We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Step Back In Time”
Review of The Audubon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Audubon Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mayville
Certificate of Excellence
Monticello, WI
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Step Back In Time”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This is a very interesting and historic Inn in a small town nestled near the Horicon Marsh.

Our room was as advertised on the website with period furnishings and decorations. Room was very clean and everything worked.

Good food and drink at the restaurant and bar on the lower level, but check for serving hours in advance.

Mayville is a very friendly and save town just down the road from Horicon and not far from Fond Du Lac.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJDMonticello_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    63
    20
    13
    2
See reviews for
28
187
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2013

My group of eight were in the area for a family reunion and we elected to stay at the Audubon INN for several nights. We all were pleasantly surprised at the large room sizes, and the attention to care within each room. The bathrooms especially are well outfitted with large whirlpool tubs and great shower setups. Besides it is quiet --- day or night.

It is easy to endorse their restaurant. Based on our experience with the breakfasts plus local comments, we decided to hold a major dinner party for our groups of 12 and 14 at their restaurant. The INN's menu is broad, the service was excellent, the pricing was fair, and the food was first-class.

We have travelled widely throughout the world and this INN fully meets one's expectations. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phb592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We are very picky travelers. Three years ago when we started to go biking/birding on a regular basis (twice a month), we were motivated to find the best lodging as our "home away from home". So we tried all lodgings & B&Bs in Mayville and Horicon. Audubon Inn is the winner.

Location: Mayville is a pretty town along the rock river. It is a convenient to check out the surroundings: 15 min. drive to the State wildlife refuge at the Marsh and 30 min. to the national wildlife refuge section of the Marsh. Other nearby attractions include: Theresa Marsh and Ledge Park.

Room: The Inn has a lot of personality, from the colorful glasses in the main area to the nice furniture, carpet and wall paper in the room. We have stayed in many rooms, each is spacious, clean and comfortable. The big plus is that each room has a double size whirlpool.

Breakfast: included continental breakfast is better than a lot of typical chain hotels. It has boiled eggs, self-serving pancake grills, toasters, bagels, and fruits.

Dinner: Just like we have tried all the lodgings, we also tried all the dinning options in the area. Audubon's restaurant is the one we go to. It has consistently improved on its menu since we have been there. Their soups are to die for. Salad with strawberry vinegar dressing is unique and refreshing. Pheasant and veal short rib are both very nice. The ambiance is nice and quiet. Service is always prompt and friendly.

Staff: everybody we met at the Inn, from the owners to the staff are very friendly and helpful. It is really the people that makes us feel at home each time when we are visiting. And we will keep going there because of their hospitality and the beautiful nature in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chic2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
116 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We drove from Minnesota, mapquest directions said 4 hours it took 6! So, we didn't make it here until 9:30, the restaurant was closed at the Inn where we had hoped to have dinner. The whole town was closed leaving us no choice but to eat McDonalds(yuck). The only thing open was a couple small town bars. So we just went to our room. The Whirlpool tub was awesome, it was huge and really nice which was good because there was nothing else to do!
Maybe if we would've gotten there sooner we could have enjoyed a nice dinner and strolled thru the little town but, by 9:30 at night it was hot tub and bed.
The Inn itself was really nice. It felt very much like we had stepped back in time. The room did have the basics, coffee pot, mini fridge, hair dryer and iron and ironing board available. The bath products were available but, low quality so I just used my own. I forgot my hairspray so the Inn keeper let me use his wife's.
The breakfast was in the Inns bar it was cereal, bagels, English muffins, yogurt, a bowl of hard boiled eggs, a bowl of red apples and bananas, and at the bar was a griddle and pancake mix to make your own pancakes.....I felt a little odd standing at a bar cooking my husband breakfast. Wasn't what I expected.
The Inn keeper was very helpful and very friendly. The Inn and hot tub was really nice.
I would never go there again from Minnesota. I would go back from Milwaukee. Only an hour drive from Milwaukee and I'd make sure I'd go early enough for dinner and to stroll thru the little town.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteamyRice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayville, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2013

My parents enjoyed their first Mother's Day Brunch at the Audubon Inn and drove from Port Washington to check it out. They will definitely be back for next year's Easter and Mother's Day Brunch with up to 12 other family members. The food was hot and seasoned well. The carving station had 3 delicious meats to choose from. The pasta station made to order in front of me made my day. I heard nothing but compliments from guests throughout the day. Thank you for making it a great experience.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 602Jason13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Our family had a terrible experience on Mother's Day. We were seated for over 10 minutes before asking to have a waitress and had to wait longer to get one. Salad dressing seemed watered down. Soup and potatoes were warm at best. Tilapia was cold. Desert brownies were too dry to eat. Item from the pasta bar was the highlight of the meal. We never saw our waitress during the entire meal. We had to flag a different person down for coffee refills and couldn't get water refills. Juices and coffee were not included in the $17.95 buffet. An 18% gratuity was added to the bill for a party of four. We didn't receive $1 worth of service much less $14 worth. We would not even consider recommending this restaurant based on our experience this day.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wauwatosa, wi
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We had a great weekend at the Audubon Inn. The staff, especially the general manager Jimmy, was great--very friendly and helpful and willing to address any problem or question.

We had burgers in the restaurant which were delicious, and the BEST onion rings we had ever had! In the bar, try a drink with one of their infused vodkas.

Very relaxing and definately very reasonably priced. We will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 29 which faced east and overlooked the main street. You will hear traffic in roon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beermandave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mayville
12.6 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Waupun
13.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Beaver Dam
8.5 mi away
Country Hearth Inn and Suites Lomira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fond du Lac
15.8 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Hartford
12.8 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites Waupun, WI
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Audubon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Audubon Inn

Property: The Audubon Inn
Address: 45 N Main St, Mayville, WI 53050-1637
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Mayville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mayville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Audubon Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1896, The Audubon Inn is a boutique full service hotel on the National Register of Historic Places. We offer 18 elegant guestrooms with high quality amenities, signature destination restaurant NOLA North Grille, a full selection of spa services, and close proximity to internationally renowned Horicon Marsh, museums, artisan foods, shopping, sightseeing, and outdoor recreation - all in an atmosphere of relaxed luxury. We look forward to serving you and creating an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Audubon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Audubon Hotel Mayville
Audubon Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing