We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My finest B & B experience ANYWHERE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mazomanie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Mazomanie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“My finest B & B experience ANYWHERE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

I have stayed many times at Walking Iron and have taken groups of people there annually. It is a magically restored Victorian mansion with rooms that are lovingly decorated in period style. The proprietors take enormous pride in what they have achieved (rightfully so). Breakfast are beyond ample and always delicious. The owners' hospitality is unmatched. Everything is spotless. The proximity to countless treasurable sites in Southwestern Wisconsin makes this the perfect spot from which to explore the region. Frank Lloyd Wright's Taliesin is nearby, as is American Players Theatre, the finest company of its kind in North America. Nature lovers are in for a feast. The proprietors will provide information for everything worthwhile to experience in the area. We will continue to return year after year (unless this review makes rooms unavailable!).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaestroAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    17
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
85
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Ohio
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

I was planing our B&B stays for our business trip from Ohio towards St.Paul MN for a business convention and then on over the top of Lake MI and back down. After reading all of the great reviews on Tripadvisor for Walking Iron B&B, I booked on-line and was not disappointed.

We drove into the area and wondered how an incredible B&B could be located in such a little town, and then turned the corner to see the grande ole home.

Once inside we could see how lovingly the house had been restored. We stayed in the Lenora's Garden View room, upstairs. Thankful that the whole house was air conditioned with the record heat of the summer of 2012!!!

We were recommended to dine (within walking distance) at an old mill that was converted into a restaurant--excellent! Then we enjoyed the rest of the evening on the front porch of the B&B with other guests.

Breakfast, the next morning was outstanding! Everything was first rate!

The whole experience was highly recommendable!

Next time we go, we would love to take in show at the local theater, which had high marks from the other guests.

Room Tip: Verona's Garden View is one of the largest rooms with a spa tub (we did not use) in a spacious b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TemPac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

This is a wonderful property, and the rooms are all very quiet, comfortable, and decorated to the period. We felt like taking a step back in time! After spending a day hiking around the area it was wonderful to soak in the private whirlpool tub and then start the morning with the refreshing double-shower!

Room Tip: I stayed in the Doctors study and it was fantastic, but all rooms appeared to be very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank APK_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Allis, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

My wife and I stayed two nights at the Walking Iron in Clara's Veranda in July 2011. We were in the area to see a play at American Players Theatre. I am not sure if we would stay here again, this place could do things a bit differently.

When we got there, nobody was around, there was no note on the door. We rang the doorbell, walked in and waited around. Karisa showed up a little while later, and showed us to our room, and the local information rack. She must have had something else to attend to. She was pretty rushed. We never heard from or saw her again. We didn't feel real welcome...

A shock was that she told us breakfast is served at 9:00 AM sharp. We wanted to sleep in, we were on a quiet trip to the country! Since we were the only ones there that night, she pushed it back to 10:00 for us. The second morning, we had to eat at 9:00 AM. Actually, the food was waiting on the table when we got there, not kept warm for us until we sat down. But the food was great. Bacon or sausage, eggs, muffins, french toast, fruit.

Clara's veranda is very small, just barely enough room for the bed and one chair, but it's the only room with a porch. The bed and the bathroom were nice. There was no refrigerator in the room, so we kept some beer in the basement in the spa area.

We saw some of the rooms upstairs were quite a bit bigger, and actually had some places to sit.

We found the DVD library way up on the third floor, but the TV was about 10 inches and the room had only one chair, so we didnt bother. We had a good time relaxing on the porch having drinks. The bugs were awful, but that's pretty typical July in Wisconsin.

Positives: Beautifully restored building, excellent breakfasts, nice beds, nice bathrooms.

Negatives: Breakfast on their schedule! Not when you want it! Every other B&B we have stayed at has had breakfast when we wanted it. No refrigerator in room. Room was pitifully small....

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ejsantiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

This is the most beautifully restored B&B we have stayed at. The attention to period detail is amazing, with quality antiques, wallpaper, etc. But the bathrooms are state of the art! Ours (the Doctor's Study) had a double walk in shower with body spray plus a double whirlpool. Cushy bathrobes are also provided. The beds were a bit too soft for me, but this is a matter of personal preference. Breakfast was also the best we have had at a B&B. Some other places go over the top with gooey sweet heavy brunch dishes. But here, though there was plenty of food, the emphasis was on freshness and taste. This one had a large, perfectly baked muffin, delicious bacon, an egg in a potato nest, and fresh fruit. Some reviewers on another site mentioned that the breakfast room was set up with individual tables rather than family style. We actually prefer this, as more private and romantic.Coffee available all the time is another nice touch. Our only quibble was that the owners were not on hand to greet us when we arrived. A note was left on the door directing us to our room. We did not meet the owner until the next morning at breakfast. We felt a bit shortchanged, as others had written in the guestbook about how helpful she had been with suggestions for what to do and where to eat in the area, etc. Also, others had written about the library of DVDs, which we never managed to find. We know that unexpected things come up and owners can't always be on hand, but we were a bit surprised that no mention was made of it, no "I hope you were able to find everything," etc. Otherwise, a great place for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: The Doctor's Study is made up of a small entryway (with a desk which we used for our laptop,) a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alm711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington Hts, IL
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

I was immediately taken by this B&B; called a friend and she checked it out on the web and made a reservation for next month!! The Walking Iron is a gem of a place tucked in the cute little town of Mazonmanie, WI. Close to Spring Green, wineries, etc. Scenic rides through the countryside. We stayed in the room called "The Doctor's Suite" which was furnished so comfortably. The double shower and whirlpool tub was a delight. Had a chance to peek in all the rooms and found each of them enchanting. Cozy library and inviting dining room. Breakfast is outstanding! Don't miss the opportunity to stay at this reasonably priced B&B, you won't be disappointed. We are making plans to go back!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happytraveler048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SE WI
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

This B and B is absolutely lovely! Karisa does everything in her power to make you cozy, comfy and well fed at breakfast. As she told us, "I will feed you and make your bed, but I will NOT give you a massage!" when we asked he if she does the massages she can arrange for you! She and her hubby David went all out to refurnish this former physician residence. Dinner at the Green Acres Supper Club was great, too! Thanks, Karisa and David!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zahava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mazomanie
14.5 mi away
Round Barn Lodge
Round Barn Lodge
#4 of 6 in Spring Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
11.4 mi away
Spring Valley Inn
Spring Valley Inn
#1 of 6 in Spring Green
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
21.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Mount Horeb
21.6 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
16.2 mi away
Victorian Dreams Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast

Property: Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast
Address: 21 S State St, Mazomanie, WI 53560-9698
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Mazomanie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mazomanie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast is an historic 1865 brick Victorian Italianate home located in Mazomanie, WI- Voted by Forbes' Budget Travel Magazine as one of America's top 10 coolest small towns! Nestled among the scenic bluffs and rolling farmland of beautiful southwestern Wisconsin, and just 25 minutes from the state capital city of Madison, Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast is conveniently located to many area attractions. Spring Green, American Player's Theater, Frank Lloyd Wright's Taliesin, the House on the Rock, and the Wisconsin River, are just a few of the unique places to visit. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing