We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous place, friendly service, great food!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mazomanie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Mazomanie B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed 2 nights in the William Thompson room and loved it! Karisa is one of the sweetest people ever and was very helpful answering questions about local attractions and eateries. She's the perfect hostess; I felt like I'd known her forever! Mazomanie is a great, quiet, small town and the B&B is gorgeous with gorgeous grounds and a beautiful stream running on two sides of the property. We enjoyed a quiet, peaceful time in our room, the bed was super comfortable and the whirlpool was most welcome after driving all day or hiking or walking around The House on the Rock. Breakfast was superb, as well. We highly recommend Walking Iron B&B!

Room Tip: I don't think you could go wrong with any of the rooms. When we were getting ready to leave and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank countrygirl1791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

A little Paradise! Exquisitely restored Italianate Victorian house. A pleasure to sit in the rocking love seat and enjoy the great garden. We would like to come back every year in the future if we have a chance.
Stig and Renee

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Viking13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We spent a night at the Walking Iron when visiting Spring Green on vacation. Quite frankly there isn't a lot in Mazomanie, so it was a real surprise to find a B&B of this quality in such a small town. The house is a fully restored Victorian gem. The hosts were very welcoming and seemed to understand the balance between being available to help when needed and giving their guests some privacy. We stayed in Lenore's room which was very comfortable and had a huge bathroom attached.
In all it was a very nice stay. You'll want to bring some supplies with you, the town is lacking in any stores and dining options are pretty limited. But if you don't mind a rural setting and are willing to drive a bit to local amenities the Walking Iron is great option.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nearlycanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My husband and I planned a long weekend to see three plays at American Players Theatre and chose to stay at Walking Iron. We stayed in Clara's room which is on the main floor - huge bed, double whirlpool bath plus shower and walk out from room to wrap around porch overlooking their lovely gardens. Beautiful, comfortable - breakfast at 9 am had warm muffins and yummy french toast on day 2. (I am not that fond of eggs which we had along with fresh fruit and popovers on the other 2 days.) Good Wifi and phone reception. Coffee & Tea available 24/7. Short trip to Spring Green that has many cute shops. The owners are friendly, fun and informative. We enjoyed our relaxing stay there very much and would certainly recommend it to others. If we have the opportunity, we will be back! - Jeannette H

Room Tip: Our room on the first floor was very quiet so don't be afraid to choose the main floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeannette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My wife and I celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary. We chose this B&B for our 2 night stay.
The Doctor's Study was very comfortable, breakfasts were great. Karisa and David were great hosts! You could tell that their attention to detail in their restoration of this beautiful house was done with love and care. We had a great stay and would highly recommend this B&B to everyone.

Larry & Grace
Ashland, WI.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Visiting from UK with my two grown up daughters (via Chicago) ,Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast was the perfect place to stay in order to explore the local area including Frank Lloyd Wright 's Taliesin, the House on the Rock and Devil's Lake. Warm welcome,comfortable rooms and attentive but discreet hosts made for a delightful stay and although Mazomanie is small there are places to eat in town without having to get in the car. I have no hesitation in describing this accommodation as a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Walking Iron B & B website says everything you need to make up your mind
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katharine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This was our second visit to the Walking Iron (and the only one I have ever been to). The couple that own the house are very sweet and genuine. They take time to make recommendations for your daily activities, but are not overbearing with conversation. They are very family oriented which I find refreshing as well. The gardens weren't quite blooming yet, but I can only imagine how wonderful they are in summer.

The room we stayed in had an updated tv, but still a lot of older charm. The rooms all have a luxury about them and a privacy that is important. The breakfast was delicious, as was the dinner we had at the Old Feed Mill! The town feels very safe and we felt comfortable roaming around. Our daily excursion took us to the winery, Devil's Lake and Baraboo for an early dinner. It was a great weekend and I'm hoping we'll go back next year to explore some more.

Room Tip: Their website is very accurate about room decor and expectations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldmanandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast

Address: 21 S State St, Mazomanie, WI 53560-9698
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Mazomanie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mazomanie
Price Range: £85 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast is an historic 1865 brick Victorian Italianate home located in Mazomanie, WI- Voted by Forbes' Budget Travel Magazine as one of America's top 10 coolest small towns! Nestled among the scenic bluffs and rolling farmland of beautiful southwestern Wisconsin, and just 25 minutes from the state capital city of Madison, Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast is conveniently located to many area attractions. Spring Green, American Player's Theater, Frank Lloyd Wright's Taliesin, the House on the Rock, and the Wisconsin River, are just a few of the unique places to visit. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing