We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very sweet and relaxing”
Review of The Audubon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Audubon Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mayville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

On our way back from a solid action packed vacation we came across the Audubon Inn in the hear of Mayville,WI. The short drive through the town was picturesque with a park bordering each side of the road and a river that runs through most of the middle of town. I knew that the Inn was going to be nothing but fabulous. The outside of the Inn reminds me of something from the New England towns of Vermont mixed with bit of the French Quarter of New Orleans. Very beautifully colored in cream and pale pink. The inside of the Inn, was decorated in country and shaker style furnishings that you might find in an older farm house or log home. The place had a feel that you have come home to Grandma's house and its time to relax and be taken care of. The room was large with high ceilings and well lit. The bathroom comes with a very relaxing extra large Jacuzzi tube, so don't forget to enjoy that! The owner and manager are very friendly and make you feel like you are somehow part of their family or related like distant cousins who haven't visited in a while. We felt comfortable and genuinely cared for. We also tried out the NOLA restaurant and found a bartender who knows how to make some pretty mean and tasty drinks. The food was unbelievable and you would totally forget you are in Mayville and not on Bourbon street enjoying the Po' Boys and Gumbo there! My hats off to the amazing Chef! All in all, this is a really romantic spot. But don't let the romance let you forget that they are nestled close to great hiking, site seeing and a really fun aquatic center! Passing through or need a break from the grind, this is the place to go. Thanks, Keith and Shawn for a really Great stay!!!

Valerie and John

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ValerieKay70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

This historic hotel is an absolute gem in the sweet little town of Mayville! We had a standard room and were so impressed by its large size, high ceilings and whirlpool bathtub. The bed was comfortable, the staff were extremely accommodating, and the décor was sweet and old-fashioned. The 40+ year old Zenith TV just added to the charm. I loved the transom windows on the rooms. The NOLA bar and grill, which are attached, are fantastic, too! We chose the hotel after deciding we wanted to explore the Horicon Marsh, and we feel like we stumbled upon a treasure. We strongly recommend the Audubon Inn. It would make a wonderful, romantic getaway for Milwaukee couples! We will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanclaners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Had a two night stay with excellent service all around. Great dinners in the restaurant and perfect service. Our plan also included breakfasts which were awesome. Inn was so impressive and sightseeing around perfect. We'll return again this year, with friends.

Room Tip: All rooms were quite impressive and we had a choice of some of the rooms available on their site. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rose913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

I would had rated this place lower due to the previous owner and poor management... The Audubon is under a new owner and has been reopened for about 5 weeks now.

The food is much better than before... The food is more of Cajun them due to the chef being from New Orleans... I had blackened catfish and it was amazing.

I have always has had excellent bar tenders and waitress but they come and go because of the previous management.... Hopefully it's not repeated.

The bar is one of the neatest I've seen.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Stolly77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AudubonInn, Owner at The Audubon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Hello Stolly, thank you for returning to experience the "new" Audubon Inn and NOLA North Grille. We have worked very hard over the past few months to revitalize the hotel and restaurant to be the destination landmarks that this region deserves.

I am thrilled to hear that you love the new look of the bar, thought the food was amazing, and noted that our service staff was excellent. It's a shame that despite these achievements, we received only a three star rating due to your impressions of previous ownership. Today is a new chapter for this special place, and we look forward to earning your trust over time.

Great photos, by the way!

Warm Regards,

Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We just spent a wonderful two nights at the Audubon Inn in Mayville, WI this past week. The stay was to a part of Wisconsin we had not explored previously. The area, the Inn, and the Inn’s restaurant exceeded our expectations. The Audubon Inn has recently been acquired by Keith Hill and we can see great things are in process. At check in we were greeted, walked to our room, and in the evening enjoyed coffee/treats each in the lobby.

The bar, restaurant, and lobby were recently renovated with great attention to details. The stained glass windows of the bar and restaurant are a cross between church and marsh nature. The food served in the bar (opened only 2 days prior to our arrival; restaurant to open soon) were truly a New Orleans religious experience – gumbo, shrimp po’boy sandwich, parmesan garlic fries, andouille sausage sandwich, bread pudding with homemade ice cream – we genuflect to the chef (a recent transplant from New Orleans). The menu also offered more local fare. The entire staff (Inn and bar) was very accommodating to any of our needs. You can tell much time has been spent finding the right personnel.

The area has much to offer. The downtown area is quaint and very walk-able; all built along the Rock River. Anyone with an interest in nature can spend hours bird watching and hiking the trails of the Horicon Marsh just a few miles from the Inn. Personnel at the Horicon Visitor’s Center were also helpful and informative.

We look forward to many return trips.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim_Mary_Lou_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AudubonInn, Owner at The Audubon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Jim & Mary Lou, you are both terrific and we truly appreciate your support. Can't wait to see you again! The menu has continued to grow and we are looking forward to our grand re-opening celebration on 5/31. We also have omelettes and crepes in the Cafe on the weekends! See you soon.

Warm Regards,

Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We just came home after spending a wonderful night at Audubon Inn. Keith was extremely nice and welcomed us. The room was nice and beds were comfortable. I would recommend staying there. Disappointed that the restaurant wasn't open yet, and will go back when it does.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AudubonInn, Owner at The Audubon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thanks so much for the great review, Jasper. The restaurant is open and thriving! We look forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

A friend and I took advantage of an off-season special for a writer retreat last month. It was the perfect venue. Mid-week was quiet, my room was spacious, uncluttered and immaculate, and my bed was very comfortable. The whirlpool was wonderful!

Although Keith (who had owned the inn for just a month) was embarking on a renovation, there was absolutely no inconvenience to the guests. The inn's newly remodeled restaurant and bar were not yet open so we ate at a Chinese place and a pub that leaned toward Italian and Irish food. Both were wonderful; big-city quality for smaller-town prices.

My husband and I are returning next weekend for a couples getaway.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AudubonInn, Owner at The Audubon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you, Anne. Can't wait to see you again, and hear your thoughts after you have experienced the restaurant!

Warm Regards,

Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mayville
12.6 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Waupun
13.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Beaver Dam
18 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fond du Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Country Hearth Inn and Suites Lomira
12.8 mi away
Gateway Inn & Suites Waupun
19.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Fond du Lac
Hampton Inn Fond du Lac
#1 of 14 in Fond du Lac
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Audubon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Audubon Inn

Address: 45 N Main St, Mayville, WI 53050-1637
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Mayville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mayville
Price Range: £63 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Audubon Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1896, The Audubon Inn is a boutique full service hotel on the National Register of Historic Places. We offer 18 elegant guestrooms with high quality amenities, signature destination restaurant NOLA North Grille, a full selection of spa services, and close proximity to internationally renowned Horicon Marsh, museums, artisan foods, shopping, sightseeing, and outdoor recreation - all in an atmosphere of relaxed luxury. We look forward to serving you and creating an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your The Audubon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Audubon Hotel Mayville
Audubon Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing