc, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Hello – as you make mention of, the hotel is under renovation at this moment. Within a few months, the entire property will essentially be brand new, with all public areas and guest rooms fully remodeled. None-the-less, as your scores indicate (based on your ranking of 4 out of 5) for “Sleep Quality” and “Service,” we still provide a quality product with exceptional customer service. We urge you to visit us again to enjoy the great facility soon to be unveiled. Holiday Inn Manitowoc Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manitowoc
3.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Manitowoc Lakefront
0.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Manitowoc
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Manitowoc
Quality Inn Manitowoc
#5 of 6 in Manitowoc
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Lighthouse Inn Hotel
Lighthouse Inn Hotel
#1 of 4 in Two Rivers
143 reviews
2.7 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#6 of 6 in Manitowoc
56 reviews
24.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheboygan - Kohler (I-43)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Manitowoc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Manitowoc

Property: Holiday Inn Manitowoc
Address: 4601 Calumet Ave, I-43 & Highway 151, Manitowoc, WI 54220-9205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Manitowoc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Manitowoc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Manitowoc 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the NEWLY REMODELED Holiday Inn - Manitowoc. Having completed a full property renovation of all guest rooms and public areas, the hotel is located at I-43 and US 151 (Exit 149), one mile from the beautiful Lake Michigan shore line and approximately 30 minutes from Green Bay and Sheboygan. Holiday Inn - Manitowoc Facilities: 204 newly renovated guest rooms and suites with some rooms overlooking an impressive atrium (pets are welcome); business center; conference center with over 20,000 square feet of combined meeting, exhibit, and banquet space; complete conference services staff; complimentary high-speed wireless Internet service; fine dining and relaxation in the hotel's full service dining room and lounge; Starbucks coffee & snack shop; off-site catering services; state-of-the-art fitness center; indoor pool and whirlpool.In-house laundry facilities. Close to Corporate Businesses: Aurora, Burger Boat Co., Dowco Inc., Federal Mogul Powertrain Systems, GKN Sinter Metals, Holy Family Memorial, Industrial Distribution Group, Kaysun Tool and Engineering Corp., Koenig & Vits, Krueger International Inc., Lakeside Foods, Lowe s, The Manitowoc Company, Manitowoc Crane Group, Manitowoc Food Service Group, Manitowoc Ice Inc., Northern Labs Inc., Parker Hannifin Corp., Red Arrow Products, and Weyerhaeuser Co. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Manitowoc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Manitowoc Hotel Manitowoc
Manitowoc Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing