We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”
Review of The Audubon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Audubon Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mayville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

A beautiful old hotel, wonderful staff and excellent restaurant. We had dinner in NOLA, and the gumbo, salmon and shrimp were all outstanding, as were the beer and wine choices. The owner/managers couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. Hopefully we will be back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank df_kurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

A beautiful romantic historic hotel (that had many details about the great artist Aubudon), very friendly and helpfull staff, the bedroom was awesome large and luxurious!
We had a great dinner at their New Orleans style restaurant, with an exceptional fine menu. Their chef from New Orleans was really fabulous!
We would recommend this hotel to all our friends!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank Paola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My husband and I wanted to get away for a few days in scenic central Wisconsin and enjoy the Horicon Marsh. The Audubon Inn provided a beautiful and restful home for a few days. Upon arriving we entered the beautifully appointed lobby, original woodwork intact and gleaming. The rooms are on the 2nd and 3rd floors and although the decor is dated it is meticulously maintained -- the rooms and lobbies are spotless. The linens are soft and luxurious.
We enjoyed breakfast in the NOLA Cafe within the Inn (breakfast sandwiches featuring the fluffiest and tastiest biscuits) as well as drinks in the bar (1/2 priced drinks during happy hour w/ purchase of food item -- we had the garlic parmesan fries, delicious!). The entire Inn is under new management and undergoing a complete renovation. The owner was happy to spend a good deal of time with us and discuss the completed and upcoming renovation projects. We enjoyed a Living Social deal that made the price almost unbelievable -- even full price is reasonable for the beauty of the location and the quality of the stay and service.
Mayville is a quaint town with many unique shops and restaurants (do NOT miss The Natural Way, just 2 blocks from Audubon Inn), and The Audubon Inn is already a gem in the community. We can't wait to see how the renovations take shape and to visit The Audubon Inn again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the corner of Williams and Main streets (the northeast corner of the Inn) are a bit noisy d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

From the moment we stepped into the lobby, we were enchanted. The Audubon prints, the deep, soft blues of the walls, the thick sculpted carpet leading up gorgeous carved wood stairs, the spacious waiting area, the comfortable armchairs.... we had stumbled upon luxury in this small community. The rooms are en suite, in deep shades of forest green, navy, and wine, with a colonial print in the wallpaper. The bathrooms have a spa feeling to them, with the Jacuzzi tub and hexagonal black and white tiled floor. Bed linens are top of the line, as is the comfort level of the mattress.

The hotel is being renovated even more. We found the staff knowledgeable and eager to provide any additional needs requested.

As we explored the surrounding areas, we learned how current, even sophisticated the various venues are. Two forward trending restaurants abound with great food: the attached grill with chef from New Orleans, set in a huge bar/ restaurant area with stained glass panels and an etched glass bar ceiling; and the Italian restaurant just around the corner, with superb rustic Italian cooking. The town itself is a jumping off spot for the Horicon Marsh, the largest wetlands marsh in the US, 33,000 acres. Fantastic for birders and exploration. All in all, a great find!

Margaret

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank trustme w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Just an anniversary getaway that turned out to be a very memorable experience. Wonderful hotel with new owners that have captured the charm of this landmark, while renovating to a higher standard. I'm no world traveler, but I've been to a few places and I have to say it was one of finest meals I have ever had. Worth the drive just for the food. Staff was friendly and courteous. Definitely on the short list for a return trip. A great place to luxuriate. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This was such a great find. My wife and I celebrated our anniversary and really enjoyed our time here. The staff was excellent throughout the property, from Shawn the Manager, to Tracy the bartender, and Leah our waitress. The room, bar, and restaurant were all truly first class, and something we were not expecting in Mayville. We highly recomend staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Beautifully restored Inn. Each room is different and well done. The linens were so soft and of amazing quality. Friendly and informative staff. We felt like we were very welcomed and treated like special guests. We will definitely return. Wonderful for a quiet getaway. Loved the pralines for the turndown service. We enjoyed hiking at the nearby Horicon Marsh.

Room Tip: Every room is unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lakevilla2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mayville
13.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Beaver Dam
8.5 mi away
Country Hearth Inn and Suites Lomira
12.6 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Waupun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, West Bend
18.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fond du Lac
18.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites West Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Audubon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Audubon Inn

Address: 45 N Main St, Mayville, WI 53050-1637
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Mayville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mayville
Price Range: £69 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Audubon Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1896, The Audubon Inn is a boutique full service hotel on the National Register of Historic Places. We offer 18 elegant guestrooms with high quality amenities, signature destination restaurant NOLA North Grille, a full selection of spa services, and close proximity to internationally renowned Horicon Marsh, museums, artisan foods, shopping, sightseeing, and outdoor recreation - all in an atmosphere of relaxed luxury. We look forward to serving you and creating an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Audubon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Audubon Hotel Mayville
Audubon Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing