We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding get-away”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mazomanie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Mazomanie B&B and Inns
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“outstanding get-away”
Reviewed 14 December 2010

Couldn't have asked for a nicer place to saty...the room was so beautiful and the bathroom was outstanding! Double whirlpool tub, double shower with body sprays...very luxurious!!
I'd definitely stay there again...wonderful little get-away!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d00d26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    17
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
86
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2010

Karisa, the congenial hostess of Walking Iron, told us the Sugarland Guest House would be special, and she was right. Sitting serene and lovely in the middle of the incomparable Wisconsin River Valley with its rolling hills and verdant valleys, Sugarland combines historic charm with modern convenience. Everything about our stay was remarkable: the setting is serene and quiet; the house is impeccably maintained and furnished with stunning antiques; the location is close to attractions such as Taliesen North, House on the Rock, and American Players Theater. We were reminded of what it must have been like living in a southern plantation house in the mid 1800's. Two months previous to this stay my wife and I had stayed in the Leonora's Garden View Room in the main house and had been delighted with the accommodations and wonderful breakfast. The Walking Iron is a gem; it has our unqualified recommendation. We give it a "10."

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james59929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2010

I stayed three nights in "Lenora's Garden View" with a friend while we were in the area attending a friend's wedding. The room was great and the bed comfortable, but the breakfasts were just fabulous. Each day Karisa would lay out homemade muffins for each of us before we were served our "official" breakfast. Then we would each get our plate of french toast, with raspberries, crispy bacon, and fruit, or whatever wonderful treat Karisa had cooked up for us. We would save the muffin every day (in baggies kindly provided) and take that with us, and then we didn't have to eat again until dinner! Conversations with fellow guests over breakfast were interesting and varied and we really enjoyed the people we met. Really wonderful gem of a B&B.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrisBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2010

The Walking Iron Bed & Breakfast was fantastic! The rooms were very clean, well decorated, cozy and spacious. The bathroom included a jacuzzi, shower, lounge chair and fluffy bathrobes. (I dont usually enjoy a jacuzzi in a public place, like a hotel, but it was so clean and well kept, that I did fill up a bubble bath that was so relaxing!) We didn't use the spa, but if we stayed a day longer, I would have enjoyed that, too. Breakfast was unbelievable (waffles with toffee syrup & blueberries, homemade muffins, awesome hasbrowns, sausage, coffee and OJ!) and the innkeeper was very sweet and gave us some good stories on the history of the home. We were looking for a short getaway from Chicago and literally googled "coolest town in wisconsin" and up popped the Walking Iron Bed & Breakfast! Kind of a random way to stumble upon a destination....but we're so glad we did! I would definetely go back.

Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PJS714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern MN
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2009

Located near scenic Hwy 14, the Walking Iron was a perfect respite after a day of traveling through southern Wiscnsin on the motorc ycle from Minnesota. We were pleasantly surprised at the grandeur of the Walking Iron B&B. We stayed in The Lenore Room which was beautiful and roomy. All the rooms had their own elegance and we'd be comfortable in any one of them. We've already recommended this B&B to friends to make the trip over to Mazzomanie next year.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweetie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2009

Our room was the smallest but cozy and included a whirlpool tub. We enjoyed a nearby dinner and followed with a sauna. We were pleasantly surprised the next day by the delicious breakfast. The waffle syrup needs to be bottled and sold. Our host were courteous and efficient. We hope to make this a regular stop on the way to Spring Green.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doc8roh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2009

I have stayed here many times with my teenage daughter while we attend APT (American Players Theater). The Inn is about a 15 minute drive and a delight. The breakfasts are wonderful - (always starting with a warm homemade muffin) and they change daily. The town is very small and folksy with a few spots to eat, but we never leave hungry. The rooms are all very nice with everyone having their favorite. The 3rd floor is a library stocked with books and movies to play on your in-room player. The inn has a sauna my daughter enjoys and there is free wireless.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AptLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mazomanie
11.4 mi away
Spring Valley Inn
Spring Valley Inn
#1 of 6 in Spring Green
283 reviews
14.5 mi away
Round Barn Lodge
Round Barn Lodge
#4 of 6 in Spring Green
118 reviews
12.7 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Mount Horeb
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 63 in Madison
699 reviews
20.8 mi away
Best Western Baraboo Inn
16.2 mi away
Victorian Dreams Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast

Property: Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast
Address: 21 S State St, Mazomanie, WI 53560-9698
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Mazomanie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mazomanie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast is an historic 1865 brick Victorian Italianate home located in Mazomanie, WI- Voted by Forbes' Budget Travel Magazine as one of America's top 10 coolest small towns! Nestled among the scenic bluffs and rolling farmland of beautiful southwestern Wisconsin, and just 25 minutes from the state capital city of Madison, Walking Iron Bed and Breakfast is conveniently located to many area attractions. Spring Green, American Player's Theater, Frank Lloyd Wright's Taliesin, the House on the Rock, and the Wisconsin River, are just a few of the unique places to visit. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing