We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This coupled with the tour of Wollersheim Winery is THE way to GO!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mazomanie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Mazomanie B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 July 2011

This B and B is absolutely lovely! Karisa does everything in her power to make you cozy, comfy and well fed at breakfast. As she told us, "I will feed you and make your bed, but I will NOT give you a massage!" when we asked he if she does the massages she can arrange for you! She and her hubby David went all out to refurnish this former physician residence. Dinner at the Green Acres Supper Club was great, too! Thanks, Karisa and David!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zahava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast for our 2nd year anniversary. This was our second bed and breakfast and we had high expectations! I would have to say our expectations were met! The house is beautifully restored and in a nice quiet town. The inn keepers are very friendly and make a really good breakfast! We really enjoyed our room. We loved the decor, whirlpool, bathroom and the shower with the double shower heads! The sauna was great to relax in. I loved the upstairs library also. My only complaint would have to be the dining room tables. I would rather have a large Victorian table to dine with others than the two separate 4 tops. Thank you for the wonderful stay and we WILL be back!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whiteaub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2010

Couldn't have asked for a nicer place to saty...the room was so beautiful and the bathroom was outstanding! Double whirlpool tub, double shower with body sprays...very luxurious!!
I'd definitely stay there again...wonderful little get-away!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d00d26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2010

Karisa, the congenial hostess of Walking Iron, told us the Sugarland Guest House would be special, and she was right. Sitting serene and lovely in the middle of the incomparable Wisconsin River Valley with its rolling hills and verdant valleys, Sugarland combines historic charm with modern convenience. Everything about our stay was remarkable: the setting is serene and quiet; the house is impeccably maintained and furnished with stunning antiques; the location is close to attractions such as Taliesen North, House on the Rock, and American Players Theater. We were reminded of what it must have been like living in a southern plantation house in the mid 1800's. Two months previous to this stay my wife and I had stayed in the Leonora's Garden View Room in the main house and had been delighted with the accommodations and wonderful breakfast. The Walking Iron is a gem; it has our unqualified recommendation. We give it a "10."

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james59929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

I stayed three nights in "Lenora's Garden View" with a friend while we were in the area attending a friend's wedding. The room was great and the bed comfortable, but the breakfasts were just fabulous. Each day Karisa would lay out homemade muffins for each of us before we were served our "official" breakfast. Then we would each get our plate of french toast, with raspberries, crispy bacon, and fruit, or whatever wonderful treat Karisa had cooked up for us. We would save the muffin every day (in baggies kindly provided) and take that with us, and then we didn't have to eat again until dinner! Conversations with fellow guests over breakfast were interesting and varied and we really enjoyed the people we met. Really wonderful gem of a B&B.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KrisBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2010

The Walking Iron Bed & Breakfast was fantastic! The rooms were very clean, well decorated, cozy and spacious. The bathroom included a jacuzzi, shower, lounge chair and fluffy bathrobes. (I dont usually enjoy a jacuzzi in a public place, like a hotel, but it was so clean and well kept, that I did fill up a bubble bath that was so relaxing!) We didn't use the spa, but if we stayed a day longer, I would have enjoyed that, too. Breakfast was unbelievable (waffles with toffee syrup & blueberries, homemade muffins, awesome hasbrowns, sausage, coffee and OJ!) and the innkeeper was very sweet and gave us some good stories on the history of the home. We were looking for a short getaway from Chicago and literally googled "coolest town in wisconsin" and up popped the Walking Iron Bed & Breakfast! Kind of a random way to stumble upon a destination....but we're so glad we did! I would definetely go back.

Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PJS714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2009

Located near scenic Hwy 14, the Walking Iron was a perfect respite after a day of traveling through southern Wiscnsin on the motorc ycle from Minnesota. We were pleasantly surprised at the grandeur of the Walking Iron B&B. We stayed in The Lenore Room which was beautiful and roomy. All the rooms had their own elegance and we'd be comfortable in any one of them. We've already recommended this B&B to friends to make the trip over to Mazzomanie next year.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sweetie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast

Address: 21 S State St, Mazomanie, WI 53560-9698
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Mazomanie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mazomanie
Price Range: £86 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast is an historic 1865 brick Victorian Italianate home located in Mazomanie, WI- Voted by Forbes' Budget Travel Magazine as one of America's top 10 coolest small towns! Nestled among the scenic bluffs and rolling farmland of beautiful southwestern Wisconsin, and just 25 minutes from the state capital city of Madison, Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast is conveniently located to many area attractions. Spring Green, American Player's Theater, Frank Lloyd Wright's Taliesin, the House on the Rock, and the Wisconsin River, are just a few of the unique places to visit. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing