We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice spot for lunch”
Review of The Old Feed Mill

The Old Feed Mill
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Mazomanie
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Willowbrook
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice spot for lunch”
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Stopped in for lunch while driving through the area. Had read a good review of it in MIdwest Living magazine (which I also recommend to anyone visiting/living in the Midwest). Had a great bowl of chili and a delicious ham and cheese toasted sandwich - with heaps of real ham sliced off the bone. Menu says bread is made with grain grown at nearby Taliesin and milled on site. It was good bread. Overhead others at nearby table raving about their chicken salad and pot pies. There's a gift shop to browse through, making it a good spot to get off the road, stretch your legs and have a meal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LFL101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    39
    22
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jefferson, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“poor service”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

The food was good, not fantastic. It all started with the lazy hostess that could not come and get us as we waited in the bar. It was easier for her to yell our name from the other end of the bar and WOW a draft beer cost $6.00.
Our waitress had no personality and could not get our order right. For someone who hasn't been there before the waitress could not give us any information on the menu items.

POOR Rating from us. We will not return to this place,

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tgb62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Mounds, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
148 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Pricey, but well worth it!”
Reviewed 7 September 2012

The Old Feed Mill is the one restaurant whose discount coupons we ALWAYS purchase when they become available, which is rare. Their menu makes it hard to choose, but everything is fantastic! Keep in mind that the portions are pretty big, so make sure you're plenty hungry!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank zeffantm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pine Knot, Kentucky
Level Contributor
83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Pricey For The Service and Food”
Reviewed 31 August 2012 via mobile

Dessert was great. Meals ok. Husband had fish dinner for lunch - not much fish. . Service slow, waitress had 6 takes and had difficulty keeping up.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ArmenianGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Country cooking in an historic building”
Reviewed 25 August 2012

This is one of my favorite places to go outside Madison on those days that I want to couple a ride in the country with some good down-home cooking. Nothing fancy, but homey and agreeable dining room. The brunch is good, as is lunch. Never tried dinner. Good country cooking.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank orchidbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Feed Mill also viewed

 

Been to The Old Feed Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing