We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic hotel”
Review of The Audubon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Audubon Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mayville
Certificate of Excellence
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Historic hotel”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Great historic hotel in downtown Mayville for a peaceful Getaway. Room was clean and size able with updated bathroom fixtures. Only disappointment was bar and restaurant are closed. However there are plenty of dining options near by.

Room Tip: Ask for room recommendation when making reservations
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    61
    20
    13
    2
See reviews for
28
184
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We were there for 3 nights. Our room didn't get made up at after the first night and after the second night we had to go find someone to do it. The food in the restaurant was good and the service friendly. Astonished that there wasn't one single staff member on the premises during our last night. We were literally asked to leave the bar so it could be locked up before all the staff went home. No restaurant, no phones, no vending machines and no ice available. Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xstitchlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AudubonInn, Owner at The Audubon Inn, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear xstitchlady, my wife and I are the new owners of The Audubon Inn and NOLA North Grille - the new onsite restaurant here. I have read about your experience last year under previous ownership, and wanted you to know that things have improved. I would certainly love to have the opportunity to show you the difference. Feel free to contact me anytime if you would like to discuss: (920) 387-5858.

Warm Regards,

Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Be forewarned--both the bar and restaurant are currently closed, although the hotel's web site does not disclose that. We were quite disappointed. We might have forgiven that, but found the hotel lacking in several other aspects. It was difficult to both check in and check out -- we had to search the hallways for staff. Staff did not seem informed regarding hotel policies or local attractions. Breakfast items included hard boiled eggs that were covered with some sort of brown spots. The pancake griddle was thickly coated with grim and the can of teflon aerosol spray for the griddle was so tacky it was disgusting to touch. While the building is beautiful, we will not be back.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank alfgeir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AudubonInn, Owner at The Audubon Inn, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear alfgeir, although I was disappointed to hear about your experience under previous ownership, I am happy to report that this hotel and restaurant have been revitalized and reopened for business. I would love for you to see the difference - we think you will be impressed!

Feel free to contact me directly to discuss: (920) 387-5858. I hope to have the opportunity to meet and host you soon!

Warm Regards,

Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monticello, WI
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This is a very interesting and historic Inn in a small town nestled near the Horicon Marsh.

Our room was as advertised on the website with period furnishings and decorations. Room was very clean and everything worked.

Good food and drink at the restaurant and bar on the lower level, but check for serving hours in advance.

Mayville is a very friendly and save town just down the road from Horicon and not far from Fond Du Lac.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJDMonticello_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2013

My group of eight were in the area for a family reunion and we elected to stay at the Audubon INN for several nights. We all were pleasantly surprised at the large room sizes, and the attention to care within each room. The bathrooms especially are well outfitted with large whirlpool tubs and great shower setups. Besides it is quiet --- day or night.

It is easy to endorse their restaurant. Based on our experience with the breakfasts plus local comments, we decided to hold a major dinner party for our groups of 12 and 14 at their restaurant. The INN's menu is broad, the service was excellent, the pricing was fair, and the food was first-class.

We have travelled widely throughout the world and this INN fully meets one's expectations. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phb592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We are very picky travelers. Three years ago when we started to go biking/birding on a regular basis (twice a month), we were motivated to find the best lodging as our "home away from home". So we tried all lodgings & B&Bs in Mayville and Horicon. Audubon Inn is the winner.

Location: Mayville is a pretty town along the rock river. It is a convenient to check out the surroundings: 15 min. drive to the State wildlife refuge at the Marsh and 30 min. to the national wildlife refuge section of the Marsh. Other nearby attractions include: Theresa Marsh and Ledge Park.

Room: The Inn has a lot of personality, from the colorful glasses in the main area to the nice furniture, carpet and wall paper in the room. We have stayed in many rooms, each is spacious, clean and comfortable. The big plus is that each room has a double size whirlpool.

Breakfast: included continental breakfast is better than a lot of typical chain hotels. It has boiled eggs, self-serving pancake grills, toasters, bagels, and fruits.

Dinner: Just like we have tried all the lodgings, we also tried all the dinning options in the area. Audubon's restaurant is the one we go to. It has consistently improved on its menu since we have been there. Their soups are to die for. Salad with strawberry vinegar dressing is unique and refreshing. Pheasant and veal short rib are both very nice. The ambiance is nice and quiet. Service is always prompt and friendly.

Staff: everybody we met at the Inn, from the owners to the staff are very friendly and helpful. It is really the people that makes us feel at home each time when we are visiting. And we will keep going there because of their hospitality and the beautiful nature in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chic2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
116 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We drove from Minnesota, mapquest directions said 4 hours it took 6! So, we didn't make it here until 9:30, the restaurant was closed at the Inn where we had hoped to have dinner. The whole town was closed leaving us no choice but to eat McDonalds(yuck). The only thing open was a couple small town bars. So we just went to our room. The Whirlpool tub was awesome, it was huge and really nice which was good because there was nothing else to do!
Maybe if we would've gotten there sooner we could have enjoyed a nice dinner and strolled thru the little town but, by 9:30 at night it was hot tub and bed.
The Inn itself was really nice. It felt very much like we had stepped back in time. The room did have the basics, coffee pot, mini fridge, hair dryer and iron and ironing board available. The bath products were available but, low quality so I just used my own. I forgot my hairspray so the Inn keeper let me use his wife's.
The breakfast was in the Inns bar it was cereal, bagels, English muffins, yogurt, a bowl of hard boiled eggs, a bowl of red apples and bananas, and at the bar was a griddle and pancake mix to make your own pancakes.....I felt a little odd standing at a bar cooking my husband breakfast. Wasn't what I expected.
The Inn keeper was very helpful and very friendly. The Inn and hot tub was really nice.
I would never go there again from Minnesota. I would go back from Milwaukee. Only an hour drive from Milwaukee and I'd make sure I'd go early enough for dinner and to stroll thru the little town.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteamyRice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mayville
12.6 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Waupun
8.5 mi away
Country Hearth Inn and Suites Lomira
13.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Beaver Dam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Hartford
18.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites West Bend
18.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fond du Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Audubon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Audubon Inn

Property: The Audubon Inn
Address: 45 N Main St, Mayville, WI 53050-1637
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Mayville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mayville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Audubon Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1896, The Audubon Inn is a boutique full service hotel on the National Register of Historic Places. We offer 18 elegant guestrooms with high quality amenities, signature destination restaurant NOLA North Grille, a full selection of spa services, and close proximity to internationally renowned Horicon Marsh, museums, artisan foods, shopping, sightseeing, and outdoor recreation - all in an atmosphere of relaxed luxury. We look forward to serving you and creating an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Audubon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Audubon Hotel Mayville
Audubon Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing